We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We Were a party of 8 celebrating with a meal on the evening pullman train for a golden wedding anniversary!
We had one of the warmest welcomes to any B&B that I have ever had! With the offer of fresh tea and coffee with scones being served in the lounge on arrival!
The hosts Liz and Keith were very welcoming!
The rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard!
The only downside is the small shower, having said that it did it's job! Also just be aware that the Walls on the 2nd floor are a bit thin, so you might be able to hear the next room chatting.
You have to put your breakfast order in the night before, and thus works really well! Breakfast was the highlight of this stay, with everything you could possibly need! Even marmite for my toast!
They have a garden at the back of the house, which is lovely and peaceful retreat, just to spend some time relaxing!
Well done Keith, Liz and Kelly! Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Me and my wife only stayed one night unfortunately but have promised ourselves we will return and have highly recomended " Fairhaven " to our friends. Great location a few minutes walk to anywhere in the village. We were greeted by Keith with a warm welcome and after showing us our room which was very nice, spotlessly clean, we sat in the lounge and Keith gave us tea and a selection of homemade cakes.Keith, Liz and Kelly made us feel very welcome " home from home ". Keith gave us tips on where to go in the local area which proved extremely helpful as you cannot beat local knowledge.The breakfast was 5 Star, Excellent. What more can I say....Many Thanks

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and ask for room at the front overlooking Common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callegor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have stayed for a second year as part of our weekend as a group doing the Pullman meal trip. You are welcomed by Keith, Liz and Kelly from the moment you arrive, it is such a friendly place to stay greeted at breakfast, ( which Is delicious) with a smile, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and the location unbeatable.
Thanks again for a lovely stay, will no doubt see you next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at Fairhaven for 4 nights from 27th June. This guest house really is fantastic. Immaculately clean (I tried the 4 in a bed dust challenge but could not find any!!!) We have travelled around the world and never been tempted to write a review before. From the time you arrive until you leave you are made to feel the most important people staying there. Welcomed with tea/coffee and cakes (which we had several times during our stay) we were taken to our superior room which had a fantastic view and was exrtremely comfortable. I think the bed was big enough to sleep 6!!! Lovely bedding and decorations along with full bathroom. Breakfast was super with a good variety and so well cooked. We stayed during our wedding anniversary and birthdays. My husband had a 'big' birthhday whilst we were there and when we went into the dining room it was decorated with happy birthday, a little cake was brought out with candles and a bottle of wine was given to him. We also received cards. They did not have to do this but it was so appreciated Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would have no qualms about recommending this B&B to anyone. Thank you and well done Liz, Kelly, Keith and Richard. WE WILL BE BACK!! From a very fussy guest

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Group of 8 cyclists extremely well catered for on 2 night stay of cycle tour.
Owners couldn't do enough for us on both arrival and on departure.
Very cycle friendly establishment.
Room with a view fine, but with flowered wallpaper not for me - also, en suite a bit small for me
Excellent breakfasts offering daily specials - great idea!!
Location superb, just far enough away from the 'Heartbeat' of the village.

Room Tip: cycle friendly B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed there as part of a weekend away and a meal in the Pullman on the North York Moors Railway.
Accommodation is ideally situated, very well decorated but best of all the owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We doubt there is a Bed and Breakfast that can offer better service and a warmer welcome .The friendliness of Liz, Keith and Kelly makes you feel at home from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave and this with the beautiful location means we can't wait to go back. We had a superior room which could not be bettered. The guest lounge had a large selection of books DVD's and CD's for all guests to use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eighteen97
Eighteen97
#2 of 10 in Goathland
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
#5 of 10 in Goathland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
344 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burnley House
Burnley House
#1 of 2 in Hutton le Hole
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairhaven Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing