We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Every Time...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Every Time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We are regular visitors to this wondeful hotel, staying on average six or seven times every year.
We cannot fault anything, the service food, cleanliness, location are all first class. We have been unable to visit this half-term because of other commitments but cannot wait to return for my birthday in August. (We mark every special occasion by staying here). A big thankyou must go to all the staff, especially Jason, Amanda, Kathryn & of course Colin!!) You will not be disappointed by spending some quality time at this very special place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    104
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
86
486
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights and upgraded to a Junior Suite (well worth the bit extra). Receptionist was first class. Indeed, all the staff were very good and really seemed to want to help. Great views from rooms at the back of the hotel eg windows to side and front overlooked the garden and the valley beyond. Room was spotlessly clean, very large, including the bathroom with bath and separate shower. We ate at the hotel both nights - very acceptable and not overpriced. Good spot if you want peace and quiet but close enough to nearby attractions. We had an excellent time.

Room Tip: First visit the hotel's website and view the rooms. The hotel when booking will answer any que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. This this more 5 star quality due to the room quality and the helpfulness of the staff. We're booked again to stay in July due to it being so nice! We don't often visit a place and stay at the same hotel, but it shows how good it is for us to o back. Thank you for being a hidden treasure!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our third visit to the Mallyan Spout Hotel. This time we were celebrating a special birthday so we spoilt ourselves with a suite - the Church View room. What a gorgeous room, overlooking both the church and the hotel gardens. The room was spacious and very comfortable with a sizeable ensuite and excellent plumbing (no waiting for hours to run a bath!). As usual the hotel was spotless, the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and the food was its usual excellent standard. It should be noted that this hotel is extremely well located to take the dinner train on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. The dinner train leaves from Grosmont and is only a 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel. Thank you Jason for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was my second visit with family to the Mallyan Spout hotel and I have to say everthing was perfect;! The location is stunning being on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors and with breath taking views to the rear over the Esk Valley. The food was excellent and accounts for the extra inches on my waistline!! My room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a superb quality bathroom but most of all, the staff are fantastic, a warm genuine welcome and nothing is too much trouble. In particular we would like to thank Joe (and Jason) for seeing that our cutlery was set for left handed. I have never had this attention to detail in any hotel I have ever stayed at and although it is only a small thing, it means a lot to my sister and I who are so used to changing the cutlery around as soon as we sit down!
Definately the best hotel in the country and we have already booked to return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were looking for a short break and booked a 2 night stay here, based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were greeted warmly when we arrived, and the lady on reception (I'm sorry I didn't catch her name) was professional and friendly, showing us up the many flights of stairs to our room on the second floor. We were given room 15 - it is very small, but nicely done, and absolutely spotlessly clean.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first night. You can tell this is a good old Yorkshire hotel by the size of the portions - absolutely massive. The food was great, and so was the service. Breakfast was equally impressive, with a good choice of hot food on the menu, including the full Yorkshire breakfast - this the only hotel I've known that actually serves proper fried (sauteed?) potatoes with a breakfast, none of this American hash brown nonsense! Lovely. A bar meal on our second evening was similarly huge, and very tasty. It's not the cheapest bar meal I've ever had, but for taste and quantity it beats the lot! Bang goes the diet!

I have only two small niggles - first, the shower. It is the type which works from the bathtaps, and it was impossible to maintain a comfortable temperature - I very nearly scalded myself when the temperature of the water suddenly increased to maximum heat. I'd just manage to get it adjusted when it would then suddenly shower me with freezing cold water! Perhaps I should have had a bath instead. Incidently, the bathroom was super. The second point is the temperature in the restaurant - far too hot to be comfortable when dining. Other than this, I can't fault this hotel at all.

The Mallyan Spout hotel has a lovely "feel" to it - the whole place has a really nice, comfortable atmosphere. There are some cosy lounges where you can relax and unwind, and two bars. All the staff are genuinely friendly, polite and helpful - a real credit to the hotel.

We will definitely stay again, without a doubt.

Room Tip: Room 15 is very small, although it does have everything you might need for your stay. The room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

just returned from a two night stay in North Yorkshire. One night in Whitby - which has somewhat lost its Magic - then onto the Mallyan Spout which i had simply Googled. What a find. We were welcomend by a lovely lady who upgraded us to a Suite which completely made our stay. Went walking down the Spout and beyond until it got too muddy - but was lovely. Turned back and walked to the pub at Beck Hole - a hard climb but so worth it - sat in the sun enjoying a cold beer. Walked up along the old railway to the top at Goathland a long incline - but keep the pace and you will be fine. At the top we enjoyed all the memories of Heartbeat and called for a drink at the Goathland Hotel - what a mistake!!!! i ordered a glass of wine and have never felt so patronised in my life. The bar tender was unfriendly and unhelpful. We paid £8 for a bad beer and wine. Just think bad Spanish Sherry and it covers both drinks. I wanted a Pinot Grigio but was told they didnt have that and was given a lesson in wine - i explained what i liked but still got 'bad sherry'. They didnt have Pinot Grigio. but when a party came in after us and asked for Pinot Grigio they were miraculously presented with a glass of Pinot. From the look on the lady's face - she too was served the same bad Spanish 'Sherry'. We left choosing not to drink the drinks or question it and just enjoy the memories of Heartbeat. We walked back to our hotel The Mallyan Spout which was like a Oasis in the Desert. What a beautiful place. We ordered sandwiches which were fabulous and drinks which were just what we wanted - no patrinisation whatsoever. Had a lovely evening in our Suite and prepared for dinner. Only downside was hubbys Steak which wasnt the best we have had but the rest was wonderful. The bed was one of the best we have ever slept in - and the views from our room were 'to die for'. Breakfast was lovely and we will certainly be back to the Mallyan Spout Hotel.

Room Tip: Cant go wrong - all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing