We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friends recommended the hotel. Wow! We paid a little more and had room 23 which must have some of the best views ever. A huge suite tastefully decorated, my husband got lost finding his way back to the sofa from the bathroom! Food excellent and staff very helpful. We return in October for a longer stay. Not cheap but we'll worth it.

Room Tip: Room 23 is the most expensive but has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeacherEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We knew next to nothing about the Mallyan Spout when we booked the room and expected a room above a pub, how wrong we were. We were given a room overlooking the church which was super. Very clean, furnishings contemporary and a nice contrast to the venerable building, if we have any criticism, it was too hot for us country folk used to a draughty stone cottage.
Food was another lovely surprise, no micro meals here!
Staff very courteous and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago, having previously stayed a year ago. On both occasions, we found the hotel to be excellent in all respects. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the public areas are cosy and welcoming with comfortable seating. Our room was well appointed, with a good quality TV and facilities for making drinks — these were more comprehensive than most hotels we have stayed in, including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, an assortment of biscuits and bottle of water. Everything was replenished daily. Standards of housekeeping are good; both bedroom and bathroom were kept clean and more towels were provided than we could use. We have sampled the food in both the restaurant and the bar and would recommend it to anyone for quality and value. The breakfasts are excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, etc. and hot food cooked to order. Once the "Heartbeat" day-trippers have departed, Goathland is a peaceful place. The only sounds you are likely to hear in the hotel at night are the occasional bleating of sheep and the gentle chiming of the church clock. A good night's sleep is guaranteed. The bedrooms are on two floors and there is no lift (I understand that this is because the building is listed), so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, request a room on the first floor when booking; we did so and the receptionist was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went for another few days and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is our favourite part of the country and our favourite hotel. The staff are excellent and the surroundings of the North Yorkshire Moors, Whitby and Robins Hood Bay are brill. We love coming here, maybe you will too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlashG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just visited the Mallyan Spout Hotel for a short break, and had a amazing stay, could not fault the staff or the hotel. The food was amazing for both dinner and breakfast, and the staff are very friendly and always have a smile on there faces. The only down fall was having to leave the hotel to go home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had fab stay at this hotel, we were due to stay in Whitby but this place was recommended to us.
So glad we stayed here. Great room, staff can't do enough for you, food was fantastic and good value. very peaceful location, great for walking and site seeing in the village made famous buy Heartbeat tv programme. Please don't hesitate to stay here !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RITCHIE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a previous visitor to the hotel where I had a great time, I was worried that this time it would be a disappointment but none of it; it was even better. The welcome was first class as was the organisation of the room. Firstly we stayed in a superior room, excellent size, superb bed and surprisingly a small balcony overlooking the manicured gardens. Moved on the second night to a massive suite which had a super new bathroom, large sitting room and a 4 poster. The only disappointment was no balcony as available in the cheaper room and the bed not quite as good?Certainly the superior room offers great value (room 12). Dinner was another good experience with freshly prepared food including the vegetables, unlike many hotels who buy pre-prepared veg from national food service providers which are at end of life. Service first class with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast too was probably one of the best I have experienced with freshly prepared quality fruit (unlike many hotels who buy cheap prepared), quality jams and preserves as well as a myriad of cooked offerings all of which are superb.
A magic stay for a birthday celebration, atmosphere excellent and with snugs for guests.
The only improvement I could think of would be to have a Jacuzzi built to take the aches and pains away after a day's walking or chasing steam trains on the NYMR.
Simply one of the best small hotels in the country.
I have already booked for the Murder Mystery event in November which should at that time provide even more atmosphere.
If you are near the Moors then this MUST be the place to stay!

Room Tip: Superior room 11 great value and facilities although the suites do have 4 posters and a brilliant la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volklf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,264 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range: £86 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing