We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My friend and I returned yesterday from Fairhaven....having spent a wonderful week-end enjoying the exceptional welcoming care and attention of Liz, Keith and Kelly. We thought it would be good from the reviews that we had read...but it far surpassed expectations. As we parked in the car park we were greeted by Keith who had come to take our luggage! Inside we were met by Liz and Kelly who were making tea and coffee with home made cake and scones. This is the best welcome we have had anywhere. And it just kept getting better. Our rooms were lovely and very clean. As was everywhere. Breakfasts were wonderful. Their help and patience made it a really enjoyable time...can not recommend this place enough!!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

When we booked, I explained that we wanted to stay for 2 nights but with a gap in the middle so that we could do a circular walk to the coast and up the Cleveland Way, and asked if we could leave our car with them. Liz was so helpful: it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived, we could tell that this is the hallmark of Fairhaven: exceptionally friendly and welcoming, lovely atmosphere, a level of service way above any other B&B we've ever stayed in. Most people seem to be regulars: it's not hard to see why. Oh, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms as well, lovely sitting room, very tasty breakfasts, with daily specials ... Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah91052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Not really much to say other than a really lovely one night stay. We were given 2 rooms, 1 for us + 1 for the kids at the same price as a family room. This , even though it was Whitby Regatta weekend. Breakfast a notch up from standard B&B fare, nothing too much trouble for the hosts and a lovely large sitting room with games, reference books etc. This area was particularly nice and cosy in the evening + for chatting to other guests and the hosts + admiring the stunning views. Thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wriggsAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well yet another fantastic stay with Liz, Keith, Kelly and Rick. We have stayed at the Fairhaven Country Guest House a number of times since the Summer of 2011. The service, quality of rooms (including comfort & cleanliness) and the vast array of choices at breakfast never cease to amaze us. Liz seems to have the gift of concocting something different for breakfast everytime we stay. Field mushrooms covered in melted cheese, perfectly grilled cherry tomatoes served with soda bread...... just too yummy to resist. During the last two years we've stayed in most of the very well appointed rooms. All are nice, but our absolute favs are rooms 2 & 4, as they overlook the common and there are great views of the moors in the distance. The whole family are very obliging, from booking tables at local restaurants and trips on the steam train to offering advice and knowledge on local walks, nothing too much trouble. I'm away with work a lot (30 nights this year with more to come) and I just wish that I could take the Fairhaven with me on my travels; given the choice I'd rather stay with 'team Fairhaven' any day as opposed to the Hiltons, Crowne Plazas, Holiday Inns and Raddisons that I usually stay at. Ohh did I mention the grotty travel-lodge in Covent Garden.............these places have a lot to learn. All I can say is see you in October and at New Year.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 4 as they overlook the common and have lovely big baths !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our stay at Fairhaven for a week was all we could have hoped for and more. Our accommodation was in a superior room which was very well appointed and comfortable with fantastic views across the moors. Fairhaven is just a short walk to the charming village and there are wonderful drives in any direction to take in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Our hosts Keith, Liz and Kelly are a wonderful friendly family and made us feel very welcome. Breakfasts were as good as one could get anywhere. We can recommend Fairhaven unreservedly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I take my mother each year to Fairhaven for her birthday celebration. Each year we are always impressed by the very high standards in all respects - food, hospitality, comfort, friendliness etc. The list is too long to mention everything. I travel worldwide and stay in many 5 star locations and I truly have to stay that coming back to Fairhaven is a true highlight. We plan to come again and again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Said there many time, is lovely, brilliant location. The hosts are brilliant, very friendly and love a chat. Would not stay anywhere else! It's the best place to stay in the area! I 100% recommend it. Never been to a nicer B&B!!

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Michaelgill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairhaven Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing