We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here in February for last three years and thoroughly enjoy our visits. The staff are superb and have great personality and the owners work hard to make you feel most welcome. This is not a hotel that does overstated luxury but has something you cannot buy - the right attitude and they know how to look after their guests and make them feel comfortable. Service is excellent. Breakfasts are superb and the bar offers great food at reasonable prices. One minor grumble is that portions are a bit large which discourages you from having a dessert. We've booked again for next year and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The location is great for walking and or the NYMR. We wish the team here every success.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    104
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
86
486
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Just returned from another MAGNIFICENT stay, absolutley faultless. The staff also are terrific , I'd put a fault down if I could find one, but in all honestly I can't. The place is so relaxing , the log fires , the real ales, the Hearty food has finesse ,the location , everything is top notch, I can't find anything to come a close second in North Yorkshire . The owners have given this place the magic touch, and I am so looking forward to returning shortly. If you stop here, trust me , you won't want o stop anywhere else in the area, my personal thanks go to the friendliest owners & kindest staff I have ever had the pleasure in meeting.

Kindest Regard
Dave & Fiona

Room Tip: The suites are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Just come back from the Mallyan Spout. We really enjoyed our visit. The location is superb. What could be better at this time of year than to be in the middle of the North Yorkshire Moors staying in a very comfortable hotel which serves excellent food and drinks. The dinner menu was varied and interesting, plenty of fresh fish and some well presented meats.
I have no doubt that we will visit the Mallyan Spout again in the fairly near future. Thanks to the staff, they were great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timefit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

This has got to be one of the best hotel experiences we have enjoyed in the many years we have travelled.

Located at Goathland in the North Yorkshire Moors (filming location for the TV series 'Heartbeat' for the fictitious village of Aidensfield), this was an excellent place to base for exploring the Moors and the adjacent East coast of the UK.

Without exception, all the staff were friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful.

The accommodation is very well appointed, clean and maintained, as is all the public areas. On the ground floor, there are three sitting rooms with comfortable lounge chairs where you can just sit and talk or enjoy a few drinks ordered from the adjacent bar. There are 2 bar areas, both of which are cosy and welcoming. Service was friendly, quick and efficient.

The 'bar food' menu was extensive and great value; food presentation and quality was excellent with good portions. This was the same in the main dining room where, once again, the service was efficient and friendly.

As usual in our travels we ran out of time to see all the sights in the area, but when we come back, we'll be staying at The Mallyan Spout.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GS_new_horizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just returned from a lovely short break, in which we were snowed in, with the main road closed. The hotel was excellent, the owner's gave us a warm welcome, and nothing was too much trouble, the room was a junior suite with fantastic snowy views over the hills, the hotel was really warm and comfortable, despite the cold, lovely log fires, food in the bar and restaurant was excellent, and the staff are happy to make you anything from the menu you want. All in all a wonderful place to stay, we have booked again, and look forward to staying later this year, but hopefully without the snow romantic as it was....

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite....well worth the cost, room 21 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyClan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed in room 11 for the second time wouldn't stay anywhere else in Whitby, would find it hard to find a better hotel than this in the area.

Very clean, excellent friendly staff couldn't do enough to help. Even down to ringing us to keep us informed of the snow situation to ensure we arrived safely.
.
Excellent food, real ales, log fires, comfy rooms, and fantastic location all make it an idyllic break. Looking forward to coming again.

Dave & Fiona - South Yorks

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent as are the staff and public rooms. Web site shows all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FDBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just back from a snowy stay at the malyan, it was magical. The hotel staff and owners as ever had a warm welcome waiting for us all. Log fires, excellent meals and good wine always a good combination. We had to cut short our stay due to the snow sadly but did not disappoint, excellent well done to the hotel team 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing