We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendale House Goathland
Ranked #2 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at Glendale House, this is the 2nd time we have visited and have no hesitation in recommending it. Sandra and Keith are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. On arrival we were served tea, coffee and biscuits, the accommodation was beautifully clean with a good choice of breakfast. We were dining on the pullman steam train on Saturday evening and Keith very kindly took us and another couple to Grosmont station and said if we asked we would be able to get off at Goathland on the way back and walk up to the B&B which was perfect. Thanks Sandra and Keith for another memorable stay, we'll be back.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 1 with beautiful views over the common. The wake up call was a sheep bleatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here with my partner for one night, stayed in room 3, slightly small but a lovely room overlooking the common. Sandra & Keith were excellent hosts and went out of their way to make our stay very warm & welcoming. Will be returning again soon. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights recently. We were welcomed with tea and home made cake. Accomodation was very clean and we had a room overlooking the common.
Breakfast was excellent served in the conservatory.
Sandra and Keith were good friendly hosts and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night for our ruby wedding anniversary curtosy of our children.
We were booked on the murder mystery train for the evening and Keith kindly offered to transport us to the station.Keith and Sandra are wonderful hosts, friendly and nothing any trouble. The house from top to bottom is first class as is the breakfast. Thank you both for your hospitality we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorntons2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay over Easter as part of our anniversary treat and what a wonderful treat it was. Sandra & Keith were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived, almost as though we had met before. The property is tastefully decorated and quite interesting with its historical past and more recent past ie " Heartbeat". Our room was well furnished ,spotlessly clean with a wonderful fresh smell. The view across the moors was beautiful, a fine setting to sit and admire with a good glass of red wine. Location is excellent, we had a lovely walk across the moors to stave off some of the calories absorbed by keiths quality breakfast "marvellous fried eggs by the way".I have no doubt that we shall return to Goathland one day and it`s nice to know that when looking for somewhere to stay we need look no further.Many thanks Sandra & keith.

Room Tip: Check the area surrounding the building to get the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A very warm welcome from Sandra and Keith at Glendale House. We stayed 2 nights over Easter, and although we have visited Goathland many times over the years, this is the best accommodation we have experienced. We stayed in room 1, which was very comfortable. The full English breakfast is excellent! This was our first stay at Glendale, but it's won't be our last - we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a double and a single bed - ideal if either has problems sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Yet another return to Goathland, which isn't complete unless you stay at Glendale House. Everything as usual is catered to your needs, the hosts are very friendly people with a great sense of humour - in fact, it is not like staying in a B&B, it's more like staying with family. Breakfast is always perfect, the rooms are spotless and fresh. There is absolutely nothing I can fault at Glendale House. A first rate B&B and the only place we shall ever stay at in Goathland. Returning for another stay in September (we shall be counting the days!)
Thank you once again, Sandra & Keith for making our stay perfect :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goathland hotels
0.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eighteen97
Eighteen97
#1 of 10 in Goathland
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
346 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glendale House Goathland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale House Goathland

Address: Glendale House Glendale House The Common | North Yorkshire, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendale House is a large Victorian house, offering luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in Goathland. Situated in the centre of the village with stunning views from all rooms, the house has been extended and refurbished. All our rooms are en-suite, and we have a comfortable guest lounge with open fire, leading to our conservatory dining room over-looking the garden and pond. You can choose a full English or Continental breakfast, with fruit, cereal, and home made yoghurt. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale House Goathland Hotel Goathland
Glendale House Goathland North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing