We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steam train experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goathland Tea Room & Gifts

Goathland Tea Room & Gifts
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steam train experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Whilst on the North Yorkshire moors railway we called in at the tea rooms, fantastic food, freshly cooked to order. Happy staff who were on hand to help!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    77
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very uninspiring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We visited on our way back from Whitby. The cafe was depressing and uninspiring. Nothing quaint about it, just quite dingy. Many of the items on the handwritten part of the menu were spelt incorrectly. Horrible damp smelling toilets. Unless you are a die hard heartbeat fan I would avoid Goathland altogether.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 780HelenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
318 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Pleasing to see it open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

After a long cold walk on the 11th Feb, it was very pleasing to see this Tea Room open!! I just needed to sit down, before we did the last little bit back up to our hotel - we had found nothing open in Grosmont, so it had been an immediate 'about turn' when we arrived there from Goathland.

There were three other people in the Rooms plus a couple with a dog were directed to a side door (down the passage which leads down to the Tea Garden), in order to be seated within another room of the establishment.

The Tea Rooms were warm and the lady who served us was chatty but not OTT. We enjoyed a lovely soup and warm roll, with coffee - which was all reasonably priced. True ... we didn't experience service during a busy time but we were pleased enough with what we received on that occasion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Quaint but cold little tea room in Goathland centre. We were the only ones in on a cold February Saturday morning so service had to be spot on . Under 20 quid for 4 drinks and 4 sandwiches so great value for money. Bet this place gets rammed in summer months.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorksboy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“a bit average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The scone was alright, the sponge was alright as was the rea and coffee, nothing special, the woman serving was a bit miserable and it appeared she was desperae to put up the closed sign

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goathland Tea Room & Gifts also viewed

Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Goathland Tea Room & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing