We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'golden' experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A 'golden' experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We are regular visitors to this wonderful place, and cannot praise it enough. We have stayed very many times in the hotel, always to celebrate speavial occasions and sometimes just to 'chill out' for a few days. Due to other commitments we were unable to stay for a few days to celebrate my 50th Birthday, but we could not do anything other than make the almost 200 mile round trip to have dinner to celebrate this occasion yesterday. We were warmly welcomed as usual, and the food and service were of the usual excellent standard. a particular thankyou to Kathryn, Kyle, Joe, and everyone else who made such a special occasion just what we wanted.
Looking forward to returning to stay for a few days in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    105
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
88
490
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peebles Scotland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a two night break here last weekend.What a fab place to stay staff very friendly and appropriately attentive.We were in room 11 which was a junior suite which had lovely views over the surrounding countryside and had everything that one would need for a comfortable stay.We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the food was very good well presented and well prepared as were the breakfasts.Outside areas of hotel ie garden is lovely and a great place to take advantage of the recent good weather.All in all this is a fab hotel that appears to value very good standards of food service and surroundings coupled with a nice relaxed ambiance that makes it a wonderfully relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Was taken here as a surprise weekend away, absolutely lovely, ideal romantic getaway...quiet and peaceful, very accommodating staff, dining was excellent. Believe this is a privately run hotel, and it was so refreshing to get away from the corporate feel of the large chain type hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Had a meal here for my partners birthday and the food and service were excellent. Service for drinks was a little slow which resulted in a trip to the bar but when recognised as a diner was asked to sit down and our drinks were brought over.
The only downside was the price of two French coffees £12!! The restaurant had at the time three tables occupied.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The room was large with a lovely bathroom and nice views from the window. The restaurant served lovely food and we ate here both nights we stayed. There are some nice places to go walking near the hotel and it's very close to Whitby. We got it on a late deal and I would have not payed the asking price of £120 per night as I don't think the room was that spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIBBYLIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a walking weekend, wasn't disappointed, room was quiet and clean, although a little small, which did fit with the old style of the house. The staff were excellent and all looked as if they enjoyed what they were doing, really pleasing to see. We ate in the restaurant at night and was pleasantly surprised, couldn't fault the food or service. The bar area was large and had plenty of room to sit and relax with coffee or drinks. This hotel does not advertise itself as a 5 star and don't expect gyms or swimming pools, however you do get 5 star service, views and treatment. We will definitely be back when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavsueWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have just returned from one night's stay at The Mallyan Spout Hotel - it was truly a wonderful experience.
All the staff were very friendly, the place was spotlessly clean and the room we had was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We ate in the Bar and the food was very tasty and being a vegetarian I had a plenty of choice. The breakfast was delicious and again the vegetarian options was very good - there was even a full veggie cooked breakfast.
My only regret is that we only stayed for one night!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,155 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing