We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goathland hotel, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Newbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Goathland hotel, excellent”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome from Anna, With efficient and fast check-in, Where we were offered assistance with our luggage. Our family room overlooking Scripps garage was spacious and clean, Complete with tea and coffee and little extras such as biscuits and free postcards. Mention must be made of the superb breakfast each morning, On the subject of food, We had planned to visit another restaurant in the area for an evening meal, But found that the food on offer at the pub was on par with the breakfast already mentioned, So we dined in every night.
All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful,
The beautiful village was as expected, Easily recognisable from heartbeat.
The village church is also well worth a visit, (Try to find the carved wooden mice) Although if like us you are unable to find them all there is a note on the wall telling you exactly where to look....
Also not to be missed is a trip on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, Again Goathland station is a familiar sight to fans of heartbeat and Harry Potter.
If you are fans of heartbeat then this is a must, If not, I would still recommend Goathland and it's beautiful surroundings as a place to visit.
For us, The Goathland hotel AKA Aidensfield arms offered everything that we expected, and we would recommend it to anyone planing a visit to Goathland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardiancol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    54
    50
    48
    60
See reviews for
61
185
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I stayed and dined at the hotel and pub a few years back and it was likely one of the most pleasurable experiences of all the wonderful times we had while traveling the British Isles. The room was quaint and provided all necessary amenities needed. Our room looked out over Scripps garage, which only means anything to fans of Heartbeat. The pub served a wonderful beef stew in a huge Yorkshire pudding. The pints were great as well as were the locals that made this stop so very memoirable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely, charismatic place to stay in small village. All the places shown in the heartbeat series were easily accessible and you really feel like you are living within the show. All the staff were extremely helpful and our stay was just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Goathland Hotel came to our attention like many through the series Heartbeat. However, as rural folk from Australia we were keen to stay at a "country pub with rooms." The Goathland Hotel met all our requirements. I have observed some negative feedback and have wondered if some folk may have come with unusual or unrealistic expectations. Our objective was to stay at the country pub and enjoy the lovely village of Goathland. Both the Hotel and the village were quite enjoyable. The standout feature of the Hotel were the beautiful breakfasts, the hospitality and the opportunity to meet some of the locals. As a railway enthusiast I enjoyed catching up with some like minded chaps at the bar. I hope to return to the Goathland Hotel and enjoy the many walks and of course more time on the North Yorkshire Moor Railway.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an ensuite and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were not disappointed, the heartbeat local was just brilliant, even though a little crowded and loud at times it was still full of character and charm. The food was good and filling . An absolute must for any heartbeat fan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I liked this hotel due to it's connection with "Heartbeat" and I found the staff to be very friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but the shower was quite small and hard to use (shower head was attached on a weird angle and didn't dispense the water properly). I didn't enjoy the food at tea time (soup was very salty), but I did enjoy my breakfast. A little disappointed with the overall experience, but will again praise the friendliness of the staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at The Goathland Hotel for the third year in a row in 2013. There have been some room upgrades done since last year and the staff were as welcoming as ever.
We enjoy this unspoiled, Yorkshire village pub - it is not five star but very clean and comfortable and better than could be expected. There is just the right combination of “Olde Worlde” and modern comforts for an enjoyable "Heartbeat" experience. The focus of this hotel hasn't changed - it is still the daytime “Heartbeat” tourist trade, so we didn’t expect (or want) 5 star accommodation or treatment.
As usual the management and staff were very helpful and friendly at all times, the hotel and rooms were clean, the food was fine, and we have no complaints – the atmosphere was relaxing, we really enjoyed our stay and we can’t wait to return - in fact we have already booked for next year.
We are amazed at some of the negative comments made here by other guests. If we wanted five star accommodation, we wouldn’t have travelled across the world to seek out Goathland. We’re sure local Yorkshire folk won’t want change at The Goathland Hotel to suit the outsiders that don’t like it the way it is - and we’ll drink to that!
Thanks again Keith, Jean, Hannah and Sophie and all the rest of the staff who made us so welcome yet again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Kaye17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#144 of 151 in Whitby
38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Property: The Goathland Hotel
Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby
The Goathland Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing