We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Goathland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this place recently.It would have to be with out a doubt the worst hotel,Band B we have ever stayed in.When we arrived at 1 pm we were rudely told that we could not get into the room until 2 pm. Once in it was a dingy small room Shower was hard to use and was dirty.This is an over priced place that milks you due to the fact of its history with television. I suggest if wanting to visit stop and take a photo and stay in Whitby

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Goathland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel for one week.
The staff was very friendly, it felt almost like family.
The food and drinks were good. Breakfast was excellent.
The room, which we had, overlooked Aidenfield's garage and was well furnished and clean.
The supply of tea, coffee and chocolate as well as some tasteful cookies in the room is very good.
The reception of the television was excellent, with many channels, as well as radiochannels.
The hotel is situated near The North Yorkshire Moors Railway. And there are some shops with many stuff related to Heartbeat. Walkers have many opportunities, as naturetrails are nearby.
During the day it can be a bit noisy, because of the travellers, but there is a friendly atmosphere. In the evening the only thing you hear are the grazing sheep outside in the fields (between the buildings).
We are looking forward coming back.

Room Tip: Just contact the hotel. They will help you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margrietq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been staying with Sandra and Keith since 1995 and their welcome is as lovely now as it was then.We have introduced our good friends and they love it too.The house is gorgeous and it is the best b&b with the best breakfast we have ever experienced.We will return soon, as this part of Yorkshire is truly beautiful.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have stunning views of the Yorkshire moors.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Goathland Hotel or best known by its T.V. name which is the Aidensfield Arms from the Heartbeat series is a charming setting in the Dales some six miles from Whitby up on the moors. The Goathland describes itself as a pub with rooms and boasts a fine range of cuisine to tempt the many day trippers that visit the area during the summer months. The service was reasonably quick and the portions were generous with the cost for two main meals coming to just over £20.
The hotel also does bed and breakfast at £95 per night which is not too excessive in the busy season and if you decide to stay here there is also the chance that you will see filming for future episodes of the ever popular Heartbeat series. The village of Goathland has a continuation of the familiarity from the t.v. series in that they all stock memorabilia and gifts galore. The day we were there the weather was near perfect and an enjoyable day was had by both of us as we are ardent fans of 'Heartbeat'. We will definitely return to renew our acquaintance with this lovely village in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Always look it up on the website and try for discounts for large parties.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed Saturday 21st June 2014 looking forward to a break. We were told checking in was 2pm, so we arrived at 2pm. Went into the bar to be told we couldn't order food they stopped serving at 2pm! But did have a very nice light lunch at the tea rooms down the street. Went up to our room which was a family room all doubles were booked. How this room could pass as family room is beyond me. Cramped, dark & extremely claustrophobic, double bed & bunk beds with just enough room realistically for the double bed. No wardrobe only a few hangers in the corner of the room & 3 canvas boxes to put your clothes in. Don't think this room has seen a lick of paint in years. We had evening dinner but was told it had to be between 7pm & 8pm very average food. The breakfast was served between 8:30am & 9am "don't be late"
In a nut shell the worst £95 ever spent on a hotel room, won't be recommending or going back! Sorry to say it's living on the back of a TV series.

Room Tip: Always read trip advisor, Don't just rely on web photos!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Having returned for a second stay at the Goathland Hotel in April, My comments in my first review of this hotel still apply, On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Hannah and Keith.
They even arranged it so that we had the same room as we had on our first visit last year, The room itself is very spacious clean and comfortable, With tea, coffee and chocolate, plus biscuits.
As for the food, My comments of last year equally still apply, Described in one word. EXCELLENT.
And the full English breakfast is something to die for...
The drinks at the bar are a reasonable price, Compared to Berkshire.
All members of staff that we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful and nothing seem too much trouble,
We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the North Yorkshire Moors, The added
bonus is the heartbeat connection, And of course the wonderful North York Moors Railway.
We are planning to return to this hotel in August or September this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edwardiancol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we stayed in the goathland hotel may 2014 known as the aidinsfield arms from the tv series heartbeat the hotel itsself is just like in tv series.rooms were average size with tea coffee and biscuits in room. the meals were excellent so was the beer.staff were very helpfull and polite.the village itself is quite and peacefull. the locals friendly with shops and tea rooms gets quite busy when tourist are visiting for the day.there are also the steam trains to go on to whitby and pickering. i would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice quite and peacefull break. we also stayed in july2013 and have booked to go back in 2015 MR AND MRS HEDGES FROM LIVERPOOL.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
743 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,080 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
17 reviews
2.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#142 of 152 in Whitby
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goathland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goathland Hotel

Address: Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO225LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £99 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional local pub and hotel. We have become world famous by sheer accident but for the very reasons Yorkshire Television chose us we like to think that the very best of an English village pub has been delivered to an international audience. Our belief is that many come because of the fictional Aidensfield but return for the spirit that is Goathland. Essentially we offer the convenience of a small hotel but with a big personality. The hotel has eight en-suite bedrooms; they all have individual characteristics and views of our wonderful moors and timeless village. Our rooms reflect the traditional building and retain all the charm and character of yesteryear. The rooms are all fully equipped with 32" LCD Televisions with Freeview, Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities and of course all fresh white linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Goathland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goathland Hotel Whitby
The Goathland Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing