We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far nicer than it looks”
Review of Hotel du Chamois

Hotel du Chamois
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Chamois
Ranked #1 of 2 L'Etivaz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hiked here from Chateaux D'Oex and as we came off the hill I was hoping the large building with the red roof wasn't our hotel since it looked rather delapidated. Well it WAS our hotel and everything was fine. It's quaint but wholly comfortable - the food was good and the service is very friendly. Moral - don't be fooled by appearances.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Of course the rather old chalet right on the road made us a bit suspicious, but the warm welcome and very friendly service of the owners quickly dissipated our fears! Everything in Le Chamois is simple and rustic but our (small) room was quiet and comfortable enough for a good night of rest. Wifi is quick and free. Breakfast was in line with the rest of the prestations: simple and good. The restaurant was equally pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Hotel du Chamois is a very special place and a great way to experience Switzerland. It has been owned and operated by a kind and gracious Swiss family for over 125 years, who all chip in on the many tasks, from the 90 year old grandmother who still washes (and irons!) the sheets -- to the accommodating chef/son/operator and his lively, lovely wife. Another sister makes the beds, and this is obviously the local gathering place of this small village, L'Etivaz. The hotel, with its low ceilings, paneled walls and warm globe lighting oozes Swiss tradition. We found our room very comfortable and very clean, with plenty of hot water and windows that let in the sun in both the sleeping area and bath.
You can enjoy the local wine and cheese outside in a patio area, and we found dinner to be very good and reasonable considering Swiss prices. Since we don't eat much red meat, a local staple, we enjoyed a delicious meal the first evening of local morel mushrooms in a rich sauce. The next evening we had sauteed trout, very fresh since they are also local and kept in an aquarium in the kitchen. Breakfast is included in the price of a room, served in a sunny room on the second floor. This is quite the buffet and will tide you over while you explore the gorgeous countryside around. Be sure to try the local L'etivaz cheese. Cheese making, and the tending of the cows that goes with it, are an integral part of life in this village. You can visit the local cooperative to hear about the process and production. We were lucky enough to be there for the festival where they bring the cows down from the upper pastures and decorate them with headresses made of flowers. So charming! I will never forget the ringing of the cowbells, such a meditative sound that reminded me of the chanting and ringing of bells in the buddist temples in Thailand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_Lynne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After a hike from Chateux D'Oex, we were delighted to arrive at the Hotel du Chamois in the lovely village of L'Etivaz. We had two comfortable rooms - one for four children and the other for my wife and myself. Both were clean and ours had a new bathroom with good water pressure. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good - appetites no doubt influenced by the long walk. Recommend staying here for those who are looking for an uncomplicated and friendly inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spent 1 night as part of a longer hiking trek in the Swiss alps. Biggest plus is the excellent service. Very friendly, attentive and helpful. Rooms are cozy, have a nice atmosphre and are spottlessly clean (though, for single rooms, the shower is communal, but also very clean) overall, good vibe in a nice Swiss mountan village, definitively off the beaten track.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a little gem hidden in the L'Etivaz valley. The rooms are large and comfortable. By no means a modern hotel, so if you equate comfort and quality with 'modern' decor, this place isn't for you. We came up for a weekend of cross-country skiing with friends in Les Mosses, a mere 5-10 minute drive away from the ski area (downhill & cross country), but didn't want to stay in the middle of the crowd. We originally booked for just a Saturday night, but we liked the hotel and the ski trails so much we chose to extend our stay for another night. Unfortunately, we had to eat dinner with our friends at a restaurant in Les Mosses that didn't impress us (okay, we had fondue, and it was a decent fondue—probably because they used the Etivaz cheese that the valley is renown for—but the atmosphere was by no means relaxing), but on Sunday evening we corrected that oversight and ate at the restaurant in the Hotel du Chamois. The trout dishes were outstanding, and other diners appeared to be relishing their meat dishes. Definitely save room for the ice creams that they make themselves—they are far-and-away superior to anything you can buy in a store!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SageSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my partner and some friends following a hike from Gstaad to L'Etivaz. We were very pleased with the large, comfortable rooms which were typically Swiss in style. Dark wooden furniture, creaking floor boards and low ceilings gave the place a cozy, homely atmosphere.

We chose to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant and weren't disappointed with our delicious meals. Beef, duck and chicken all cooked to perfection, and some delicious desserts to complete the meal. Breakfast was good, although the selection of food was a bit limited.

The best part of our stay by far was the exceptional service that we received from the manageress. Due to bad weather, we decided to cancel the second day of our hike, but we were still keen to reach our planned accommodation for the next night. Being such a small town, public transport was limited, so the manageress called the local bus driver on our behalf to request that he alter his route slightly in order to get us to the necessary train station. In addition to this, she also asked him to pre-purchase our train tickets so that we would not risk missing the train. We found this service to be extremely kind and quite unexpected, and it allowed us to maintain most of our plans for the following day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob1679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel du Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chamois

Address: Le Contour, L'Etivaz 1660, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > L'Etivaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in L'Etivaz
Price Range: £82 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel du Chamois 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing