We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as lovely as last time!”
Review of Pyesmead Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plaitford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pyesmead Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Plaitford B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just as lovely as last time!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was a return visit for the 3 generations of our family. Having stayed here last August & loved it, we were keen to return in the spring for lambing. We were not disappointed (save for the wet weather on our first two days!!). The Hayloft is almost certainly one of the best, if not the best, self catering places we have stayed at. It's clean, cosy, comfortable & very well equipped. It is peaceful & our Grandchildren (us too,if we are honest!) loved being able to look out of the window & see the sheep & their new lambs. David, Tina & everyone on the farm were very friendly & welcoming, always having time for us despite what must be an incredibly busy time for them. It was lovely to walk around the farm & see the daily new arrivals - how can we ever eat roast lamb again??? The kids loved the swimming pool - a real life saver on the wet days. Thanks Tina & David & we hope to return.

Room Tip: Look no further for great farm accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandliz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 nights stay at Pyesmead Farm. We enjoyed walking around the farm and getting up close with the animals. Tina & David are great hosts and are very welcoming. Our rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Cerals, yoghurts, fruit, toast & jams and full english cooked with local ingredients - a great start to any day. Tina helped with local places to eat which was very helpful. We loved our stay and would recommend Pyesmead Farm as a place to relax, unwind and just enjoy the countryside. Well done Tina & David (you will be seeing us again I am sure :o)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIPPIN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

With my family arriving from overseas and wanting to experience a working English farm and for me to escape London we found Pyesmead Farm and booked for a two night stay. After the first night, we ended up extending our stay as we fell in love with the farm. David, Tina and Robert were very welcoming, encouraging us to wander their farm, interact with the animals and always happy to give suggestions about the local area. A perfect place for children to get close to the cows, sheep, chickens, dogs and cats - and to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Close to the New Forest, villages and a number of pubs made this an ideal base. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast each morning (cereals, eggs, bacon, toast, fresh fruit and juice). This was a great escape from the hectic London lifestyle great to recharge the batteries. Thoroughly enjoyed our time and highly recommend Pyesmead Farm - looking forward to going back (I'm missing the dogs already!). Thank you David, Tina and Robert!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina P, Owner at Pyesmead Farm, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you all to stay here. I hope your parents have had a safe trip back to Australia. If you feel the need to escape London again for some fresh country air we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My goodness, I can hardly believe the last contributors review!! Completely unrepresentative and I can only think that he has written a review about the wrong place? I have stayed at Pyesmead Farm a number of times and I can happily say that it is one of my favourite B&Bs in the UK. The B&B is very homely, with a mix of pine furniture in the rooms, and lovely comfy beds. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean and the towels white and fluffy. Did the last guest ask for a hairdryer - better to ask at the time than complain afterwards?! I too have to work in the rooms in the evening (or the dining room), and have never found it a problem to work on the dressing table (or bed). The Wi-Fi is also free (unlike the previous Premier Inn reference).
The breakfasts have always been plentiful, with local produce and lovely 'yellow' free range eggs from the farm hens. I have never gone hungry here!!
If you are thinking of staying here, please do disregard the last feedback and take a look at reviews over the last year. Pyesmead Farm has both four and five star ratings with the English Tourist Board, which are worthy grades. I would suggest that the last guest may be better at staying at 'standard' Premier Inn or Holiday Inns, with 'standard' furniture rather than a warm and comfy farm stay. You will need to pay extra at these 'chains' for Wi-Fi and breakfast.
I would have no hesitation but to stay again, and it is disappointing when one traveller can unfairly influence another guests stay. Book now - you won't be disappointed !!

Room Tip: All rooms are bright and airy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaRoomQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina P, Owner at Pyesmead Farm, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again when on business in the area or maybe even for a holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I’m a real FarmStay fan but I to say that this one is just not up the standard I’ve been used to all over the UK. Why?
The whole room felt lack lustre and lacked the familiar style I’ve come to expect – worn and tatty WW2- like utility furniture with one old rickety wooden captains chair – the arms were loose. The room had the feel of a school dorm.
No usable desk to work at and I needed a desk on my business trip.
The towels are old, hard and too small
No hair dryer in the room – even cheap pub rooms have this.
The room was cold when I entered and I had to go to the trouble of turning every heating control to max to feel comfortable – why not prepare the room?
No bottle of mineral water as is usual in Farm Stays.
The breakfast consisted of ONE round of toast, two dried up tiny sausages, over cooked bacon and a mushed up tomato. Only enough for one cup of coffee – AND no offer of re-fills of anything here.
PLUS, it was not cheap at £45 for one guest. There is no way it’s worth a couple staying here as the Premier Inn is just down the road was heaps better than this

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina P, Owner at Pyesmead Farm, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I’m sorry that you found your stay here disappointing, along with the pub you chose, not one recommended by ourselves. We take enormous pride in the service we provide and don’t wish for anyone to leave less than satisfied. The twin room in which you stayed is very tastefully decorated with high quality twin single beds, often complimented upon for being so comfortable, and dual aspect windows overlooking fields. The furniture is antique pine and of sound quality along with a Windsor chair and the room having recently been decorated and with new carpets, one year old, hardly tatty. It’s only ever had praise before! Admittedly no specific desk but guests are usually happy to use the dining room table if they have work to do needing a lot of space.

The bath towels we use are of standard size, good quality and always dried in the tumble drier to ensure being soft. There are no hairdryers in the room but on the landing just outside the room to be easily borrowed. I do take this point on board and will rectify this.

The rooms are kept at an ambient temperature with one very easy to use thermostat on a very efficient radiator so every guest can turn the heating up or down to suit their own requirements. The room was fully prepared and spotlessly clean (we scored 100% on cleanliness with the tourist board). We offer hot drinks facilities and biscuits in the room but no bottled water as we had a separate pipe installed delivering fresh drinking water to all the bathroom sink taps.

We cook all our breakfasts to order having offered various choices to our guests. All our ingredients are homemade or locally sourced. The sausages, certainly not dried up as cooked to order, are made especially for us and the smoked bacon delivered fresh, from a local butchers’ in Romsey, and not overcooked. The tomatoes were from the local farm shop which we cook fried in a little butter to enhance the flavour. Obviously the quality of tomatoes is not quite so good anywhere this time of year! We use our own fresh homemade bread for the toast. I always ask the guests if everything is alright with their breakfast and offer more hot toast which we would have been more than happy to provide, and if there is anything else we can get. You need only have asked for another cafetiere, which does actually fill 2 cups, of fresh coffee. There is also a choice of several cereals, yoghurts, fruit juice and fresh fruit in the dining room for guests to help themselves to, along with high quality marmalade, jam and local honey amongst other spreads to be enjoyed on your toast.

Having just checked the price for a one night stay for one person at our nearest Premier inn we are very good value for money as they are presently charging £86, not including breakfast!

99% of our guests are very happy with the service we provide, as well as the tourist inspector who stayed recently in the same room, and a high percentage of our bookings are either repeat bookings or recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights as we wanted a relaxing break in the New Forest.It was everything we were hoping for and would highly recommend staying here and already have done so.The b&b accommodation was beautiful, very clean, tidy and attractive, the location was quiet and peaceful but nice and near local amenities.The food was excellent and everyone very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Found this through the fabulous Farm Stay UK site for two nights away in the B&B. Just off the A36 and 5 minutes from the New Forest this is also perfectly placed for Portsmouth/Southampton and Bournemouth/Poole adventures. A very warm welcome created by the farm dogs who led us straight to the front door :-) Tina and David made us feel right at home. Large comfortable beds and a terrific classic English breakfast including the best eggs ever.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldySouthEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaitford
4.2 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
New Forest Lodge
New Forest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Landford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Bell Inn
The Bell Inn
#1 of 1 in Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyesmead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyesmead Farm

Property: Pyesmead Farm
Address: Plaitford SO51 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Plaitford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plaitford
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyesmead Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing