We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

You can't go wrong staying at this delightful inn. Liz, Keith and daughter Kelly are warm, witty, and helpful. From our afternoon tea in the lounge in front of a fire when we arrived to help with loading our bags when we left, they are generous with their time, suggestions, and hospitality. Breakfasts are delicious and Keith does an excellent job serving and chatting with everyone. We enjoyed watching the sheep grazing anywhere and everywhere, "with more rights than we have" according to Kelly. We had a lovely view of the moors from our room. Unlike so many old homes that are now B&Bs, this one has large rooms and feels very spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamapajamamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Fairhaven Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We used the B&B as a base for a few days of mountain biking. Liz, Keith and Kelly were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We were greeted on arival in the car park and they kept up a high level of service thereafter. Keith even dried our cycling shoes after we had ended the day by going through a couple of local fords. Look no further if you are planning a stay in the Goathland area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A very warm welcome awaits you at Fairhaven, where Liz, Keith and Kelly make you feel more like one of the family than a guest. The guest lounge is splendid and the rooms are smart, spotlessly clean and ours had a lovely view of the moors. The breakfast was also excellent, and a lot of choice was on offer. Everyone cheerfully goes the extra mile for the guests, taking time to chat, showing an interest in what you are doing, suggesting places to visit and offering great hospitality. A must for any stay in Goathland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Following yet another amazing stay in the Fairhaven last year, we returned with our group of classic car friends in May this year, for another long weekend. We booked the whole guest house and from arrival to departure, we were treated once again, like royalty. A huge thank you to Kelly, Liz and family for their outstanding and unique service. Rooms outstanding, food - delicious, treats of cakes and biscuits with teas and coffees often - just wonderful! We cannot recommend The Fairhaven highly enough to everyone. Our tip - don't wait - book now - if you can!

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolseleyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay whilst you explore North Yorkshire, look no more! You must stay here. Fairhaven is run by Liz, Keith & Kelly, and if there are nicer people running a guest house, we have yet to meet them! Warm, friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, and the standard of the rooms and breakfasts is excellent. Trust me, we are fussy people, but we will return to Fairhaven again.......and again.........and again!
Thank you Liz, Keith & Kelly for a such a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arriving on the Coastliner bus from Whitby, Kelly met me and helped with my bags. We waled just round the corner to Fairhaven, which is even more delightful when I was really there.A beautiful House, so easy to fall in love with... my room was at the top, but was perfect.Lovely decor, en-suite with tea-making facilities...just what was needed after a very long journey. Breakfast next morning was just right, fruit, cereal and a full English, then toast...that keeps me going when walking around this delightful village.Id been before on the bus or the Hearbeat heritage bus....but staying here was so very peaceful, just the sounds of the sheep......always present, lovely to see wandering past the window while having breakfast. Im not a big drinker, but its nice to know Fairhaven is licensed, I enjoyed my cider while watching the England friendly. All in all, I thoroughly reccomend Fairhaven, no dtail is missed, your stay is made perfect.....Thankk You to Keth, Liz and Kelly.....Im coming back next year.!

Room Tip: All are wonderful..
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan7Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have stayed in many hotels & guest houses over the years but can honestly say this is the best one we have stayed in. We were made to feel so welcome Liz, Kelly & Keith could not do enough for us would recommend to anyone . Thank you for making our holiday & my husbands birthday so enjoyable we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melkay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
743 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,077 reviews
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing