We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star in every respect”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

5 star for hosts Janet and Richard
5 star for cleanliness
5 star for rooms
5 star for breakfasts
Lovely location opposite Mallyan Spout walk. Couldn't have felt more welcome. Will definitely book again when in the area.

Room Tip: Gooseberry room is on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
236
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

With the recommendation of people's comments on Trip Advisor I booked a two night stay over the Spring Bank Holiday, We were not disappointed at all. Friday before we set off I was called at work to see how I would like the room made up, i.e. double or twin. From the moment we arrived, coffee and biscuits were offered followed by being shown to our lovely room (The Roseberry) followed by lovely cooked breakfasts and coffee, followed by a lovely shoulder massage for my husband and I opted for some foot reflexology. We also had cakes and chocolates placed in our room both days which is a nice touch. There are also loads of books at the top of the stairs for those rainy days and games to play and dvds to borrow to watch in your room. A most truly lovely weekend and the "Hotel Inspector" would be hard pressed to find any fault whilst staying here!!!! Will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms were spotless and clean Home made cakes and chocolates on pillows each morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for two nights in April and found it the perfect getaway. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equiped and the owners, Janet and Richard make you very welcome. Well placed for all the major attractions and within walking distance of "Adensfield" village and train station.

Would definately use again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Goosberry room on the ground floor. Large and roomy with a bed the size of a footb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and Boyfriend stayed in this lovely B&B in Goathland this weekend. The room was perfect in every way! Janet and Richard were lovely hosts and the rooms were spotless. Everyday when we returned there was new chocolates and either a muffin or a tray bake waiting for us when we went back to our room. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and you could not fault the food. There was plenty of different options for breakfast including lots of light options.

I would definitely return to this lovely guesthouse and would not think twice about it. Great value for money and lovely welcoming hosts.

I think this could be a yearly occurrence for me and my boyfriend and we will defiantly be returning.

:)

Room Tip: Blueberry room is lovely! However i am sure all of the rooms will be :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

What an amazing guest house. The decor of the whole house is beautiful. The lady who runs it should be an interior designer. We stayed in the blackberry room. It was huge,stylish and spotlessly clean. They really have thought of everything. Coffee and cake on arrival and they can't do enough for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roxychick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at Halmer Grange, thanks to Janet and Richard. The room we stayed in (the Blackberry room) was beautiful, as was the whole house. We had a really good night's sleep in the comfortable memory foam bed. Janet and Richard were excellent hosts, very attentive; nothing was too much trouble. The Easter card and egg, together with the coffee and cakes on arrival were very thoughtful touches, and most appreciated. The breakfast was cooked to perfection, and there was plenty of variety.
We loved the village - it was so peaceful - and the house was in a lovely spot behind the church. We enjoyed the walk down to the Mallyan Spout waterfall, and to the Beck Hole Pub, and we also had a delicious meal in the Mallyan Spout Hotel across the road, all helpfully recommended by Janet.
All in all, a super place; we will definitely return, hopefully for longer next time, and we shall certainly recommend Halmer Grange to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Halmer Grange for only the one night, but we were so very pleased with our choice, we were welcomed and the room (The Roseberry) was so comfortable, the place is just so divine in everyway, Janet has put so much thought into making your stay so special.
The house itself is adorable with Janets great eye for detail.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
7.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halmer Grange Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halmer Grange Guesthouse

Property: Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Address: Halmer Grange The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halmer Grange Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you when you stay with us at Halmer Grange Luxury Guest House in Goathland, North Yorkshire, the village where the television series 'Heartbeat' was filmed. Come and relax with us in this beautiful area and during your stay why not help yourself de-stress with one of our holistic therapies available to guests at a discounted rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Halmer Grange Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halmer Grange Guesthouse Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing