We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with excellent staff and very...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent staff and very...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Great hotel with excellent staff and very good food. Beautiful location and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morse_cars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    105
    26
    14
    4
See reviews for
88
491
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

I have not stayed at the Mallayan, but visited Goathland for the weekend with my family staying at a local bed and breakfast.

We walked into the Mallayan for a quiet drink and a meal on Friday evening. The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. They were very efficient in serving your drinks and taking your food order. The food was excellent - good large portions, fresh ingredients and very tasty. The service was also very quick.

We liked it so much we dined at the Mallyan every evening of our break and fully intend to visit again, though we would like to stay in the Mallyan next time.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. They have good old fashioned courtesy and a respect for their guests which the nearby Goathland Hotel could learn from.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

first time reviewer, had read other reviews and thought they were good, booked 2 nights on DB&B we were delighted with the choice, splashed a bit on the room, but well worth it, the service was good, the room was good lovely view over the green, and finally the food was superb. well done to to all staff.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I purchased a one night stay D/B&B at the MS in a charity auction early in 2010 - and what a treat!
After most helpful emails to make the booking to coincide with our wedding anniversary, a fabulous surprise was an upgrade from a Standard room, to No 23, a Mini Suite, overlooking the valley (Unfortunately, the faulty double glazed unit, with condensation in it, as commented on by nickinoonoo in May 2010 had not been fixed, but I would imagine that it would not be an easy or cheap repair. Hardly a disaster though.)
Overall, I would agree with all the good reviews, a lovely place, great staff, and really good food.
Unfortunately, only living about 20 miles away, it will be difficult to find an excuse to return soon!
Shame about the older, less favourable reviews. The current owners have, and still are, investing a lot of time and money in what was a building that obviously required extensive TLC.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorEastCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My husband & I have just returned from a "loved up" weekend break to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary spent at the Mallyan Spout Hotel. Our visit proved to be just perfect. We stayed in room No.4 (The Church View Suite), which was very spacious with both front (out towards the church) and side (overlooking the garden) views of the property. The hotel is exceptionally clean and provides a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, is in an ideal location with spectacular views from the well presented lawned gardens. The waterfall is a MUST see but beware suitable footwear is advisable as there is some rock clammbering involved.
Highly recommended and would not hesitate visiting again. Thanks to all for a very enjoyable stay just a pity it wasn't for longer.....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandieHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Took my partner as a special treat and couldn't find one fault. Room & food was first class and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to go back (but hopefully he'll return the favour and pay this time!!)

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElmwoodLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

we loved the Mallyan Spout...a really lovely room and fantastic garden.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goathland
7.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
12.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
9.5 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallyan Spout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallyan Spout Hotel

Property: The Mallyan Spout Hotel
Address: The Common, Goathland, North York Moors National Park YO22 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Goathland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Goathland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mallyan Spout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mallyan Spout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallyan Spout
Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel Goathland, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing