We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed Getaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked this only 2 days before and was pleasantly surprised by the room which the last one available so I was not expecting much. However, although on the small size and a standard double, it was very clean with comfortable bed and lovely view over the garden. We opted to eat in the dining room where we found the food to be good although service slow. Other people who were regulars commented that the food quality was not quite as good as normal. Perhaps this was because it was a Sunday evening? I ordered scallops and followed by duck which were both fine, my husband ordered Yorkshire steak which was beautiful. Anyway we enjoyed the relaxed feel of the place, beautiful surroundings, drinks in the garden and reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123oliveoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    113
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
508
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were recommend this hotel for food by some locals and we're glad we took their advise. The bar man was very friendly as were the other staff and the food was great. We would definitely go back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friends recommended the hotel. Wow! We paid a little more and had room 23 which must have some of the best views ever. A huge suite tastefully decorated, my husband got lost finding his way back to the sofa from the bathroom! Food excellent and staff very helpful. We return in October for a longer stay. Not cheap but we'll worth it.

Room Tip: Room 23 is the most expensive but has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeacherEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We knew next to nothing about the Mallyan Spout when we booked the room and expected a room above a pub, how wrong we were. We were given a room overlooking the church which was super. Very clean, furnishings contemporary and a nice contrast to the venerable building, if we have any criticism, it was too hot for us country folk used to a draughty stone cottage.
Food was another lovely surprise, no micro meals here!
Staff very courteous and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago, having previously stayed a year ago. On both occasions, we found the hotel to be excellent in all respects. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the public areas are cosy and welcoming with comfortable seating. Our room was well appointed, with a good quality TV and facilities for making drinks — these were more comprehensive than most hotels we have stayed in, including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, an assortment of biscuits and bottle of water. Everything was replenished daily. Standards of housekeeping are good; both bedroom and bathroom were kept clean and more towels were provided than we could use. We have sampled the food in both the restaurant and the bar and would recommend it to anyone for quality and value. The breakfasts are excellent, with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, etc. and hot food cooked to order. Once the "Heartbeat" day-trippers have departed, Goathland is a peaceful place. The only sounds you are likely to hear in the hotel at night are the occasional bleating of sheep and the gentle chiming of the church clock. A good night's sleep is guaranteed. The bedrooms are on two floors and there is no lift (I understand that this is because the building is listed), so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, request a room on the first floor when booking; we did so and the receptionist was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Went for another few days and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is our favourite part of the country and our favourite hotel. The staff are excellent and the surroundings of the North Yorkshire Moors, Whitby and Robins Hood Bay are brill. We love coming here, maybe you will too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlashG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just visited the Mallyan Spout Hotel for a short break, and had a amazing stay, could not fault the staff or the hotel. The food was amazing for both dinner and breakfast, and the staff are very friendly and always have a smile on there faces. The only down fall was having to leave the hotel to go home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing