We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2007

The reviews didn't sound good, so we were a bit apprehensive beforehand. We'd been to the services a few times and noticed the hotel and remarked on how grotty it looked, but hadn't realised it was the same place, so when we arrived we were a bit horrified. Then we had to pay before even getting into the room, which was really offputting. However, the interior is quite a lot better than the exterior. The room isn't bad in a chintzy hotel way. The bathroom is pretty nice is you forgive the carpet in there, and there's tea., coffee and biscuits, and a hairdryer. There's also a sweet little bar
area, you get breakfast (although the orange juice was off and we only had toast and cereal, so I can't comment on the cooked stuff). The staff are very nice and helpful, too. So it wasn't bad value, but
probably more worth £50 than the £69 we paid.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    38
    33
    17
    18
See reviews for
24
55
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2006

I booked two nights here based on the good review & expedia claiming I'd have an "executive suite" for £65 a night (single). What I got was a run-of-the-mill (if that) room & stay in a dingy motel off of a roundabout. It doesn't look anything like the picture -- I'm not sure what angle they used to make it look good or even where the trees were to hide the buildings in the picture. I was in a basement room opposite a tourist information site with a bright light in my window all night; next to a McDonalds. The promised "executive suite with 33" TV" was a basic dingy room with a 12" TV. Consider me extremely disappointed and I consider it a ripoff considering it was at the level of a 30 quid motel room.

  • Liked — it was a basic, motel-ish accomodation
  • Disliked — I strongly feel it was "oversold" on expedia
  • Tips/Secrets — beware of online reviews!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bedale hotels

Retford, England
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

We used this hotel as a base for a last minute weekend away to visit the Yorkshire Dales and North Yorks Moors for 2 adults and 3 children, we had two rooms with connecting door. It was the only hotel we could find with vacancies. It is really a motel and as such has little or no atmosphere and is not within walking distance of anywhere. On the plus side the staff where very good, we had a very nice breakfast, the rooms where clean, modern and quiet. If all you want is a base for the night to explore the region then I would recommend this hotel on value for money grounds. If you want a picturesque old hotel in the countryside with bar and restaurant then look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank Phil+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2006

pleasent staff all round good experience

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedale
0.4 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.0 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.5 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge At Leeming Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge At Leeming Bar

Property: Lodge At Leeming Bar
Address: Motel Leeming Services 88 Bedale Road, Bedale DL8 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge At Leeming Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated in its own extensive grounds, adjacent to the A1 Great North Road, one mile from Bedale. The 39 bedroom Lodge offers free WiFi and is perfectly situated for a North/South stop over or to discover the beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. The special executive rooms are brand new and have 32 inch flat screen TVs as well as air conditioning.All bedrooms are ensuite and feature all modern comforts such as Flat Screen TV, Freeview, trouser press, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Executive rooms have air conditioning and 32 inch flat screen tvs. Some of these rooms are situated on the ground floor and have wheelchair access.The Old Market Square Restaurant & Cafe Bar enjoy an award winning reputation, renowned for traditional English cuisine complimented by friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere. The Virtual reality world of a Market Town in the Restaurant has been created by a local artist. Doors, Windows & Shop Fronts all tell a story that reflects the history of the owners over the last 50 years. Access via reception is through a level passage with no steps to negotiate, easy for anyone with limited mobility or users of wheelchairs.Two dedicated meeting rooms are available and popular as the hotel is in an ideal location just off the A1M for business people wanting to meet up in a location halfway between Leeds and the North East (or London & Scotland). The biggest meeting room can take up to 150 delegates theatre style.Local attractions include the Yorkshire Dales, a national park with beautiful scenery. The Historic City of York is just a short drive away as are Ripon and Richmond. There is also a Tourist Information Centre based at the Lodge which provides information on local and national things to see and do. The Wensleydale Railway passes through some of the most beautiful scenery in the Yorkshire Dales, running for 17 miles from Leeming Bar to Redmire on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Trains run throughout the year (daily during the Summer; at weekends and during school holiday periods during the rest of the year). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge At Leeming Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Leeming Bar Hotel Bedale
Hotel At Leeming Bar
At Leeming Bar Bedale
Lodge At Leeming Bar Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing