We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a fantastic stay in this beautiful building, first class service with first class value.I would recommend this hotel to everyone.This hotel is situated in the village used for filming Heartbeat and all that you see on the programe is actually there

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
94
505
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a birthday,really nice hotel great staff everything just easily done,we had done a good bit of walking and just wanted somewhere to relax perfect place, the food at the bar was just what you wanted and then to relax around the hotel and off to a cozy clean room........
Next mornings breakfast lovely enjoyed the stay 100% and thanks

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Beautiful olde world e hotel. Bright and clean and welcoming. Food brilliant and the staff were helpful and cheerful.
The only down side was our room was above restaurant and was very noisy til the early hours. When guests had left, the staff setting up the dining room for the following day, were very loud. Did not sleep very well but only down to the noise.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then ask for a room not above the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an over night stay at the Mallyan Spout Hotel and had a lovely relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived till we left refreshed the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay just the break we needed. Great location. We had room 3 overlooking the church ( well worth a visit), heating we could control, good tea, coffee tray with the option of fresh milk only a call away, lovely fluffy towels, large flat screen tv, good local information provided in the room. Very cosy reception areas big sofas and log fires. Helpful staff, bar drinks very reasonable priced.

Food provided by either bar meals or restaurant, or as we choose room service, staff brought everything up to our room and couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely hot food very tasty and filling. Great price. We didn't fancy getting dress to go down stairs. (And football was on the tv!!!).

Lovely powerful shower. Only down side of room, mattress was on the soft side for our taste and the hair dryer though power full was a typical "hotel" type -please invest in some good ones.

Breakfast
Excellent, I love fresh fruit and couldn't fault the selection, everything you could hope for and more. Full English made with local produce, choice of local kippers if wanted, bags of toast and local jams. Staff very tentative but not in your face.
We will be returning again, excellent base for the moors and the coast, and if your lucky enough to get a cloudless sky. A fantastic view of the stars, no light pollution here.
Nice touch was the old hotel registers kept on the landings, well worth a look through.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgeousGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Annual walking holiday in the NT Moors with friends and once again stayed at the Mallyan Spout - the whole visit from start to finish was one of excellent efficiency from everyone working at the hotel - breakfasts great quality with super service, ate every night in the bar and once again food quality, portion size, service and price all very good. One minor suggestion is do smaller chipped potatoes and less of them - they are good but too many in one serving. Suffice to say we've booked again for 2015 !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTFC60GrimsbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit staying at the Mallyan between 19-21st Feb. This was a late booking, only ringing up on the morning of our check in. However, we were greeted by a friendly welcome at reception and an added bonus of an upgrade ! What a fantastic room it was, great views over the valley at the back of the hotel, large washroom with a shower and bath and a spacious suite with chairs/sofa.
We dined in the bar on our first evening choosing a locally sourced burger and steak pie. Both were extremely tasty and generous portions. The second evening we ate in the restaurant taking the lamb and duck, followed by a cheese board. Once again both meals were excellent served by friendy and knowledgeable staff. We then finished our wine in one of the lovely relaxing lounge areas, where there are a number of comfy sofas.
The breakfasts were extremely well catered for, with a good selection of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a full English/selection of fish. In summary we had a fantastic stay, with friendy and attentive staff in a most relaxing environment. Looking forward to a return visit !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobEllerkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel last week (for the very first time) but, rest assured, it won’t be the last – if we have anything to do with it! We stayed in a ‘Standard’ room – the description of which belies the actual meaning of the word (“average”) …. as it was far better. The room & ensuite were spotlessly clean – as were all public areas.

Every member of staff we met was friendly and efficient. One young lady offered to take our damp walking jackets to a boiler room, which was a very considerate gesture! It meant a lot.

There are plenty of chairs for relaxing in, within the three lounge areas at the front of the Hotel – what better than to sit in front of the log burner (middle lounge) on a cold, wintery day … with the wind being kept at bay by the secondary glazing at the leaded/mullioned windows? The grounds are lovely and must be great to sit in during better weather.

The breakfasts were really good, with high quality ingredients … check out the website’s sample menu to get an idea of the selection of items on offer. I have reviewed our evening bar meals under ‘Mallyan Spout Hotel Restaurant’.

The Hotel has recently installed three environmentally friendly bio-mass boilers – these completely run all the hotel’s hot water and heating. It is a brave, bold move which should be commended. Certainly, the warmth around the Hotel and plentiful hot water are testament to it all working very efficiently!

All in all, we were very impressed and impatiently look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,208 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing