We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a 2 day night break on DBB basis, Room 23 (suite). The room was spectacular with a view to die for!
Breakfast was whatever you want it to be, everything there, local produce and the bacon was something else.
Evening meal was very good, but my only criticism was on the 2nd night the service was a bit slow. The restaurant was full and I only hope that the passing trade doesn't detract from the hotel residents, I fully understand the need for a good restaurant in the village but my concern is trying to do too much maybe, not forgetting there are 20+ rooms in the hotel.

Other than that small point I would thoroughly recommend the hotel, having been visiting Goathland for many years, way before the Aidensfield connection, managing to get a couple of days at the hotel at last.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    114
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
511
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We weren't guests but ate here twice, in each case in a different bar. We had excellent meals on both occasions. Each time we did have to wait for our food but we enjoyed the atmosphere so much we didn't mind.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Called in by chance on a busy bank holiday weekend, the attentive staff apologised for the delay in service (what delay we had only been in the place a couple of minutes - so apology not needed but good touch). Very well presented food, and I noted other order also finished to a very high standard. Great location just a few minutes walk from the village centre with normally good car parking. Keep up the good work. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairdealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Another memorable visit to this fine hotel. This time we booked a junior suite (room 23) which was very large and had stunning views out of the back of the hotel - well worth the extra over a standard room.
We dined in for the two nights and had excellent meals. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
All in all, a first class experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Well we didn't think the weekend could be better than before until we entered our room. We went for Junior Suite no.23. I have never been in a room so big and we stay in many hotels at home and abroad. As well as being massive the room has lovely comfy seating and a nice large comfy bed. The views are wonderful, although room 4 takes some beating. We had the cream tea one afternoon including sandwiches. I must say it was excellent with plenty of jam and cream. We tried room service this time and it was just as good as all the other service you receive and the food was delivered quickly. Both times we have stayed we have had dinner included as well and the meals have been good. Breakfast has to be the favourite meal. There is a full Yorkshire breakfast but you can have anything you like that is listed and a choice of how you like your eggs. Try the black pudding it's excellent. Well as you can guess I put a few pounds on and we only stayed 3 nights. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and make you feel welcome. We will be back in February in fact we've already booked and we only came home yesterday.

Room Tip: Book a suite it's worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed here several times, it is in such a quaint village. The "home" of Heartbeat - for the older readers. For younger ones, that was a TV series about life in Yorkshire in times gone by.
This hotel is not "grand", but is very imposing, staffed by people who actually seem to care about you and not just doing their jobs. They are always polite, helpful, kind and also the barman is good at offering alternatives to what you usually drink. I have Guinness and Lime - strange I know, but the lime wakes up the taste buds. He introduced me to Guinness and Tia Maria - wow. Superb.
Anyway, just go here and stay - you will not regret it, cannot get enough of it. We stay every year - except this one - fully booked on dates I wanted, sob sob.
Will be back next year, we "survived" by having a meal on my Gorgeous Wife's birthday instead!!!

Room Tip: Any room here is fab!!!! Try the Suites out, marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fantastic hotel lovely warm welcome from the staff food exceptional served in a delightful dining room bars and lounge areas delightful would defiantly return nice for walking and Heartbeat village and also the steam railway

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 715Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,052 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
829 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,877 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing