We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best”
Review of Halls Fish Shop

Halls Fish Shop
Ranked #28 of 34 Restaurants in Bedale
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best chip shop in Bedale by far! Always fresh tasting food with chips that taste of something not bland like some chip shops

Thank MarkwYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped off for chips on our way to Keswick, the best chips ever, seriously! They even gave our bride to be free chips! Thanks Halls!

Thank Carolie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Halls Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

You’re welcome. Hope you girls had a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Really nice fish and chips there. Can’t really go wrong here, decent cheap prices and have a good varied menu. Food is really tasty & nice here.

Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Halls Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

As visitors to the area we called in for fish and chips / fishcake and chips for 5 people and were a bit concerned about the negative reviews. The queue of regulars showed that there was nothing to worry about and chips were great and fish very good, so it gets a thumbs up from us!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Halls Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for your review Martin. We do have a good local trade but some reviews have been a worry with holiday time approaching. It’s good to know that some visitors are prepared to make their own minds up and not be swayed by others comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We regularly come here just because we enjoy the food. The one thing that always puts a downer on the experience is the service by the younger woman (younger compared to the man (actual Chef) and woman who wraps food - I believe they may be her parents). She never smiles, will not give you eye contact and is not polite at all. It is a shame and I always feel awkward now going in!if the food wasn’t so tasty we wouldn’t keep going.

Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H, Owner at Halls Fish Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

I pleased that you enjoy our food but obviously disappointed that our service isn’t up to scratch. We shall endeavour to do better.
P.S. it’s not the wife or daughter!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halls Fish Shop also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Halls Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;