We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goathland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glendale House Goathland
Ranked #3 of 10 Goathland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed staying at Glendale House. Keith & Sandra are experts at making their guests feel welcome. After our second stay we highly recommend this great B & B.
Our room WAS small but the fact the bed was high we were able to put our bags under it.... All sorted.
The bathroom was spotlessly clean and great shower.
Our bed and pillows were luxurious.
All in all a great stay. We had a good look around the town, don't miss the railway station where Harry Potter was filmed.

Room Tip: Great breakfast.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillHep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Glendale House Goathland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hospitality excellent,host excellent,food excellent,but our room,(room 2)although spotlessly clean
we found to be very small,with little room to move around for the price we paid.Planning to go back
twice next year,avoiding room 2.All that said,an excellent B & B.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2,or at the very least,ask for a small reduction.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Absolutely delightful stay at Glendale House in beautiful Goathland. Village setting with open moors beyond, and all from the bedroom window! Stayed for 4 nights and wish it could have been longer! Breakfast was consistently good, bedroom was spotless and boasted a well-appointed bathroom. Excellent hosts made you feel at home from the outset; nothing was too much trouble. Cannot fault this well-run establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheBroadsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to stay at. Very welcoming hosts. Delicious cooked breakfast. Goathland is busy with tourists early in the day but by mid afternoon we had the village all to ourselves. Three places to choose from for good meals. Beautiful countryside all around with great walks. Sandra lent us a book with walking trails. Would definitely recommend Glendale House. Thanks Sandra & Keith.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We received a warm welcome from Sandra on arrival, with tea, coffee and biscuits in the pretty garden. A relaxing stay, would have preferred a more spacious room and bathroom, but this didn't detract too much from our 2 night stay. The house itself is lovely with comfortable lounge, sunny conservatory where breakfast is served, and the cared for garden including a pond with its lovely little waterfall. Good cooked breakfast, especially the eggs which were done to perfection.
Location was great for our first visit to the North York moors, great walking around Goathland, with well marked footpaths, varied terrain and fantastic views.

Room Tip: Our room, 6, was a little on the cramped side due to extra single bed and tiny bathroom. This room o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chrissiegcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked two nights at this B&B but loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Sandra and Keith are excellent hosts who make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The bedroom and ensuite were spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choice and served in the conservatory looking onto the beautiful garden. In fact everything was 100% and we certainly recommend if you are thinking of visiting this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Found this B&B using Tripadvisor. The house is situated close to the village centre but around the corner from the vast numbers of day trippers and coach parties that visit the Heartbeat main attractions, hence a quieter vista. Arrived early evening to be met by Sandra and Keith who are wonderful hosts who make sure your stay is of the best quality. The room we stayed in was room 4 which was a large room with a cosy bed and a generous ensuite. Breakfast was served in the conservatory which was well furnished and the breakfast was first class. We will certainly stay here again if we venture back to the moor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
0.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
743 reviews
6.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Goathland Hotel
The Goathland Hotel
#10 of 10 in Goathland
336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale House Goathland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale House Goathland

Address: Glendale House Glendale House The Common | North Yorkshire, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Goathland
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendale House is a large Victorian house, offering luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in Goathland. Situated in the centre of the village with stunning views from all rooms, the house has been extended and refurbished. All our rooms are en-suite, and we have a comfortable guest lounge with open fire, leading to our conservatory dining room over-looking the garden and pond. You can choose a full English or Continental breakfast, with fruit, cereal, and home made yoghurt. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale House Goathland Hotel Goathland
Glendale House Goathland North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing