We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Boutique Hotel in the Countryside with Great Service”
Review of Lucknam Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucknam Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The mile long tree shaded driveway that leads to this small luxury hotel is your first taste of the elegance that awaits.

The Coral Suite on the second floor was outstanding and my definite favorite in the house. Large combined bedroom and sitting room with lots of windows, comfortable sofas, coffee tables, and a four poster canopy bed.

(Unfortunately that sumptuous looking bed was quite uncomfortable, and I tossed and turned all night long. Time to perhaps add a featherbed, or at least get a new mattress!)

The wood floors in the entry were lovely, and closet space was very generous.
The most magnificent and huge mirrored marble bathroom I have ever had the pleasure to see, let alone use.

Food at breakfast and dinner was good, as was a yummy late afternoon snack I had in the Spa area.

Service was very helpful. Every member of staff was very nice, professional and handled all of my requests promptly and with a smile.

I enjoyed wandering through the stables, and giving the horses in the paddock some quartered apples and carrots given to me by the kitchen staff.
The grounds are blissfully quiet, except for the sound of birds chirping, and I love the romantic aura of it all.

I didn't have a chance to try the Spa, but I certainly will next time!
A one night stay really isn't enough to enjoy everything that the property has to offer - next time I shall stay three nights:)

Read more about Lucknam Park and see more photos on my website http://www.cinderella11pm.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is one of the best spas I have been to in the UK and it remains memorable a year after we visited.
Fantastic indoor and outdoor pool, lovely changing facilities and toiletries as well as exceptional service from all who work here.
We were lucky enough to visit on an extremely sunny weekend and had cocktails at sunset outside as well as walks around the peaceful and quiet grounds and even a game of croquet.
Highly, highly recommended. I'm still struggling to find a spa that beats this one!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGLondon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here as we were completing a Pastry Course with Richard Bertinet in Bath. The overiding quality of this hotel is the staff and the surroundings. Genuinely they must have chosen the nicest, friendliest people on the planet.
From the check in to the Restaurant Manager (special mention), the sommelier, the house keeping staff, the receptionist at the spa all made such an effort to genuinely enquire about our day/ stay.
We got an upgrade to a most beautiful room with a welcoming bottle of champagne and chocolates. We spent some time on the spa, and I would have loved to spend more time there as it was so peaceful.
We had booked dinner in the hotel for two reasons, we really enjoy trying Michelin rated food (don't get to very often!!) and also we enjoy watching Great British Menu and the executive chef won the Wales heat in 2011.
We went for the more expensive Degustation Menu, and to be perfectly honest we were a little disappointed with the food. And I really hate saying it as the rest of the experience was so perfect.
The canapes were gorgeous, as was the wine recommendation. The starter was lovely foie gras, a little tasteless but a nice sizes portion. The fish course of halibut was also a little tasteless but the hand rolled macaroni was delicious.
The main course was the most disappointing, the portion was really tiny, and quite tasteless, the pudding was fresh but also a bit uninspiring. As I said it really is a small complaint, but it would mean I would not eat from the tasting menu again, however we cannot wait until we can return again.
I would love to return, especially to try out the equestrian centre, and the rooms were spotless and sooo luxurious.

Room Tip: Be cheeky and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933Jeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Lucknam Park with friends. Absolutely beautiful!! We had a fabulous time. The room overlooked the magnificent one mile drive to the hotel and could see the horses in their paddocks from our window. Meals were excellent, spa was beautiful, and went for a lovely ride on the property. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Meryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Eventually got to stay at this hotel, having been recommended to it by a few people in recent years. Having stayed at many country house hotels, I am relieved to say that Lucknam Park lived up to its fine reputation. The attention to detail, combined with an exquisite dining experience and the amazing spa, ticked all the right boxes. The staff are all attentive and clearly proud of the hotel, which comes across.

An indulgence but so pleased to have eventually had the LP experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Some friends and I stayed at Lucknam Park for a hens weekend recently. The building is magnificent, staff are friendly and attentive and the restaurant is exquisite. The spa wasn't the best that I've been to but was still nice. I can highly recommend Lucknam Park for a special weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel Impecable service and probably the best food in the world. In this part of the Country no other hotel even comes close !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gourmet190770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colerne
2.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
748 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
855 reviews
18.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
887 reviews
8.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucknam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucknam Park

Address: Studs Farm Lucknam Park, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Price Range: £228 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucknam Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lucknam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucknam Park Hotel Colerne
Lucknam Park Chippenham
Lucknam Park Hotel Chippenham
Lucknam Park Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing