We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Ranked #4 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights 29/30 Aug 14, have to say that this is the best guest house we have ever stayed in, a nice touch was fresh coffee and scones/cake on our arrival. Keith was very helpful in helping us out with his knowledge of the local area, great breakfast too thanks to Liz, and great friendly service from Kelly, would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mikey1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having never stayed in Goathland before we had to rely on trip advisor for help in finding somewhere to stay for a couple of nights B&B. We hit bullseye straight away. Fairhaven is by far the most homely, friendly, welcoming, clean. etc etc B&B that we have stayed in. Right from our arriving at the door and Keith's very friendly and welcoming greeting to the moment we left, it was a perfect mini-break for us. The room was spotless, cosy, comfortable, and presented a fabulous view over the Moors. The breakfasts were excellent [you have to try at least one 'special' in your stay], and the table rotation to give you at least 1 breakfast by the window and the lovely view over the moors is a great idea.
If you are visiting the local area and need somewhere to stay this has to be the number one choice. We will certainly be returning sometime in the not-too-distant future, hopefully to share with friends.
Thank you Liz, Kelly, and Keith, what a lovely place you have and what fabulous service you provide. We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: Ours was room 8, top floor, front of house with a lovely view westward over the Moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After trying almost every B & B and hotel in Goathland, we have landed on Fairhaven to be the best in every way! What a service! We stayed 3 nights in mid-August 2014, and loved every minite of it. The hosts went above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to service! The place was perfect in every way. The breakfast was excellent. The room was big and had the perfect view out on the Common (road that goes thru Goathland). The mattrass was perfectly medium firm. Some of the other places to stay in Goathland had mattrasses that were just too hard, but this one was perfect for our sensitive backs.

Room Tip: Nr 2!!! Awesome view out on the road that goes thru Goathland (the Common). The room was nice and bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annbjørg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Fairhaven guest house in Goathland. Liz, Kelly and Keith made us feel very welcome and really at home. We cannot rate this B&B high enough and visit a few times a year. The rooms are so clean and comfy and the living areas are extremely homely and we don't feel out of place curled up on the sofa in front of the fire with a cuppa or a cheeky glass of wine. The breakfast is fantastic, ranging from fruit, yoghurt and cereal to a proper full english. Stayed earlier in the year for one of their "winter warmers" which includes an evening meal and the food then was first class. All in all a proper little gem of a guesthouse where they cannot do enough for you and nothing is too much trouble. Counting down the days till we can visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina241281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay with our grandson. Liz Kelly and Keith always extend the most amazing welcome and show infinite care and patience with all their guests. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, breakfasts are delicious and very varied and the family constantly come up with new thoughtful touches. An amazing place to stay. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights at this fabulous guesthouse. This was our first visit and nothing was too much trouble to our wonderful hosts, Liz, Kelly and Keith. They are very welcoming and the food and service we received was first class. Our bedroom was a good size and very comfortable with a lovely big en suite shower. The breakfasts were superb and food served was varied and plentiful. Good on site parking and excellent village location for the NYMR railway and walking. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this B&B as we were doing the Gallon Walk and thought we'd make a weekend of it. it was the only place left with rooms available as we were booking last minute, we had only planned to stay one night but they had a two night min stay and we're so glad we did stay two nights as this place was great!

The B&B owners and their daughter were all so friendly. We arrived late on the friday night and their daughter was very welcoming when we arrived and explained everything to us. We were blown away when we walked into the room, it really was beautify. It was decorated tastefully, and in modern decor and felt quite luxurious. The room was a really good size, as was the bathroom. the views across the countryside from the window were also great. Really comfy bed too! only downside is wifi was really bad in our room, only goat signal in certain spots of the room, but no big deal!

Breakfast the next morning was delicious! The owners were around and were very friendly . We chatted to the lady owner (sorry can't remember names!) who gave us a great recommendation for lunch and also assisted in booking us a taxi and providing numbers for us. What I was really surprised by was that we asked about the nearest local shop so we could get water for our walk and she said she would put two bottles in the fridge for us so that we could take with us. I thought this was a really nice gesture as we later discovered the shop wasn't far and it's these little things that really make a difference when staying places.

The gathering we went to is an annual thing and we will definitely be booking in for next years event!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.3 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
773 reviews
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eighteen97
Eighteen97
#2 of 10 in Goathland
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
344 reviews
7.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
795 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Country Guest House

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairhaven Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven is a family-run licensed Edwardian Guest House set in the heart of the outstanding natural beauty of the North York Moors National Park. With private car park, extensive gardens, lovely guest rooms and stunning guest lounge, the house is a perfect spot from which to explore the area: from coast to countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairhaven Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Country Guest House Hotel Goathland
Fairhaven Country Guest House Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing