We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winterton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Andy and Sheila are lovely people and made us feel most welcome. Very comfortable and fantastic breakfast. Got to be the best B & B I've stayed in for some time. I will definitely book again when visiting the area. Thankyou, Ian.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 380Ian380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We found the Heatherdene last year by chance and what a wonderful weekend we had sitting with a glass of wine at the back of the hotel the views are just amazing and saw three shooting stars!!!
Lovely rooms a perfect place to stay
Hoping to return this year

Room Tip: all great at the heatherdene
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Many thanks to Andy and Sheilagh they made our stay fantastic they also made our two year old feel most welcome. This is the best guest house in goathland bar none and we will most definitely be staying again. Andy and Sheilagh made our stay personal and warm and we loved every minute of it, even to the point we extended our stay. They deserve every success in the future and we cannot wait to visit again, thank you for everything and louisa loved your dog's, especially Archie. We cannot recommend this guest house enough, thank you is an understatement, the best stay in goathland ever. Thank you sheilagh and Andy and all the best for 2014 u deserve it!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luken1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, not knowing where we were going.

We were made to feel very welcome - homemade cake and tea and coffee on arrival.

Lovely clean and pretty room.

Lovely full English breakfast with a nice variety of fresh fruits and cereals.

Lovely family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We came for the WW2 weekend because there were "no rooms at the Inn " at Pickering and decided to choose this friendly, hospitable place. We couldn't have been more welcomed by our hosts Sheilagh & Andy. We had a wonderfull room with a view overlooking the coutryside, well if the mist would have lifted we may have seen it ! The room was bright airy and cosy and a welcome tea and cake was most welcomed after a cold day in Pickering. We were so glad to have picked a place just to be away from the hustle and bustle of Pickering during the fantastic wartime weekend. During Saturday Andy gave us a lift down to the station for us to catch the Steam Train into Pickering where we had another eventful day. We had two wonderfull breakfasts there and everything was freshly prepared. Always a good start for any hectic day. We will be comning again soon porbably just for a walk or two around the moors in the late winter or early spring. Oh forgot to mention they do have a wonderfull day room at the back which you can sit at a cosy log fire and be served a drink from their bar. Didnt realise that till the last morning. I'm glad becuse otherwise the wife would have been going out be herself !
A wonderfull treasure in the heart of the Moors not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy54southcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila b, Owner at Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. The weather was certainly challenging throughout your visit. Andy and I were so impressed with your commitment to the 2nd World War theme and glad that we could offer you a little calm away from the hustle of the celebrations in Pickering.
It is a pleasure to bake for guests, the kettle is rarely off so coffee and tea are always readily available.
We have been so impressed with guests commitment to the war weekend theme that we are already making plans to join in next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Heatherdene, we would highly recommend spending time at this great hotel with the exceptionally friendly hosts Sheilagh and Andy We were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped inside the door, Sheilagh provided a lovely breakfast and nothing was to much trouble. Andy was good company for the men with their nightcaps. We will certainly be returning to Goathland again but will definitely be staying at the Heatherdene.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila b, Owner at Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Andy and I enjoy welcoming guests. We are glad that you are so positive about your stay with us. We both enjoyed spending time with you all, the lounge is a lovely place to sit and chat with a coffee or a glass of something stronger. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just returned after a 4-day stop here. Great place; can't speak highly enough of the location, facilities and all-round friendliness of Andy and Sheila ... new owners I discovered. Nothing is too much for them and the care and attention to detail they provide, whilst also maintaining a very relaxed yet totally welcoming approach, are second-to-none. Very clean, lovely breakfasts (and plenty of it!) and a superb location make this a place to which I definitely plan on returning.

Highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila b, Owner at Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Andy and I are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we have only been here a few weeks, moving in the middle of the season has presented us with some challenges but we have enjoyed meeting so many new visitors and the warm weather has helped.
We hope that you come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#146 of 152 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast
Address: | North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming licenced guest house surrounded by stunning scenery within the village of Goathland.Goathland is a small village in the North Yorks National Park. It has a station on the North Yorkshire steam railway. Ideal for walking on the surrounding moors, Whitby and the coast is 7 miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heatherdene Bed And Breakfast Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing