We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean what more could you ask”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From arrival we were impressed with hetherdene. Lovely big rooms, high ceilings making rooms bright & airy. The new owners are certainly making their mark the newly decorated rooms were wonderfully finished. We stayed in room 3 large corner double aspect room, the room was lovely, bathroom clean. However we did find the bed quite uncomfy but this room hasn't been remodelled as yet. Breakfast was superbly cooked & the ever changing specials added variety for those on a longer stay. Would recommend for a relaxing friendly stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tonywill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Once again we visited one of the finest b&bs in North Yorkshire. The hosts Sheila and Andy are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much for them. Our grandchildren were treated to every conceivable bun cake and goodies you could imagine at no extra cost. The breakfast is one of the finest we have had. Well worth a visit or at least check out their web site

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Heatherdene and I can assure you it will not be our last.Sheila and Andy made us so welcome nothing was too much trouble even down to welcoming out two small jack russels.
Lovely touch of the afternoon tea on arrival, accommodation spotless and cosy, and breakfast superb.
This is a great Bed and Breakfast we will have no problem recommending it too our friends.
Until we meet again
John & Pauline Trevor

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our 10th visit to Heatherdene, and we are pleased to say it was as great as ever! Sheila and Andy, the new owners were very friendly and accommodating and made us feel right at home.
We find Heatherdene to be a great place to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the North Yorks Moors.
We'll be back next year!
Kev &Lea,
Vancouver,B.C. Canada

Room Tip: Room three is huge and looks out over the fields of sheep and the moors beyond. It is a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevandLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed there after a gap of seventeen years and got a wonderful surprise thanks to the determined efforts of Sheila and Andy to make us so welcomed. The couple have been at the Heatherdene for just over a year and they are trying so hard and with no little success to welcome guests to this delightful part of Yorkshire. Light and airy rooms, being tastefully refurbished from its dusty atmosphere of seventeen years ago. Afternoon tea and home made cakes and simply the best breakfasts imaginable (specials are on offer) add to the experience. The Mallyan Spout Hotel is 5 minutes walk away for good quality evening meals. Just can't fault it and if you want to explore the delights of the north Yorkshire coast and waterfall walks (Mallyan Spout and Falling Foss) in the moors - don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The master bedroom 3 has good space and two windows overlooking the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first trip to this area . What a find .!The Heatherdene is a lovely house . The hosts Sheila and Andy are very warm and welcoming . As soon as you arrive you feel so welcome . Almost as though you are visiting old friends . We were shown up to our lovely room by Sheila and when we had unpacked ,invited to coffee and lovely homemade ginger cake in the lounge with an amazing view ! This place is a little bit of heaven on earth! From the lovely rooms (first night we had a room at the front with its own dressing room , peaceful . nice enough view ,hardly any traffic only sheep! the rest .of our stay we were moved to the largest room with double aspect view ......amazing ! All rooms are lovely though ).Location , lovely walking country , steam railway 10 mins walk away.Trains to Whitby /Pickering . Quaint village ,(used in the heartbeat series ) like stepping back in time.
,Breakfasts ...lots of choice and very nicely prepared . Very good coffee too.
Andy is a keen walker and is good for advice on the local footpaths . I really cannot give any negative comments about any of our stay . We hope to return soon .that's if there are any vacancies !! ...Best wishes Sheila and Andy ,thanks again .!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views ,but all rooms are lovely ,the scenic moors are all around you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

You can expect a warm welcome from the owners of this hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable, well equipped and very clean. A wide choice of breakfast is available. All this at a very reasonable price.
The hotel is well placed in the pretty village of Goathland and very quiet. The Mallyan Spout Hotel is a short walk away for a bar meal in the evening.
We will be staying at this hotel when we next visit this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
9.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#1 of 2 in Grosmont
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherdene Bed and Breakfast

Address: | North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcoming licenced guest house surrounded by stunning scenery within the village of Goathland.Goathland is a small village in the North Yorks National Park. It has a station on the North Yorkshire steam railway. Ideal for walking on the surrounding moors, Whitby and the coast is 7 miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heatherdene Bed And Breakfast Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing