We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

At the risk of repeating other reviews, we just want to say that Liz and Keith are the most delightful hosts and this is true Yorkshire hospitality. A warm, relaxing, comfortable atmosphere and we loved it. A real home from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnlcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
194
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have never felt the need to write a review after having a short stay in a B&B but this is the exception!
We stayed for 3 nights,on arrival we were greeted by Keith who gave us the warmest welcome, he showed us to our room and around the house with all it's amenities, while we unpacked he made us tea with "home made scones and flapjacks" which we enjoyed in the sitting room whilst chatting with him, seemed like we'd known him for years.This also applied to Liz and Kelly who we met at Breakfast next morning.
All rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard! an other great touch is all the "little extras" you get or are offerd like in the guest fridge in the dining room there is filtered water, yoghurts, fresh milk, and fruit which is available 24hours .
Breakfast (plenty of it) with a choice of fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt or all if your really hungry, then it's onto a full english, toast fresh coffee or tea.
We'll be definitely be returning. Mick and Sue (Cambs)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Have stayed here several times. Everything is spot on,food,ambience,setting. Liz and Keith are first class hosts and nothing is too much trouble.Ten minute walk to the pub. Ten minute walk to the train station where you can get a steam train into Whitby. If you want a really relaxing break, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy10142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We Were a party of 8 celebrating with a meal on the evening pullman train for a golden wedding anniversary!
We had one of the warmest welcomes to any B&B that I have ever had! With the offer of fresh tea and coffee with scones being served in the lounge on arrival!
The hosts Liz and Keith were very welcoming!
The rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard!
The only downside is the small shower, having said that it did it's job! Also just be aware that the Walls on the 2nd floor are a bit thin, so you might be able to hear the next room chatting.
You have to put your breakfast order in the night before, and thus works really well! Breakfast was the highlight of this stay, with everything you could possibly need! Even marmite for my toast!
They have a garden at the back of the house, which is lovely and peaceful retreat, just to spend some time relaxing!
Well done Keith, Liz and Kelly! Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Me and my wife only stayed one night unfortunately but have promised ourselves we will return and have highly recomended " Fairhaven " to our friends. Great location a few minutes walk to anywhere in the village. We were greeted by Keith with a warm welcome and after showing us our room which was very nice, spotlessly clean, we sat in the lounge and Keith gave us tea and a selection of homemade cakes.Keith, Liz and Kelly made us feel very welcome " home from home ". Keith gave us tips on where to go in the local area which proved extremely helpful as you cannot beat local knowledge.The breakfast was 5 Star, Excellent. What more can I say....Many Thanks

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and ask for room at the front overlooking Common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callegor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have stayed for a second year as part of our weekend as a group doing the Pullman meal trip. You are welcomed by Keith, Liz and Kelly from the moment you arrive, it is such a friendly place to stay greeted at breakfast, ( which Is delicious) with a smile, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and the location unbeatable.
Thanks again for a lovely stay, will no doubt see you next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at Fairhaven for 4 nights from 27th June. This guest house really is fantastic. Immaculately clean (I tried the 4 in a bed dust challenge but could not find any!!!) We have travelled around the world and never been tempted to write a review before. From the time you arrive until you leave you are made to feel the most important people staying there. Welcomed with tea/coffee and cakes (which we had several times during our stay) we were taken to our superior room which had a fantastic view and was exrtremely comfortable. I think the bed was big enough to sleep 6!!! Lovely bedding and decorations along with full bathroom. Breakfast was super with a good variety and so well cooked. We stayed during our wedding anniversary and birthdays. My husband had a 'big' birthhday whilst we were there and when we went into the dining room it was decorated with happy birthday, a little cake was brought out with candles and a bottle of wine was given to him. We also received cards. They did not have to do this but it was so appreciated Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would have no qualms about recommending this B&B to anyone. Thank you and well done Liz, Kelly, Keith and Richard. WE WILL BE BACK!! From a very fussy guest

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
729 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,048 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#140 of 151 in Whitby
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Property: Fairhaven Country Guest House
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing