We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday aug 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday aug 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights after reading some of the reviews were poor we found this not to be true. The room we had was clean and tidy with great views the breakfast was excellent, we had an everning meal as well this was very good the staff were helpfull and plesent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good views of the garage rooms at the back have views of the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoathlandHotel, Manager at The Goathland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know. Receiving it on such a busy bank holiday its a great morale booster to us all!

Best Regards
Hannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    53
    46
    48
    58
See reviews for
61
178
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Well where do I begin, arrived in goathlands very impressed with the village, not many varieties of shops mainly gift and cafes so not much to look after a while me and my family stayed here for 3 nights but left early it seemed like a good idea to book it due to the tv program heartbeat being filmed there a few years ago but much of a disappointment. The waitress/managers daughter was the most rude and ignorant person I've ever met, So overall disappointed with the room, staff, hotel, and the food, please if you want an enjoyable stay don't go there !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoathlandHotel, Manager at The Goathland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Tanya,

Sorry to hear you had to curtail your holiday, unfortunately we were told that it was due to a break in at your house, not your personal choice. I treated you all with courtesy at all times and certainly I am in no way ignorant. Your last night was due to be charged to you and I organised so that you did not have to pay that. Shame the same courtesy shown to you could not have been reflected back in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Goathland hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Cost me £90 previous night for a us to stay in a top hotel in Harrogate including 2 sparkling (cava)afternoon cream teas, 2 four course dinners, 2 full Yorkshire breakfasts buffet style ie eat as much as you like, all of which was fabulous. The following evening it was goathland hotel, cost £95 b&b
Bar meals available during very restricted times as was breakfast, and they are pub meals not restruant meals,kippers where awful similar to eating oily cardboard,so i left them, english breakfast was passable but served to you plated up.
We saw no one of authority during the 24 hours we where there!
I think this bubble will burst soon unless someone gets their finger on the pulse!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrspeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at this hotel despite the recent poor reviews as some of the comments seemed a bit unfair and bizarre. We'd been to the pub a couple of years ago and knew they welcomed our Cavalier King Charles pup so this was a big plus for us as we now have two.
Our dogs were made to feel welcome and we could take them in the bar with us on a night. The only place we couldn't take them was to breakfast so we left them in a crate in the room. The food was really nice for dinner and they had a good selection of pub meals. We were able to put drinks and food on the room bill which was handy. In fact the staff were really nice - I am almost 8 months pregnant and they made a point of letting me know when a more comfortable seat became available as we waited for dinner.
I find the reviews mentioning the nationality of staff just plain rude - everyone we dealt with was lovely and spoke great English.
Yes the meal times are restrictive but if you take the time to check them out you can plan ahead. We found the other hotel restaurants in the village served at similar times.
Our breakfast was really nice both days and good that it was cooked to order.
The village itself is lovely - we have no real interest in the Heartbeat thing and I think some reviewers judge unfairly because this is all they're bothered about. We took the steam train into Whitby and also walked to the Mallyan Spout waterfall. Both recommended.
Our room was great, clean and beds really comfy. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoathlandHotel, Manager at The Goathland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so much for your honest review. It means the world to us when our honest hard work is appreciated. As you noted we find that those that enjoy their stay tell others those that don't often use an anonymous forum. Pleased you had a good holiday and hope to see you both, dogs and new arrival at a future date.
Kind Regards

Hannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

after spending £ 40 on beer the night of august 6 2013 (,only ones in the pub), we returned on the morning of the 7th to take some pics of our 1960s bikes ,at the time the pub was closed ,out came the landlord to tell us it was private parking and to move I pointed out to him we had spent £40 the night before, don't mean a thing he said, he did not let me finish, what I was going to say was we were about to go in and order dinner for 6 what a mislabel old so and so, still his lose .we will never go back again. in fact most of the shop keepers in general were just give us your money and go

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Totham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Since staying for 4 nights we wished we hadn't bothered. Although it is an old building the decor was old fashioned, not even like 1960's to compliment heartbeat. Restricted dining times, the atmosphere was most uncomfortable. Staff were abrupt. Breakfast table was set for three, there were five people in our group. Waitress said "if you get your own from over there, use those" bad service. No recommendations from me! Landlord gave us the creeps, especially when we had our 12year old child with us, it was as though she was an alien, having bunk beds to accommodate children they certainly do not welcome them, dogs yes! "Faulty" towers without the laughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Goathland hotel on 2nd & 3rd August 2013.
The rooms are cosy and ok. The breakfast was good.
The staff are all Europeans, they are polite and try their best. The bar meals are terrible the landlord is very ignorant and obviously has cashed in on the Hearbeat fame . The problem now he is still living on it's reputation and this is now fading as will his business if nothing is done, which may be a good thing and make him put more effort in. The room next to the breakfast dining room which goes to the beer garden smells of damp. It is a shame that such a beautiful building is fading.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
7.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#147 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Property: The Goathland Hotel
Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby
The Goathland Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing