We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hotel, outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2010

first time reviewer, had read other reviews and thought they were good, booked 2 nights on DB&B we were delighted with the choice, splashed a bit on the room, but well worth it, the service was good, the room was good lovely view over the green, and finally the food was superb. well done to to all staff.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank philipc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for The Mallyan Spout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

I purchased a one night stay D/B&B at the MS in a charity auction early in 2010 - and what a treat!
After most helpful emails to make the booking to coincide with our wedding anniversary, a fabulous surprise was an upgrade from a Standard room, to No 23, a Mini Suite, overlooking the valley (Unfortunately, the faulty double glazed unit, with condensation in it, as commented on by nickinoonoo in May 2010 had not been fixed, but I would imagine that it would not be an easy or cheap repair. Hardly a disaster though.)
Overall, I would agree with all the good reviews, a lovely place, great staff, and really good food.
Unfortunately, only living about 20 miles away, it will be difficult to find an excuse to return soon!
Shame about the older, less favourable reviews. The current owners have, and still are, investing a lot of time and money in what was a building that obviously required extensive TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorEastCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My husband & I have just returned from a "loved up" weekend break to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary spent at the Mallyan Spout Hotel. Our visit proved to be just perfect. We stayed in room No.4 (The Church View Suite), which was very spacious with both front (out towards the church) and side (overlooking the garden) views of the property. The hotel is exceptionally clean and provides a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, is in an ideal location with spectacular views from the well presented lawned gardens. The waterfall is a MUST see but beware suitable footwear is advisable as there is some rock clammbering involved.
Highly recommended and would not hesitate visiting again. Thanks to all for a very enjoyable stay just a pity it wasn't for longer.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandieHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Took my partner as a special treat and couldn't find one fault. Room & food was first class and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to go back (but hopefully he'll return the favour and pay this time!!)

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ElmwoodLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

we loved the Mallyan Spout...a really lovely room and fantastic garden.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Mallyan Spout is not the most elegant hotel I have ever, or will ever, stay in - but it does not deserve some of the more 'iffy' reviews on this site! We have high (very high!) standards, and, although the hotel feels a little tired in places, our room was spotlessly clean, the food was delicious and the service was excellent.
We stayed for 2 nights on a D/B/B basis. Our room was room#11, a large, comfortable four poster bedded room with the most fantastic views out over the moors, and the hotel gardens below. The bathroom was large - I didn't go mad on the fake marble wall coverings, but that's just personal choice, and not a hotel fault. What I do need is a comfy bed, and that's what we got.
Dinner on both nights was lovely - we ordered different things, and both enjoyed what we had (although the servings are HUGE! I didn't manage to finish any main course/pudding).
We preferred the non residents' lounge to the residents' lounge, so had our coffee there instead.
We encountered several staff, and all were not just courteous and pleasant, but were extremely helpful - nothing seemed too much trouble. Remember, this is a small country hotel - but we had some of the best service we've had in a long time (I can think of some big chain hotels who could learn a thing or two about customer service here...).
We had to check out fairly early on the Sunday, and, although we were a bit early for breakfast, the dining room was opened up straight away and we were served promptly. To be honest, this shouldn't need mentioning, but, again, a lot of bigger places would not have responded in this way.
Would we go back? We like to try new places, but if we were wanting another weekend in this area, we would stay at the Mallyan Spout again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinette1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Went to the Mallyan Spout for a Valentines weekend. The room was enormous, with a four poster bed and glorious views towards the spout from a big picture window. The room was warm, clean with a large seating area. The food was superb - couldn't fault it and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. All in all, the best hotel I have stopped at for some time.
It is in a quiet part of the village and we would have done more walks if the weather had been better ( snow!) Gift shops in the village cash in on the Heartbeat connections. The North York Moors railway is on the doorstep and not far from Whitby and the coast. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,242 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,887 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range: £91 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing