We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our 5 star castle tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucknam Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lucknam Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of our 5 star castle tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We bookes this place through mr and mrs smith and it was the highlight of our roadtrip. Excellent food from michelin star chef, friendly staff and great location. Our stable room was small but fully equiped. The spa favilities are up to date and nicely designed. Lots of space and i loved drinking wine in the library area. Very near to bath which is a great town to visit. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    117
    28
    15
    2
See reviews for
115
346
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here 19-21st May. We were very impressed as soon as we drove through the double electric gates at he entrance to the hotel with a lovely tree lined drive up to the main house. We were met by Peter, the manager and the Conceirge who took our luggage from the car and then parked it for us. We were shown to our room which was in the courtyard and our luggage was already there! We ate in the brasserie on the first night and the food was excellent, we thought this couldn't be beaten, however, we ate in the Park the next night and the food was the best we have ever sampled! It definitely merits it's Michelin star! Not only was the food first class, the service from the staff was excellent. The spa facilities are incredible and lovely pool. There is horse riding to if you feel fit! Will definitely return at some point to this fabulous hotel but it is very expensive! You certainly get treated like a V.I.P.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahunter1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Lucknam Park from 20-24th May 2014. My partner has stayed there before and loved it, so after the sad death of my father last month, when we were looking for a relaxing break, it seemed the perfect time to find out if his reports were true.
I have to say they were. This is a truly marvellous place where nothing is too much trouble for an attentive and courteous staff. The food is superb and the spa is quite simply the best I have ever experienced.
We stayed in the main house in a comfortably and traditionally furnished room with ample space and a lovely aspect over the courtyard. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped, with gorgeous Anne Semonin toiletries - one of the brands used in the spa.
Public rooms are tastefully decorated, quiet and refined - just what you want from the "country house" experience. The grounds are enormous with a great variation of habitats from manicured lawns stretching to wilder edges lined with enormous trees. Pasture areas and horses complete the idyll.
The spa building is a couple of minutes walk from the main hotel and is a self-contained health club that nearby residents can join also. It has a lovely brasserie - we ate there on a couple of nights - and the food and service were superb.
The pool is the best spa facility I have seen, its enormous! So great to be able to have a proper swim. The hydro-pool is half inside-half outside - you press a button and the glass partition slides back. We had one really hot day where swimming outside was lovely, but in fact I enjoyed it more on a rainy day, luxuriating in the hot water as it poured down all around!
I had a treatment - a facial and eye session, my partner had a full body massage. Both highly recommended.
The formal restaurant in the hotel, "The Park" is a must if you enjoy fine dining. We ate there twice and both times the experience was right up there with the best meals I have had. Beautiful food, wonderfully presented and skilfully served. The Michelin star is well earned and fully deserved.
I cannot recommend Lucknam Park highly enough. Of course, it is an expensive place to stay and is of a style that will not appeal to everyone. But if you appreciate quality, love great service in beautiful surroundings and are looking for a few days of completely stress-free living, then I really doubt you could pick a better place. It was just what I needed, after recent very tough times.
Many thanks to all the team for their superb service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinyclanger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lucknam Park has it all, a magnificent historic house, idillic setting, glorious rooms, mouthwatering food (the langoustine were remarkable), friendly and skilled service and a fabulous new spa with in/out jacuzzi, large swimming pool and Japanese salt room. We had a great ride through the fields and our daughter was pleased to see the new born foal. The hotel is a short distance from Bath a visit to which is a must. We have been before and we will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Detekter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was following this long weekend at a spa resort closely behind a magnificent experience at another one a couple of weekends ago, so Lucknam Park had a high bar to meet. It did it very easily. Excellent food with a Michelin-star restaurant as part of the complex. The spa area is lovely - particularly like the hydrotherapy pools, and the treatments were great. Service was pretty good all around. A few minor exceptions (such as the unnecessarily snooty waiter in the restaurant) but generally speaking, this is a fabulous calming resort in the middle of Wiltshire. Came back very relaxed. Will be making sure it is a regular fixture to recharge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazelinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came here for a midweek break and stayed two nights. First of all, it is the staff who make all the difference to the quality of this hotel. They were all friendly and helpful, with the attitude that nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a deluxe room and the extra space does make a difference. We dined one night in the main restaurant and one night in the Brasserie; both were excellent with the former being more formal and serving excellent Michelin star quality cuisine. A nice touch is that we couldn't finish our bottle of wine the first evening so it was saved for us for the next night, but just another example of the hotel's attitude. Breakfast is very good but not exceptional (and I fully admit that this is really nit-picking but such is the level of the bar that the rest of the hotel sets). The spa gets a mixed review; the pool and facilities are excellent but my wife used the manicurist and found the service poor and expensive. This is a wonderful establishment and my suggestion is to stay on site and just relax and fully enjoy the service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe room if possible because the extra room does make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful short break here following our wedding the week before- we booked at short notice and got a reasonable (at this level its never cheap) deal to include treatments, dinner and breakfast for a couple of days.
The setting is amazing with green and trees all around. The main building is a glorious stately home-like building and the grounds and gardens are a joy to walk in. the adjacent stables even had newly born foals on show.
Our room was spotlessly clean with a bath and separate shower, looking directly onto the gardens from one side and courtyard to the other. Very comfortable.
We ate in the informal brasserie which was modern, lovely dishes and wine and very friendly service there and indeed everywhere- very unpretentious and effective
But the main attraction was the elegant spa. Gorgeous deep-blue mosaic pool looking out to modern structured, landscaped and terraced gardens- hot pool running both inside and outside the building with thermal experiences right here( steam, sauna. salt room etc). We had a full massage which was among the best I have had anywhere in the world
HIGHLY recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colerne
3.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.7 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
10.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
13.8 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucknam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucknam Park

Property: Lucknam Park
Address: Studs Farm Lucknam Park, Colerne SN14 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Colerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lucknam Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lucknam Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucknam Park Hotel Colerne
Lucknam Park Chippenham
Lucknam Park Hotel Chippenham
Lucknam Park Colerne, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing