We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gets better & better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“gets better & better”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

it was my wifes birthday & the staff were lovely & the food was excellent a big thank you to stuart ,nicola,luke, mark, amanada,kathryn,jan,& chrissy they could have been nicer & congratulations to the chiefs for there excellent food cant wait until we go up there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 10 which overlooks the garden on the side of the hotel, The front of the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc_greenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
94
505
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mallyan Spout Hotel in April to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything was lovely. The choice at breakfast was excellent. Our room had a lovely view and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the bar each night and again the food was well cooked and the portions were large! All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, polite and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyjanny2crho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only stayed for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday a few days earlier. We received a warm welcome on our arrival. This time we had a junior suite which had lovely views over the garden. Dinner was up to the usual excellent standard. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, my husband had the full English and I had the smoked haddock with a poached egg. No one rushes you our of the dining room. You don't feel you have to have a drink in front of you in the lounge. It is a wonderful place to just relax and people watch. We use it as a base for a gentle walk around the area before we visit Whitby.
We will be there again if only for lunch.

Room Tip: We had a room booked from the internet the first time which was very nice but ver small. we always r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a fab stay with my boyfriend at this Hotel. Beautiful room and excellent food. Staff a real asset to the hotel. Privately owned and family run, it is a pleasure nowadays to go to a Hotel where everything is perfect and nothing any trouble,
We love this Hotel and will make it our new little place to retreat too when we need a break from everyday life with its stress and strains.
Thanks to Stuart, Kay & Nicky for making such a lovely nice relaxing bolt hole.
We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 23 - Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looby1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the 6th time we have stayed at the Mallyan Spout, and as on previous visits we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.The standard of the rooms are very good and reasonably priced. We had our meals in the bar and on our last night in the restaurant the quality of the ample dishes were second to none.We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouith
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I, along with friends, have now stayed at the Mallyan 3 times and it gets better each time. We had previously called in for a bar meal on several occasions, however we decided to go for a "winter warmer" break in December 2012. We went back again in December 2013. On both occasions the decorations were tastefully done creating a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant food was excellent and the staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and they were really friendly people. So much so four of us returned in April 2014 to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. Again, the attentive staff made it a visit to be remembered. We will be returning at Christmas and are looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at The Mallyan Spout a number of times over the years. Always perfect. This time in order to celebrate a birthday, we took our children & grandchildren with us. What a special weekend. Their help in planning surprises was much appreciated & nothing was too much trouble. Every one of us felt that the welcome by staff was tremendous. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing