We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just back from a fabulous short break. From the minute we arrived when Keith came out to carry our luggage to the minute we left, we were treated like royalty by Liz Keith and Kelly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the whole place was brilliantly clean and comfortable. We had a large twin room with a very smart modern bathroom. Did not want to eat all day after the great Yorkshire breakfasts!
There is a wonderful large lounge area to relax in and enjoy the views. We cannot fault anything at the Fairhaven which is in a small quiet very pretty village and we really enjoyed exploring the fabulous countryside.
We will definitely be back, so Keith please keep the coffee hot!! (Terry and Brian.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyBatley, Owner at Fairhaven Country Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you and we'd love to see you both again. There's a coffee pot with your name on, ready for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
194
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What can I say that I haven't said in my two previous reviews? Not a lot really!! My third stay at Fairhaven and already planning next years visit!!

Great location (I'd forgotten what total peace sounded like), beautiful house, fabulous hosts (nothing is too much trouble) and amazing homemade cakes and breakfasts.

It felt great to be back, almost as if I'd never been away, I could almost feel the stress leaving my body as soon as walked through the door. Never want to leave, but it was harder to leave this time around. .

Thank you to Liz, Keith and Kelly for making our stay so fantastic!! See you all again very soon I hope!! Oh and Keith, next time you offer me a drive in the Porsche, I am definitely going to take you up on it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

An ideal place for a week end get away, lovely guest house with very friendly helpful owners who had a lovely welcome cup of tea and cakes ready for our arrival. The guest house is on the edge of the Moor in a beautiful picturesque vilage which is ideally placed for walking. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfast a fantastic start to the day. Highly recommende.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilberdyke
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived early before our room was ready but in spite of them being busy a pot of tea and home made cakes were served in the garden. The room was on the top floor over looking the moors with lovely views. There was an exceptionally comfortable kingsized bed and a good sized en suite shower room.
The guest sitting room was very large and stocked with numerous books and DVDs.
Breakfasts were superb with lots of fresh fruit, cereals and a variety of cooked food including daily specials.
There was a guest fridge with fresh milk, yoghurt and juices to help yourself to.
The service from Liz, Kelly and Keith was exceptionally friendly and efficient and it was noticeable that they knew a lot of the guests from previous visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbGilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Two friends and I (Last of the Summer Wine types!) stayed at Fairhaven whilst on our annual three days walking trip, this time around the N.Yorks Moors. From the day we arrived at Fairhaven until we left for home we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble for Liz, Kelly and Keith.

The rooms were spotless and well decorated, the excellent breakfast set you up for the day, the dining room had great views, the guest lounge was really comfortable and had great views, we had a great night’s sleep and our bedroom had a brilliant view – I think there’s a theme emerging here!

Keith is a keen walker himself and at his suggestion we tweaked a couple of the walks we’d planned. His local knowledge made access to difficult areas such as Mallyan Spout a lot easier. We took the option of a packed lunch and were glad we did. Sandwiches, yogurt, choc biscuits, bun, crisps, fruit, water were some of the choices on offer.

It is definitely the best place we have stayed whilst walking, and we heard it’s been mentioned in BA’s inflight magazine, beat that!

There is a sign on the wall as you come through the door that says “You Arrive as Guests and Leave as Friends”, and never a truer word was written.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804PeteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here again at Easter, this being our second year at Fairhaven. From the moment of arrival until we left the service was exceptional. The rooms and indeed all of the hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are first class and the tea and cakes that are offered on arrival back from a day out are yummy. Liz, Keith and Kelly are so friendly that you feel at ease as soon as you arrive. Lovely walks around the area make it an ideal place to escape the rat race of work. This is a place not to be missed. Thankyou again for a lovely stay and we will see you next Easter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

From the start of the weekend, until we left nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Liz, Kelly and Keith. They carry your luggage to the room, home baking on arrival, book tables at local hostelries, any query is answered.
Rooms are furnished to a high standard. Good quality home cooked breakfast, endless tea, coffee toast, any size fry up , nothing was a problem.
The weekend we stayed Liz even provided a taxi service for other guests.
Will be rebooking soon, thats if there is any availiability after you have all booked !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie0465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
727 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,545 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Property: Fairhaven Country Guest House
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing