We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Click on the BOOK button now - awesome place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daubeneys Shippon

Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Daubeneys Shippon rear with private garden and barbeque Daubeneys Shippon sitting room with TV, broadband and wood-burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Daubeneys Shippon rear with private garden and barbeque
Daubeneys Shippon sitting room with TV, broadband and wood-burning stove
Daubeneys Shippon fully-equipped kitchen area with gas cooker, dishwasker and washer dryer
Daubeneys Shippon fully-equipped kitchen area with gas cooker, dishwasker and washer dryer
Daubeneys Shippon master bedroom with comfy double-bed
Daubeneys Shippon second bedroom with choice of double or twin beds
Daubeneys Shippon bathroom with bath and shower
Daubeneys Shippon luxury bathroom treats
local flower/gift shop
Colerne's 11th century church
Views to Colerne
Village High Street
Open plan kitchen/reception
Bathroom
Table in main bedroom
Second bedroom - single beds can be made into King bed
Sitting room
Colerne's 11th Century Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dance1972
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Click on the BOOK button now - awesome place!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was over from NZ with my partner to spend Xmas with family, and we found this place - Daubneys Shippon. Village is from a chocolate box, locals are very friendly, pubs are great, lots to see and do in the area, so close to Bath .... But here are the main reasons you should book here;
a) Ian and Mel are superb hosts, they make you feel completely at home - nice touch with the excellent welcome pack
b) the place is done out to a high standard, clean, homely, comfortable and lovely high vaulted ceilings and log fire
c) Nothing is a bother for Mel & Ian, they were so helpful, great to chat with and flexible. My Mum's dog Duke loved it, as did my nieces and nephews who came over for the day

Colerne is so peaceful, picturesque ..... I read a couple of the other reviews before coming over, and all I can say is that anyone who has written anything remotely negative about Daubneys Shippon is probably just really not quite playing with a full deck - great place, wonderful hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing - was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you so much and so glad you enjoyed everything. Maybe see you again when you are over. Regards, Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACPAFC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Christmas with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My brothers and I decided to relocate somewhere random this year for christmas and came across Colerne and Daubneys as the perfect place to try a different winter retreat. We were greeted on arrival by Ian and Mel with their daughter and dog who were all most welcoming! The accommodation was delightful and well set out with a large living area and kitchen with bathroom adjacent and an open upstairs bedroom area. Having wondered the village we found it to be full of pleasant locals (especially in the pubs fox and hounds and the 6 bells!). Will definitely visit again and would recommend!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avocettoo
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“lovely building in great location with delightful owners”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Its wonderful to find a location where it is on one level (for the disabled), takes a dog and well designed, furnished and decorated. There is one step from parking area to the deck and doorway. Great deck to sit on but also another table and chairs outside depending on time of day. My dog Rosie enjoyed meeting resident hound Thumper.
The owners give great ideas for places to go and eat/visit.
Relaxing location in scenic village. Pub across the road with homely food.
There is also a cottage and a shepherds hut that can be rented, so brilliant for an extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely light and airy feel of the Shippon and convivial owners
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation, location and welcome”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from another fantastic stay at Daubeneys, this time at the Shippon. It really is fantastic – warm and comfortable, well maintained and a real 'home from home'.

The Shippon is great – modern with an open-plan kitchen/living area, a great bathroom with bath and shower, and a private garden. It's an impressive building with high ceilings and a modern glass front – with curtains for privacy. Spacious bedrooms and access to the gardens from virtually every room. Underfloor heating means it's always nice and warm.

When you arrive the owners' provide everything you need to get settled in: bread, milk, eggs, tea and coffee, plus some local goodies too. There's even toiletries supplied – you could just arrive with your toothbrush and be fine!

We were staying with our seven-year-old son and our little dog – and it's ideal for both. We all enjoyed a really great week. Luckily for us the sun was shining every day too – marvellous!

We've now stayed at both the Stable and Shippon a total of five times – and both come highly recommended. That's why we keep coming back! Wonderful, welcoming owners, a great village location, but literally just down the road from Bath. And so many other attractions right on the doorstep, you can explore three counties – Wiltshire, Somerset and Gloucestershire from here.

There's just not enough room to talk about it all... we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely warm, cosy atmosphere, great location and fantastic welcome
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damson38
Narberth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is my third stay at Shippon and once again it was lovely - so relaxing and a delightful location. The owners are chaming and go out of their way to be helpful. The accomodation is clean, tidy and stylish. It is also not so precious that you can't relax! The lovely large glass windows look over the lawn, pretty Shepherds Hut and small trees and the tiny High Street can just be glimpsed through a gate. It is such a quiet village that you don't feel overlooked as hardly any cars or walkers go past but it has a pub, post office and two small shops that are very useful. I always stay here rather than Bath as such good value and so close by car or the bus. The bathroom and shower are clean and tidy and white and make for a relaxing soak after a day out shopping. The underfloor heating is lovely and I felt no need to stick my head into the log burner to inspect the ash levels though on past occasions we have lit it and it makes for a very cosy feature. I shall be returning soon to vist the American Museum in Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large sitting room with large glass windows
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy W
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, super location”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here in the middle of March for our first visit to the area and Daubeneys cottage.

We take regular cottage holidays so are used to a vast array of locations/standards/facilities and were delighted with this cottage.

On arrival we found milk, orange juice and eggs in the fridge and there was a selection of local shortbread and flapjack on the table - a nice way to start the vacation.

The cottage is spacious and well equipped - the only thing lacking being a vacuum cleaner (I know that some people would find it strange that we vacuum on holiday!) but the owners were happy to lend us one.

The location of the cottage is superb. Across the road is the Fox and Hounds, very welcoming, allows dogs and serves standard pub grub. Within a few hundred yards in both directions you're out into the countryside and have a large range of walks on offer. We walked to The Quarryman's in Box, great food, very friendly, allowed dogs; The White Hart in Ford, also great food and allowed dogs; The Swann in Kingsdown which was a bit quiet but also allowed dogs and served good pub grub.

I saw a previous review which highlighted some issues with the accommodation and thought it may be useful to put another perspective across. So the garden is indeed shared and the owners have dogs (Thumper is a lovely old boy). There will therefore be the occasional dog mess in the garden. There is a wood burning stove that burns wood. This creates ash so you it's highly likely you'll find ash in the fireplace. There were two of us and we had plenty of crockery/cutlery and everything was in good order. The water pressure isn't great so the shower is a bit weak but we had several hot baths with no issues. You are right next to the owners but they were friendly and hospitable and asked us several times if everything was ok and if there was anything they could do. The property is glass fronted but the mesh curtains provide ample privacy.

So all in all, an extremely enjoyable stay and we will no doubt return again. So why no 5th star? This only boils down to value for money; we've been to numerous cottages and have found others of a similar standard with country views and a private garden - but as mentioned, the location really is good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Shared garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen_F85...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect country escape”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What a delightful holiday cottage!! We have done a number in the UK of rural holiday locations and this has to be up there as one of the best!! Rooms were nicely finished, with gorgeous bathroom toiletries, a really well put together welcome pack (with cute little honeys and jams and scrummy treats among other things!) One of our favourite things was how lovely and light it was - while our one year old napped we sat behind the glass basking in the sunshine reading our books. The cottage was lovely and clean....a real must when you have little one year old crawling around the floor. Very baby appropriate cottage too....good travel cot and high chair provided plus no significantly dangerous furniture for little ones to hit their heads on! All on one level too so no worries about stair gates etc! Our daughter loved Melanie and Ian's dog...she loved just to watch him out of the window, and he was super friendly!

The only things I would say would have improved our experience would have been a stronger shower (power shower head without the power!) and I would agree with the previous review on hot water...took a while to come through the taps. More than one set of crockery would have been helpful too, as we had to put the dishwasher on every day. Nothing "negative" which marred our holiday though!! Nowhere is perfect (I guess unless you are paying hundreds of pounds a night?!)

We found Melanie and Ian couldn't have been more helpful! Easy to book and pay (we paid £340 for four nights). Melanie was very kind in helping us track down a thermometer when our baby was ill while we were there, and our only contact with Ian was him popping over to give us some bread on arrival!

It was disappointing to read such a negative review on here. I honestly can't believe it is the same property they refer to!!! Not tatty or scruffy in any way, nor dirty.

Would definitely come back here again, and will definitely be telling my friends about this little country getaway, great location for exploring Bath too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing