We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already booked to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Already booked to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We knew next to nothing about the Mallyan Spout when we booked the room and expected a room above a pub, how wrong we were. We were given a room overlooking the church which was super. Very clean, furnishings contemporary and a nice contrast to the venerable building, if we have any criticism, it was too hot for us country folk used to a draughty stone cottage.
Food was another lovely surprise, no micro meals here!
Staff very courteous and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    104
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
86
486
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago, having previously stayed a year ago. On both occasions, we found the hotel to be excellent in all respects. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the public areas are cosy and welcoming with comfortable seating. Our room was well appointed, with a good quality TV and facilities for making drinks — these were more comprehensive than most hotels we have stayed in, including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, an assortment of biscuits and bottle of water. Everything was replenished daily. Standards of housekeeping are good; both bedroom and bathroom were kept clean and more towels were provided than we could use. We have sampled the food in both the restaurant and the bar and would recommend it to anyone for quality and value. The breakfasts are excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, etc. and hot food cooked to order. Once the "Heartbeat" day-trippers have departed, Goathland is a peaceful place. The only sounds you are likely to hear in the hotel at night are the occasional bleating of sheep and the gentle chiming of the church clock. A good night's sleep is guaranteed. The bedrooms are on two floors and there is no lift (I understand that this is because the building is listed), so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, request a room on the first floor when booking; we did so and the receptionist was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went for another few days and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is our favourite part of the country and our favourite hotel. The staff are excellent and the surroundings of the North Yorkshire Moors, Whitby and Robins Hood Bay are brill. We love coming here, maybe you will too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlashG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just visited the Mallyan Spout Hotel for a short break, and had a amazing stay, could not fault the staff or the hotel. The food was amazing for both dinner and breakfast, and the staff are very friendly and always have a smile on there faces. The only down fall was having to leave the hotel to go home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBRIDGE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had fab stay at this hotel, we were due to stay in Whitby but this place was recommended to us.
So glad we stayed here. Great room, staff can't do enough for you, food was fantastic and good value. very peaceful location, great for walking and site seeing in the village made famous buy Heartbeat tv programme. Please don't hesitate to stay here !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RITCHIE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a previous visitor to the hotel where I had a great time, I was worried that this time it would be a disappointment but none of it; it was even better. The welcome was first class as was the organisation of the room. Firstly we stayed in a superior room, excellent size, superb bed and surprisingly a small balcony overlooking the manicured gardens. Moved on the second night to a massive suite which had a super new bathroom, large sitting room and a 4 poster. The only disappointment was no balcony as available in the cheaper room and the bed not quite as good?Certainly the superior room offers great value (room 12). Dinner was another good experience with freshly prepared food including the vegetables, unlike many hotels who buy pre-prepared veg from national food service providers which are at end of life. Service first class with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast too was probably one of the best I have experienced with freshly prepared quality fruit (unlike many hotels who buy cheap prepared), quality jams and preserves as well as a myriad of cooked offerings all of which are superb.
A magic stay for a birthday celebration, atmosphere excellent and with snugs for guests.
The only improvement I could think of would be to have a Jacuzzi built to take the aches and pains away after a day's walking or chasing steam trains on the NYMR.
Simply one of the best small hotels in the country.
I have already booked for the Murder Mystery event in November which should at that time provide even more atmosphere.
If you are near the Moors then this MUST be the place to stay!

Room Tip: Superior room 11 great value and facilities although the suites do have 4 posters and a brilliant la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volklf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
318 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from a second stay at Mallyan Spout Hotel and it was as good as our first. In February, we were treated to snow and the glow of a roaring fire - this week, it was sunshine and enjoyable sits in the Hotel's grounds. View from the room could be quite entertaining ... when the lambs were jumping about the boulders in front of the Hotel :-)

The service remained tip-top and it was great to stay again .... every member of staff we came into contact with had a great attitude and it came across as one 'big-family' team. Everywhere was clean and tidy. Great evening meals and breakfasts.

If we don't make it back to stay, it's only because we are thinking of getting ourselves another dog but we will still call in for sustenance, can't we!?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
10.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing