We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cross Pipes Cottages
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've stayed at Crosspipes twice now, once last year and also this year. I find the area and the cottages the ideal place to get away with lot's to do within the area if so desired. It's lovely and quiet and offers all anyone could need from the small cottage for a romantic stay to the Large house itself that offers a great experience of country living with it's lovely big open fire and Aga.
It was also nice to see that improvements are on-going and have even been made since my visit last year. With new appliances and decor to the inside and outside. For those looking for a lovely break away whether you look to just relax un-interrupted or want a busy time going out.....it's all here and I would recommend Crosspipes for longer than a weekend to gain the full experience. We've had a very enjoyable time there and are going again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onholsJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

My partner and I stayed in the smaller of the two cottages over Valentines weekend. It was heavenly. The cottage is beautiful.

Kitchen: High quality appliances, units, lovely mugs, crockery and cutlery. Oven was clean and easy to use. A very cold slate floor compliments this gorgeous kitchen area - take slippers :)

Living area: Beautiful high ceilings with traditional wooden beams, two leather armchairs, super cute dining table perfect for two, oil burning coal stove set in a gorgeous traditional fireplace with a lovely rug in front and pillar candles each side of the stove - so romantic. A stereo is provided but bring your own cd's as there is no radio signal. A functioning dvd player and tv with digi box are also provided although some of the digital channels are a bit hit and miss. There is a good sized coffee table in the centre of the room with some up to date but mostly outdated leaflets in the drawer, not really a problem though as there are plenty of places in the village to pick info up from.The living area and the bedroom area are carpeted throughout.

Bedroom alcove is slightly raised up from the living area and set under beautiful wooden beams which make it feel cosy. The bed linen is good quality and more than enough extra matching blankets for even the coldest nights. The bed is a great quality, sturdy iron framed bed with sound mattress (I have back problems and the mattress was fine for me).
There is an electric heater by the bed which helps heat the room, it takes a while to heat the whole place but once you get it to a decent temperature, due to the good double glazing and thick walls, the whole place holds heat really really well.

Bathroom: The facilities are really lovely quality and were clean upon arrival. The shower it's self is powerful and the hot water lasts well. Chilly at first, the bathroom heats up with the small electric heater above the door. The slate floor and shower area are beautiful and has more than enough room for two.

The front door leads to a very cold coat/boot room. Keep the door to the living are closed if you want to keep the heat in.
The back stable door leads on to the secure garden, a fenced off decking area with a swimming pool, lovely garden table and chairs and bbq.

There is no internet or mobile signal in this part of the village but the stunning hotel over the road has wifi and an amazing menu ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMadHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have now stopped in the main Cross Pipes Cottage three summers in a row, for a week each time. This year my nephew and his two children stopped in the smaller cottage too.

Goathland is probably the best location for a holiday in the North Yorkshire Moors, with its attractive village, numerous walks and three pubs of which two do excellent food and also allow you to take your dog in. The Malvern Spout Hotel is a stone's throw away and the trail down to the Spout itself starts from the side of the Hotel. The other pub that does good food is the Inn on the Moor, which is half a mile away on the way to the Station.

Goathland is surrounded by walks across the moors, Malvern Spout, The Aidensfield Village from Heartbeat and is one of the main stops for the North Yorkshire Steam Railway, which goes up to Whitby and down to Pickering.

The main cottage is very roomy, the main bedroom is massive with scenic views to either side.
The living room is also large with its antique fireplace and large sofas.
The sheep often jump up at the windows trying to eat the pot plants that hangout the front.
The property also includes an excellent conservatory to chill out in, which leads out to the swimming pool, which was used nearly every day, this year.

Overall its hard to fault the area or the property and I certainly won't be grumbling about a few plates and cups that an early reviewer whinged about, as all the utensils seemed fine to me and I was usually out eating in the nearby pubs anyway. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I was very fortunate to be able to stay at such a lovely place back in December. Both of the cottages are fitted out to a high standard & the views are breath taking.
This is the perfect place to get away to, which I did with my family. We all agreed we would come back in a 'heart beat'
People are so quick to be so critical and don't praise enough, I personally found no faults with anything at Cross Pipes:) The owner is a lucky man to own such a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank janetmartinezrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Me and my wife had a weeks holiday in October 2012. We cant speak highly enough of both the property and the location. It is a beautiful old home that has been very well looked after by everbody who has stayed there. its warm and very well presented and has plenty of space for a large family to visit. There is a pool on site but as it was October we decided not to dive in :) It is a nice drive to the property with stunning views of the moors and when you arrive it continues. There are many nice places to go visit once your there and there all easy to find. Mobile phone signal is 0 but I consider that to be a good thing :). I highly recommend Cross Pipes to anybody :) proper country living.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My family and I (5 and a half of us) stayed in this cottage over the valentines period.
We had a phone call from Chris a couple of days prior to arriving and he was very helpful with all the details we needed to get up and running.
On arrival we walked into the porch and immediately found a place for shoes and coats and then entered the property via the stable door to the fantastically proportioned kitchen and dining room.
I knew at that point, no matter how many bad reviews have been written about this cottage it didnt matter, I had fallen in love with this place.
I think that a lot of the reviews written here previously have not taken into account that this is a very old property and is in need on constant maintainance (anywhere from the little things to the bigger things) but people also dont understand that this is also a property that is a business.
Yes there were little bits and pieces here and there that if you were being ultra sensitive then may annoy you however, understanding that this is a property in need of constant maintaining/updating it really did not bother us at all.
As for the cleanliness the only thing that I found to be an issue was that the Aga had not been used for some time and appeared to need a bit of tlc.
The house was very warm and comfortable and setting a log fire with the lights turned down and nothing but the lights from the street light and Mallayan Spout flickering through the window made me instantly relax.
To end, I must say that this property, wihout the support of those staying would not be able to be maintained to the standard it obviously has been and I will be looking to return in the not too distant future.
Keep up the good work Chris, thankyou for letting us stay in your lovely home.
Kind regards, Steve, Emma, Jeanette, Pauline, Isaac and Benjamin

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Extremely tranquil and peaceful.
Completely away from the "hustle and bustle".
Very cosy.
Accessible to fantastic walks on North Yorkshire Moors.
Extremely near bus stop [buses to Malton, Whitby, Leeds].
Post Office + store in Goathland Village useful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annehasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goathland hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
771 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eighteen97
Eighteen97
#2 of 10 in Goathland
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Country Guest House
0.1 mi away
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
#5 of 10 in Goathland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Pipes Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Pipes Cottages

Address: 13, Houndsfield Close, Goathland, North York Moors National Park, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Goathland
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cross Pipes Cottages Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing