We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY GOOD TWO YEARS AGO, BUT EVEN BETTER NOW.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD TWO YEARS AGO, BUT EVEN BETTER NOW.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

7 of us stayed for 2 nights! All rooms different & lovely. On arrival we were welcomed with plates of homemade cakes & pots of tea, sitting around an open fire overlooking the moors, bliss. The hospitality of Liz, Keith & Kelly was first class, felt so at home. We can't wait to return as we would not stay anywhere else. You will not be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Any room with front aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
168
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have just returned from spending a wonderful weekend at the Fairhaven Guest House, We spent the weekend here with friends, Kelly and family couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed it that much we have all booked again for next year,

We would Highly Recommend this Guest House

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We have just returned from yet another fantastic holiday in Goathland. This is the second year Liz., Keith and Kelly have been at the Fairhaven when we 'three ladies' have stayed. I think this years stay was the very best yet. Such a friendly welcome lovely people lovely food we couldn't ask for more, we booked for next year as we left. We have been going to Goathland for the past 10 years or so and have stayed at some lovely places but the Fairhaven tops the lot, fantastic looking forward to next year already. Thank you Liz, Keith & Kelly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

From beginning to end our stay was faultless.The family were so welcoming.Rooms spotless and both the evening meal & breakfasts were excellent.On returning after a busy day sightseeing sitting in front of a roaring fire - gin & tonic in hand only just confirmed to us that this was Gods part of the world
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Fairhaven its home from home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidecar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay with Liz and Keith and the rest of the family and only wish it could have been longer. We hadnt realised the house had changed ownership and, having liked it previously, hence the return visit, we can only say it has improved further.

We were greeted on arrival with a large pot of tea and biscuits to consume at our leisure in-front of the open fire which was a nice welcoming. We got the same welcome mid-afternoon the following day having been walking in the rain for four hours. Again a very nice touch although we didnt take Liz up on the offer this time.

Our room had recently been decorated (it still smelt of fresh paint) and was nice although was a little cold until we had the boost of the electric heater on for half an hour which then made it fine. It was quite a cold night to be fair. Breakfast was nice with a good selection of hot and cold food although could do with a slice or two of black pudding in my opinion.

We booked under a winter warmer offer and had supper on our second night which again was very nice before we retreated back to the open fire to polish off a little wine we had brought with us. The guys are licensed so you can buy drinks while there too.

An added bonus is off street parking behind the house which is something I always appreciate. Liz had also taken our boots and coats to a dry room one night and we picked them up the following morning. Having forgotten an item when passing back our things (we didnt realise either), we phone Keith who kindly posted them back to us and they arrived the following week to which we are very much appreciative.

Very good value and we will return. Hopefully soon. I've given full five stars although I suppose location is subjective to what you want. If you're going to Goathland you know you are going for nice country side and very little else.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed in Fairhaven Country Guest House on a work trip to Yorkshire in November 2010. Location in Goathland is handy, just a walking distance from Main Street and the bigger hotel with bar (didn't need it) in the other direction. On reserving I was asked if I'd like to have a dinner for a minor extra fee, which I accepted. It was definitely worth it. I was offered very tasty food.
Room was nice, clean and the whole guest house was very cosy. I was also offered coffee and bisquits on arrival. Wireless connection is available for purchase or through Skype Access. Note: not all mobile phone operators have coverage indoors, so I had to make phone calls from outdoors. I'm happy to recommend Fairhaven to anyone visiting Goathland area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkusMalahide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had a really nice weekend, driving around this beautiful area.
When we came back to the B&B, it was the best service and treatment you can get.
We promised to come back when the temperature is higher and we will!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arteta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Property: Fairhaven Country Guest House
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing