We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overnight stop between destinations - Perfect for what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge At Leeming Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An overnight stop between destinations - Perfect for what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

On entering this hotel/ lodge, we were greeted very warmly. The staff were the most polite I have encountered travelling around the Uk, we were really impressed. They made a fuss of our little puppy as well as putting us in a room that was close to an external door for convernience when taking him out. We thought that was very kind and thoughtful.
We spent part of the evening in the bar, which had lovely comfortable lether sofas and chairs. it was fairly modern and the bar was well stocked.
Breakfast was buffet style, and perfect. There was both continental and traditional english options. Or both! Tea and coffee was self serve and I would describe the dining room as cafe style. The decor was nice, it was made to look like old-style shop fronts.
There was a great selection of tea/ coffee/ biscusits in the room, and the shower was very pleasent.
The only negative was that I feel that the bed and bedding was a little dated. The mattress was very hard.
There were far more positives thouigh - Parking was free, wifi was free, the hotel is dog friendly and there are lots of local amenities as it is part of the services off the A1.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    38
    33
    17
    17
See reviews for
23
55
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was a guest at a birthday party and enjoyed every minute of the time spent here.The food was excellent,especially one of the starters ,posh fish and chips.This was to die for ! Real Yorkshire Beef and Yorkshire puddings and plenty Followed by fantastic choice of sweets.It was fast and efficient service by inobtrusive staff and the atmosphere was jovial and relaxeg.I have no hesitation in recommending this Lodge for quality and service.Don't miss it ..off the A1 going North at Leeming and Bedale turn off.It will turn you on ! !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samcatBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a last minute overnight stop. After seeing pictures on trip advisor we were surprised to see it forms part of a service station. Yet for a one night stay the rooms are comfortable & more than adequate. The beds are really quite firm which suited my partner who suffers from a bad back bu weren't great for me. It's worth mentioning we did have an executive double which we got including breakfast for £61. Breakfast was basic but plentiful, choice of cereals & self serve cooked options.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leew82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I needed to stay away for work in the north and had planned to stay at a low cost travel lodge type place but found this little privately owned lodge for a very low cost right by the A1.
No noise at night from the traffic as it is placed will below the road and good double glazing.
There is usually free Wifi but the line was experiencing a problem at the time I was there but they had BT on the case so not their fault.
Pleasant rooms, no frills but all clean and nice.
Food good and service very home from home and pleasant. Very nice when I was away on my own for the night. I felt safe and looked after.
Bathrooms have shower gel but no shampoos so useful to take your own.
Bed very comfortable and nice flat screen tv in room.
There was a hairdryer but it had stopped working but I had brought my own so not worried and once reported, they got straight onto sorting it out.

Cost was £44 for double room on single occupancy, with full english breakfast included. I felt it was great value for money. Only about £3-4 more for 2 people to stay in the room!
All in all, this lodge is a cosy and pleasant stop over and a nice change from an impersonal cheap travel lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaaddict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight just for a one night stay as a half way stop after a long drive and we also had our 2 dogs with us. The hotel is very basic and very old fashioned in parts. The room was small for the 2 of us and our 2 dogs but it was ok. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were small, old and bumpy. We dined out of the hotel in Bedale and had a lovely meal. The breakfast we had the following morning was lovely. I would not stay here again as it was closer to our home than we thought and not economical.

Room Tip: Ask to see it before you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

very impressed with location and you can turn up and get a room with very friendly staff lovely little restarant and bar shop very close too would stay again any time brekfast lovely and no waiting time for food friendly staff greet you as you enter asking what drink you want all round lovely little catch hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed overnight at this hotel just off the A1. Really enjoyed the stay. Very comfortable, excellent food, first class service. Rooms basic but comfy with ensuite and tea, coffe etc. Flat screen TV with freeview. Lounge area for chilling out if you wanted it together with inviting and friendly bar area.

Only stayed overnight but happy to recommned to travellers and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
0.4 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.5 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
6.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
7.4 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge At Leeming Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge At Leeming Bar

Property: Lodge At Leeming Bar
Address: Motel Leeming Services 88 Bedale Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge At Leeming Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated in its own extensive grounds, adjacent to the A1 Great North Road, one mile from Bedale. The 39 bedroom Lodge offers free WiFi and is perfectly situated for a North/South stop over or to discover the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. The special executive rooms are brand new and have 32 inch flat screen TVs as well as air conditioning.All bedrooms are ensuite and feature all modern comforts such as Flat Screen TV, Freeview, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Executive rooms have air conditioning and 32 inch flat screen tvs. Some of these rooms are situated on the ground floor and have wheelchair access.The Old Market Square Restaurant & Cafe Bar enjoy an award winning reputation, renowned for traditional English cuisine complimented by friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. The Virtual reality world of a Market Town in the Restaurant has been created by a local artist. Doors, Windows & Shop Fronts all tell a story that reflects the history of the owners over the last 50 years. Access via reception is through a level passage with no steps to negotiate, easy for anyone with limited mobility or users of wheelchairs.Two dedicated meeting rooms are available and popular as the hotel is in an ideal location just off the A1M for business people wanting to meet up in a location halfway between Leeds and the North East (or London & Scotland). The biggest meeting room can take up to 150 delegates theatre style.Local attractions include the Yorkshire Dales, a national park with beautiful scenery. The Historic City of York is just a short drive away as are Ripon and Richmond. There is also a Tourist Information Centre based at the Lodge which provides information on local and national things to see and do. The Wensleydale Railway passes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the Yorkshire Dales, running for 17 miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Trains run throughout the year (daily during the Summer; at weekends and during school holiday periods during the rest of the year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge At Leeming Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Leeming Bar Hotel Bedale
Hotel At Leeming Bar
At Leeming Bar Bedale
Lodge At Leeming Bar Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing