We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best b & b by far..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

An absolutely outstanding b&b, friends family and myself stay here twice a year and never want to leave! Liz, Keith and Kelly are exceptional hosts making you very welcome, fantastic food, excellent accommodation. This is the best by far bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in and it will be very hard to beat. Nothing is ever to much trouble for this lovely family. Looking forward to our next visit on the 9th may.

Room Tip: Our favourite room is 4 very spacious and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend. The welcome was fantastic and we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Keith and Liz. A lovely evening spent in front of the log fire with good company before retiring to the room. The room was lovely and decorated to a very high standard. After a good nights sleep the fantastic breakfast set us up for the day. We were given some good directions so our walk was very enjoyable and on our return we were presented with freshly baked cake. Today another walk before setting off back home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back. A lovely place to stay with the friendliest hosts you could ever meet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had an amazing three night break here in February with our two children. Took advantage of the Winter Warmer offer. The service from Keith, Liz and Kelly was outstanding, they cannot do enough for you and seem to be firm friends with all their regulars who return year after year.
We had the lovely family room and they provided a travel cot, the room was immaculately clean, the beds very comfortable, plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Not that you need them in the room, fresh tea, coffee and home baked cakes and scones appear every time you walk through the door. Enjoy them sat in front of the real fire. The breakfasts are superb, so much choice from cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt's to full cooked breakfast and various other cooked options. The evening meal again, home made and delicious. Our three year old cleared her plate at breakfast and evening meal, now that's a recommendation you cant beat!
Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a fabulous three night stay at Fairhaven, in the New Year. Nothing was too much trouble for Liz and Keith and we will definitely return here again. The breakfast was first class and set us up for the rest of the day. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suerWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyBatley, Owner at Fairhaven Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you, Sue! It was lovely to meet you both, and we hope to see you again. Kelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at Fairhaven the weekend 13th and 14th Dec as a break away for the family so that we get the chance to catch up before the mad Christmas rush. They were 6 of us and Liz and Keith put us all next to each other on the 1st floor which made life easy for everyone. We stayed in Bedroom 2 and it was massive compared to what you would expect to get in any normal guesthouse. We went on the winter warmer package and the food was very good on the first night, as I said this is the family catch up so other than visit Whitby on the saturday during the day we spent most of the time at the guest house. Keith and Liz are the most perfect hosts and they seem to get a lot of repeat customers and I can see why as nothing is to much trouble for them.
If you need to travel to this area or enjoy walking then this is the place to stay without any shadow of a doubt, we will go back again and again.

Room Tip: From what I have seen all the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend here and it was superb, not one complaint. The hosts are the best you will get anywhere they cannot do enough for any of there guests. the rooms are beautiful the food is all home baked and absolutely gorgeous. The house is full of character and it felt like we were all one big happy family. The homework they have done to guide you to all the best places to walk or drive to is excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We would highly recommend this guest house and we will be definitely be going back for a visit.

Room Tip: Room 9 massive king size bed and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainey1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend away ,stayed at the fairhaven guesthouse in gouthland, we have stayed here before several times and will return, it is the best guesthouse we have stayed in the country, treated like one of the family from the moment you walk through the door , a nice warm drink and cakes on arrival the rooms are spacious , the breakfast is the best you'll get anywere , ideal location for walkers and tourist ,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairhaven Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing