We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
CAMBRIDGE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had fab stay at this hotel, we were due to stay in Whitby but this place was recommended to us.
So glad we stayed here. Great room, staff can't do enough for you, food was fantastic and good value. very peaceful location, great for walking and site seeing in the village made famous buy Heartbeat tv programme. Please don't hesitate to stay here !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITCHIE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
509
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Evesham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a previous visitor to the hotel where I had a great time, I was worried that this time it would be a disappointment but none of it; it was even better. The welcome was first class as was the organisation of the room. Firstly we stayed in a superior room, excellent size, superb bed and surprisingly a small balcony overlooking the manicured gardens. Moved on the second night to a massive suite which had a super new bathroom, large sitting room and a 4 poster. The only disappointment was no balcony as available in the cheaper room and the bed not quite as good?Certainly the superior room offers great value (room 12). Dinner was another good experience with freshly prepared food including the vegetables, unlike many hotels who buy pre-prepared veg from national food service providers which are at end of life. Service first class with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast too was probably one of the best I have experienced with freshly prepared quality fruit (unlike many hotels who buy cheap prepared), quality jams and preserves as well as a myriad of cooked offerings all of which are superb.
A magic stay for a birthday celebration, atmosphere excellent and with snugs for guests.
The only improvement I could think of would be to have a Jacuzzi built to take the aches and pains away after a day's walking or chasing steam trains on the NYMR.
Simply one of the best small hotels in the country.
I have already booked for the Murder Mystery event in November which should at that time provide even more atmosphere.
If you are near the Moors then this MUST be the place to stay!

Room Tip: Superior room 11 great value and facilities although the suites do have 4 posters and a brilliant la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volklf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from a second stay at Mallyan Spout Hotel and it was as good as our first. In February, we were treated to snow and the glow of a roaring fire - this week, it was sunshine and enjoyable sits in the Hotel's grounds. View from the room could be quite entertaining ... when the lambs were jumping about the boulders in front of the Hotel :-)

The service remained tip-top and it was great to stay again .... every member of staff we came into contact with had a great attitude and it came across as one 'big-family' team. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Great evening meals and breakfasts.

If we don't make it back to stay, it's only because we are thinking of getting ourselves another dog but we will still call in for sustenance, can't we!?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Called for a drink with our little pregnant chiauhua and ended up having six puppies in the garden, Thank you to all the staff who were most considerate and helpful, also other guests. We will return with our babies after all your help and cannot speak more highly of your hotel. Thanks again!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiauhuax6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

it was my wifes birthday & the staff were lovely & the food was excellent a big thank you to stuart ,nicola,luke, mark, amanada,kathryn,jan,& chrissy they could have been nicer & congratulations to the chiefs for there excellent food cant wait until we go up there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 10 which overlooks the garden on the side of the hotel, The front of the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc_greenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mallyan Spout Hotel in April to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything was lovely. The choice at breakfast was excellent. Our room had a lovely view and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the bar each night and again the food was well cooked and the portions were large! All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, polite and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyjanny2crho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only stayed for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday a few days earlier. We received a warm welcome on our arrival. This time we had a junior suite which had lovely views over the garden. Dinner was up to the usual excellent standard. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, my husband had the full English and I had the smoked haddock with a poached egg. No one rushes you our of the dining room. You don't feel you have to have a drink in front of you in the lounge. It is a wonderful place to just relax and people watch. We use it as a base for a gentle walk around the area before we visit Whitby.
We will be there again if only for lunch.

Room Tip: We had a room booked from the internet the first time which was very nice but ver small. we always r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing