We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Took my partner as a special treat and couldn't find one fault. Room & food was first class and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to go back (but hopefully he'll return the favour and pay this time!!)

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElmwoodLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    105
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
88
491
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

we loved the Mallyan Spout...a really lovely room and fantastic garden.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Mallyan Spout is not the most elegant hotel I have ever, or will ever, stay in - but it does not deserve some of the more 'iffy' reviews on this site! We have high (very high!) standards, and, although the hotel feels a little tired in places, our room was spotlessly clean, the food was delicious and the service was excellent.
We stayed for 2 nights on a D/B/B basis. Our room was room#11, a large, comfortable four poster bedded room with the most fantastic views out over the moors, and the hotel gardens below. The bathroom was large - I didn't go mad on the fake marble wall coverings, but that's just personal choice, and not a hotel fault. What I do need is a comfy bed, and that's what we got.
Dinner on both nights was lovely - we ordered different things, and both enjoyed what we had (although the servings are HUGE! I didn't manage to finish any main course/pudding).
We preferred the non residents' lounge to the residents' lounge, so had our coffee there instead.
We encountered several staff, and all were not just courteous and pleasant, but were extremely helpful - nothing seemed too much trouble. Remember, this is a small country hotel - but we had some of the best service we've had in a long time (I can think of some big chain hotels who could learn a thing or two about customer service here...).
We had to check out fairly early on the Sunday, and, although we were a bit early for breakfast, the dining room was opened up straight away and we were served promptly. To be honest, this shouldn't need mentioning, but, again, a lot of bigger places would not have responded in this way.
Would we go back? We like to try new places, but if we were wanting another weekend in this area, we would stay at the Mallyan Spout again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinette1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Went to the Mallyan Spout for a Valentines weekend. The room was enormous, with a four poster bed and glorious views towards the spout from a big picture window. The room was warm, clean with a large seating area. The food was superb - couldn't fault it and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. All in all, the best hotel I have stopped at for some time.
It is in a quiet part of the village and we would have done more walks if the weather had been better ( snow!) Gift shops in the village cash in on the Heartbeat connections. The North York Moors railway is on the doorstep and not far from Whitby and the coast. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Excellent in all aspects - better than any 3 star hotel we've stayed in. Clean rooms, friendly staff, good food, nice views.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiljaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

My husband booked this hotel, as we went there many times before we were married. It was a surprise for my 40th birthday. We paid £110 per night, but were upgraded to a superior room, that should have been £155. The room was on the 2nd floor and was huge, almost to the point we felt a little lost in it!!! The furnishings etc were all lovely and good quality, but we would have prefered things to work, than just look nice. The Tv didn't pick up channel 4 or 5. And only had 5 freeview channels, despite advertising having them. There was a Tv in the bathroom, which was a fab touch, only when you laid in the bath it was behind you!!! So you couldn't watch it! Not that it was a problem really, as that Tv was only tuned into 1 channel. We notified reception 3 times whilst we were there and were only offered an explanation when we checked out. We weren't offered another room nor did they try a different TV.
The room was spotlessly clean in the areas that you could see, however whilst searching for a plug next to the bed, noticed a thick coating of dust under the bed and behind the cabinets, along with a dried up dead moth which looked like it had been there some time! Also the corner behind the Tv was very dusty and there were also the remains of someone else's party - a bottle top & some wrapping paper!
One of the black cushions on the bed had a nasty white stain on it, so we removed it from the bed and put it next to the door, so housekeeping would notice it & change/wash it. Only to find it back on the bed - still dirty!
The view from the back window was spectacular, and was only spoilt by one half of the window being completely steamed up in between panes, due to the seal on the double glazing being broken!!!!
The free WiFi that is advertised to be in every room, didn't reach the 2nd floor where we were, so we were unable to pick up our emails - we are both self employed and this was an important factor in choosing a hotel. When we informed reception, we were told to try it in the lounge, but to be honest we didn't want to sit in the lounge with everyone else, we went there for a bit of peace and quiet!
Breakfast the 1st morning, we asked for well done bacon, but didn't get it. The fresh fruit salad looked past it's best, but the rest of the buffet table looke nice and was very well stocked.
When we checked in we were asked (by the owner) if we wanted a paper in the morning, which we didn't receive. When we asked about it after breakfast, the receptionist told us that there was nothing she could do, but that we could take hers to read as long as we took it back!!
On our 2nd morning we were woken by the fire alarm at 8.25am. This was probably not the hotel's fault (although it was at a time they were cooking breakfast!) but it was just typical of our whole break away!!!
Breakfast the 2nd morning we decided to have it in our room. I ordered egg & 'crispy' bacon, but received no egg and undercooked bacon. The tray was set out lovely, and everything else look very nice, just a shame about getting the order wrong.
Food in the bar looked lovely, but we chosse to drive into Whitby instead, and ate at the Magpie, which I can highly recommend! Best crab salad I have ever had!!
If you fancy afternoon tea, avoid the hotel - £3.95 for a toasted teacake is a bit steep!!! Again, we found a lovely little tea room in Whitby, overlooking the beach.
When we checked out one of the owners said 'I hear you've been having fun with your TV and WiFi?' And then claimed that it frustrated her as much as us (I doubt that as she wasn't paying) and blamed the new roof! Surely these things should have been sorted when the roof was put on (March) and not still occuring at the end of April. Or we should at least have been made aware of the problem.
We simply wanted 2 nights or rest and relaxation - bottle of wine, bit of Tv and to read the papers - we are both self employed and work 7 days a week. So although they have got a lot of things right, it's the smaller attention to detail (or lack of it) that makes the difference.4

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickynoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We have just returned from touring North Yorkshire after several days.
We stayed for two nights at the Malyan Spout and was overwhelmed with the location, accomodation, food and extremely friendly and professional staff.
We would recommend this Hotel, location and facilities to family and friends.
We will definately return!!.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordienorth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing