We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not return :(”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stay in quite a few hotels around the Country and very rarely would I complain, however where do you start ...
Was it the small double room, desk only just big enough to put a laptop on, not overly clean room or bathroom.
Hotel had wi-fi but apparently most of the bedrooms have very poor connection.
Food in the restaurant was basic and served by someone who really didn't want to be there & it showed.
Breakfast was "OK".
I have this one tagged as "Don't Return" ... won't be back in a hurry!

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    38
    33
    17
    18
See reviews for
24
55
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stopped here after visiting Ripon Cathedral on our way to Richmond. It had a good choice of tea, coffee and cake options and had plenty of seats. Seems to offer a good selection of local things and we enjoyed the Yorkshire tea.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

When you approach the motel you see the paint peeling off the window sills. At the small reception the lady was helpful and upgraded us to a bigger room.

We had to go downstairs to find our room and it smelt like your grandfathers attic, the carpet and wallpaper came from the 70s, we found our room.

The bed was a super kingsize with fresh clean white sheets as if brand new, the carpet was stained badly which need replacing badly, walls desparately need painting there was marks all over the walls. The mattress was the cheapest ones they could buy, when lying down you could feel the springs poking through, the pillows were like they were filled with rocks.

The en suite bathroom was clean but the silicone on the tiles need replacing due to mould.

The bedroom was cold because there was no central heating but there was a electric heater which the fan was very noisy (so you could either be warm and not be able to sleep or cold and be able to sleep).

The room was clean but there was an old dressing gown stuffed next to the bedside table from the last person in the room.

The breakfast was mediocre with a small selection on the hotplate, the quality of the products used was very poor and cheap. The service was good due to not many diners.

If your are desparate stay here but I advise you to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martinandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedale hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

we stayed here in september last year and we were charged £75 for one night but managed to get the price down to £60.00 which we thought was expensive as most lodge type hotels only charge about £25.00 per night. besides that the room was not as clean as it should have been. we went next door for a meal and the fillet steak was like rubber. not one of the best nights we have had

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 405MIKEGAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed 23rd/24th March, which was the snowiest weekend everywhere else, except for North Yorkshire!! The welcome was friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. We took our dog with us -free of charge - which was a bonus.
Don't be put off by other comments, this is a good place to stay to explore North Yorkshire. There is everything you want in a small area, - a well stocked shop, a petrol station with a Londis attached, a comfortable cafe, an excellent restaurant. small gardens, and yes a Mcdonalds!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I enjoyed my night here nice place to stay and staff very helpful Place is very clean and tidy i came with my family and they enjoyed it aswell and would stay here again
The good thing aswell that they have a shop which opens early and u can get what u need

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miarose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The photo is MISLEADING, it doesn't look anything like that from the business end. It is next to McDonalds and the front door is next to the public toilets.
The interior reminds me of a retro, dated American motel. I opted for the "executive" room and was disappointed.
Arrived to a freezing room. Had to leave the noisy heater on the whole night. The food was okay but nothing special.
The staff was friendly.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drivetester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
0.4 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.5 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge At Leeming Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge At Leeming Bar

Property: Lodge At Leeming Bar
Address: Motel Leeming Services 88 Bedale Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge At Leeming Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated in its own extensive grounds, adjacent to the A1 Great North Road, one mile from Bedale. The 39 bedroom Lodge offers free WiFi and is perfectly situated for a North/South stop over or to discover the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. The special executive rooms are brand new and have 32 inch flat screen TVs as well as air conditioning.All bedrooms are ensuite and feature all modern comforts such as Flat Screen TV, Freeview, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Executive rooms have air conditioning and 32 inch flat screen tvs. Some of these rooms are situated on the ground floor and have wheelchair access.The Old Market Square Restaurant & Cafe Bar enjoy an award winning reputation, renowned for traditional English cuisine complimented by friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. The Virtual reality world of a Market Town in the Restaurant has been created by a local artist. Doors, Windows & Shop Fronts all tell a story that reflects the history of the owners over the last 50 years. Access via reception is through a level passage with no steps to negotiate, easy for anyone with limited mobility or users of wheelchairs.Two dedicated meeting rooms are available and popular as the hotel is in an ideal location just off the A1M for business people wanting to meet up in a location halfway between Leeds and the North East (or London & Scotland). The biggest meeting room can take up to 150 delegates theatre style.Local attractions include the Yorkshire Dales, a national park with beautiful scenery. The Historic City of York is just a short drive away as are Ripon and Richmond. There is also a Tourist Information Centre based at the Lodge which provides information on local and national things to see and do. The Wensleydale Railway passes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the Yorkshire Dales, running for 17 miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Trains run throughout the year (daily during the Summer; at weekends and during school holiday periods during the rest of the year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Lodge At Leeming Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Leeming Bar Hotel Bedale
Hotel At Leeming Bar
At Leeming Bar Bedale
Lodge At Leeming Bar Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing