We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good quiet location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
lounge lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Lounge
lounge
lounge
Enclosed garden
Courtyard
Views
Dining conservatory
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Goathland, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris J
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good quiet location”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned after a weeks break from Brook wood. Must admit very tranquil, and lovely location. The accommodation is very well laid out, clean, and comfortable. The bonus of this place is a ground floor bedroom ( spot on if elderly people are with you) and all rooms have own facilities. Its within easy of coast and all tourist spots and nice little pub a 2 min walk...nice people who own the cottage...Yes we would.... and will return one day.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
We argue so happy you enjoyed your stay here at Brookwood and appreciate your very kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in Fantastic Surroundings”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, relaxing place to stay away from everything. All the bedrooms are en-suite, the cottage has oodles of character, is near to an excellent pub and there is virtually everything you need for a very peaceful holiday.
I must admit, however, one of the highlights was reading the guest book where one guest had complained that they hadn't put the shops near enough and the ceilings were too low (my brother is 6ft 2 and didn't have much of a problem) - I spent the entire week chuckling about how terrible it was that our hosts had not put shops nearer to the cottage for their dozy guest.
The cottage is dog friendly which is a great plus, the garden is beautiful, the welcome pack a delight and the nearby exotic animals a surprise.
As we have already booked for next year I think this says it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts
Liked least: Road into Beck Hole and the 25% gradients
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Lovely guests thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSmits
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Third year at Brookwood.... Looking forward to our fourth!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I almost don't won't recommend Brookwood Cottage as I want to to keep it all to myself!
Brookwood cottage (with Martin and Linda being the perfect hosts) is a fabulous escape through which to recharge the batteries. Local walks, pubs & restaurants and the local attractions of nearby Whitby and Pickering guarantee you are never bored, the spacious and comfortable cottage ensures even the wettest of days don't disappoint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage set in a perfect location
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
We look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina F
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Greeted on arrival by the owner with a nice cool bottle of beer, perfect after a long drive. The Cottage is tucked away in a small hamlet so very conducive to a peaceful and relaxing break. A generously filled welcome food basket and fresh flowers greeted us in the conservatory. The beds are very comfortable and the cottage is nice and clean throughout, with a very well equiped kitchen. Don't expect your mobile to work as practically no signal, but as we were away for some rest this was fine with us. There is a landline available if the need arises. Internet connection is good in the cottage. Lovely cottage garden to sit out in as well as a Summer house in the Guests own paddock area, to enjoy the peace (with the occasional steam train tooting as it passes through) and watch the large variety of birds that land. Do take insect repellant if you intend sitting in the garden during the evening, the trees and stream do attract them come dusk. Superb views of the North Yorkshire Moors can be seen walking or driving to the top of Beck Hole. Delightful tiny pub just a short walk away with a great pub snacks, a traditional sweet shop and a beer garden by the stream. All in all a perfect location and holiday home, so much so we are going to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the area
Liked least: nothing to dislike about it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKGLancas...
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Idyllic"”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beck Hole, a little haven of heaven in Yorkshire. We received a warm welcome from our hostess Linda, which set the seal to a most enjoyable weeks holiday.The cottage was well equipped with all mod cons, and the "Welcome pack"of essentials was really appreciated. Approx 100yds from the "Birch Hall Inn", which must qualify as the smallest pub in Britain. Central also to many walks & coastal resorts, and nice to return to a secluded peaceful atmosphere after the day's activities. Certainly one to return to. 10/10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of cottage & location
Liked least: --------
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulEdmed
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great walks that's it”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage. Owners are a really nice couple. Only fault I had was I booked the cottage as it had broadband and I needed this due to work commitments. When we arrived the broadband did not work. After waiting for 3 days for it to be repaired and no updates from the owner we had to leave early losing 3 nights of our stay. This was not ideal as it worked out we lost approx £200.
I would have thought I would have heard from the owners apologising and maybe even offering a discount on our next stay if we came back. Been back a week and not a word this is disappointing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
We are very sorry about the broadband and the telephone. We did our best to repair the fault and offered the use of our home and broadband whilst we were at work. The fault was with BT and beyond our control. The line is now repaired and fully working. We are sorry you vacated early and would love to welcome you back to Brookwood in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing