We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I organised for my parents to have a holiday in Yorkshire for there special birthday I was emailing the guesthouse who went out of there way to answer all my queries and very quick response.they had a fantastic time they felt so welcomed and have recommended it to friends and family to stay there. the breakfast was to a high quality the only negative thing they come across was the size of the shower(unble to turn around) and no soap dish but they felt bad for mentioning that as they had such a wonderful time thankyou so much for making there stay so special xx

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomiberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights 8-10 July. Liz, Kelly and Keith are excellent hosts, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Stayed with friends and had 3 rooms. All, including ensuites were spotless and very comfy. The family can tell you all you need to know about the area, where to go and places to eat. All in all a beautiful, quiet location to stay. A peaceful guest house, which is obviously much loved and cared for by Liz, Kelly and Keith. Highly recommend and hope to return ourselves. Breakfast menu is very wide ranging and varied, quality ingredients, beautifully cooked. Great for vegetarians - everything we ate was delicious!
Excellent pubs for evening meals:
The White Swan Newton on Rawcliffe
The Horseshoe Levisham
Breakfast, lunch or tea at the Sandside Cafe, Sandsend.
and, of course, .....
Fish and chips in Whitby - is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a very relaxing family holiday in this gem of a place recently. Very clean and tidy (and I never say that lightly!) with great rooms and views. What made the stay special was the warm welcome extended to us by the owners. They went out of their way with suggestions for days out, places for coffee etc. They even (unasked) offered to move my brother from his single room to a double room that became free while we were there. Because of this we could forgive the low water pressure in the showers! We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carolt743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed many times in the village, but this was our first visit to the Fairhaven. It will not be our last, we booked again before we left. Liz, Kelly and Keith were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Our room and en-suite were spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The breakfasts were excellent, in particular the specials which changed every day, When we left we both felt we were leaving a friend's home and can't wait to return.
Andy & Viv J

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 255AndyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for two nights and had an excellent stay. Our room was large and comfortable with great views. Breakfast was a real high spot, with a tremendous range of "specials" to pick from and top friendly service. A great base for visiting Whitby and the North Yorks moors.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cm6twl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just booked somewhere for convenience and found an absolute gem of a place. Met on the car park by Keith who helped carry our bags; tea and lovely cakes appeared as soon as we had settled in and what fabulous views. Kelly and Liz are wonderful at keeping you fed and watered and have all the local knowledge and recommendations you could ever need.

I have never stayed anywhere with such friendly welcoming hosts. The best part was they knew when to engage and when not; we were sat in absolute silence reading in the lounge and were suddenly aware of side lights discreetly going on around the room as Kelly worked her magic.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean; our room (room 8) offered a superb view of the moors as did the breakfast room. The king-size bed was so comfortable and the place so silent that two townies had the best sleep they have had in years.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Liz Keith and Kelly....what a team. They know how to make people feel welcome, from the initial greeting to the birthday card for my wife, to the final goodbye. A clean and comfortable room, everything explained nicely. Superb breakfast. I am not normally one to look forward to returning to a place, but I will make an exception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goathland hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eighteen97
Eighteen97
#1 of 10 in Goathland
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
Halmer Grange Guesthouse
#5 of 10 in Goathland
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
348 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £88 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairhaven Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing