We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crakehall Watermill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Bedale B&B and Inns
Leyburn
1 review
“Exceptional in every way”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A wonderful experience right from the moment we set foot through the door. Alison and Lionel did everything they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The accommodation was luxurious and immaculately presented. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed at this wonderful B&B on the night of my Birthday. I'd known this place since I was "knee-high to a grasshopper" and I couldn't believe what a wonderful B&B it has been turned into. Alison and Lionel really do make you feel welcome and everything about the place is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warringtonian1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Crakehall Watermill is in a quiet, lovely village, and comprises bed & breakfast in the original house, lovely gardens, a working watermill, and a small selection of holiday cottages - all with beautiful views and lots of good walking. We stayed for two nights in the main house - an oasis of peace and calm, and a very attractive room in which to enjoy home-made cakes and tea on arrival. We had two rooms - neither of which could be faulted. Both were large, warm, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were similarly attractive and spacious. The huge beds were comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Best of all, though, was the attitude of the owners, Alison and Lionel, who are the hosts from heaven. They could not have made more of an effort to ensure we felt welcome and valued. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Alison and Lionel couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, they even ran us into nearby Bedale to the wedding we were attending. Rooms were lovely and food great in a beautiful location. Their cottages also looked to be of the same standard. A thoroughly relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vamos_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Having traveled to Catterick expecting to book in at a local B&B we discovered that the booking had never been placed - although I had a printed confirmation! So - it was time to find an alternative - and what an amazing place this was. A welcoming cup of Yorkshire tea and home made cakes - fantastic! We were made to feel extremely welcome and the quality of the 'House' reflects its 4* status - in fact I would have to say a 5* rating would be more appropriate. An excellent breakfast - fresh black pudding from the local butchers, and a walk down by the river to check what birds were about (where is that kingfisher hiding?) This really is an EXCELLENT location and with the bonus of the cottages and a small touring caravan CL ( Certificated Location) what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The quality of all of the rooms is superb!!- With views over the watermill and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

This is our third time staying in water mill cottages adjacent to the B&B. Alison & Lionel are perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Well equipped cottages that are exceptional in cleanliness & comfort. Perfect stay for anybody wishing to visit the beautiful northern county of Yorkshire.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had a friendly welcome from Alison and Lionel and made to feel at home. Our bedroom was beautiful, very homely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful, home made bread, and local produce. We would highly recommend a stay here and would love to go back sometime ourselves. We also met 2 couples who were renting the two cottages on the grounds, and they both said how comfortable the accommodations were.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev86England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedale hotels
2.6 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#3 of 14 in Bedale
83 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#8 of 14 in Bedale
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greyhound Inn
Greyhound Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elmfield House
Elmfield House
#2 of 14 in Bedale
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crakehall Watermill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crakehall Watermill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crakehall Watermill Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Little Crakehall, Bedale DL8 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bedale
Hotel Class:4 star — Crakehall Watermill Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 high quality self-catering holiday cottages in the Yorkshire Dales sleeping 2, 4 and 6 guests. Watermill Croft, single storey former stables, sleeps 2 guests; Watermill Cottage, single storey, sleeps 4 guests and 1 well behaved dog is welcome, Miller's Retreat, 2 storey with 3 en-suite bedrooms sleeps 6 guests. Near to the market towns of Bedale, Leyburn & Masham. Peaceful location in the grounds of the historic Crakehall Watermill where stoneground wholemeal flour can still be produced and on the edge of the pretty village of Crakehall with village green, cricket field, church, dining pub, petrol station and small shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crakehall Watermill Bed And Breakfast Bedale, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing