We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet autumn retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Daubeneys Shippon

Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Daubeneys Shippon rear with private garden and barbeque Daubeneys Shippon sitting room with TV, broadband and wood-burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Daubeneys Shippon with parking and large opening glass doors
Daubeneys Shippon rear with private garden and barbeque
Daubeneys Shippon sitting room with TV, broadband and wood-burning stove
Daubeneys Shippon fully-equipped kitchen area with gas cooker, dishwasker and washer dryer
Daubeneys Shippon fully-equipped kitchen area with gas cooker, dishwasker and washer dryer
Daubeneys Shippon master bedroom with comfy double-bed
Daubeneys Shippon second bedroom with choice of double or twin beds
Daubeneys Shippon bathroom with bath and shower
Daubeneys Shippon luxury bathroom treats
local flower/gift shop
Colerne's 11th century church
Views to Colerne
Village High Street
Open plan kitchen/reception
Bathroom
Table in main bedroom
Second bedroom - single beds can be made into King bed
Sitting room
Colerne's 11th Century Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Footprint...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet autumn retreat”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A very well equipped, modern and comfortable property set in a traditional village. Perfect for an autumn retreat with easy access to local places of interest. The generous welcome pack of supplies was a bonus!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary26_20
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely pet-friendly cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Warm welcome from Melanie on arrival who had left some goodies in the kitchen for us. The cottage was well equipped, light and airy with plenty of room for us and Mavis the dog who thoroughly enjoyed the chance to play with Robin the owners border collie in the gardens.
Perfect location for Badminton Horse Trials in a very pretty village with a good pub opposite and nice walks close by.
Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thank you Gary for your review and hope to see you sometime again. It was a pleasure having you here and was left clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review and lovely to meet you. Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards, Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen7
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Great cottage but location not as expected”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage should have got five stars - it is very well equipped and very well presented and gave us everything we needed for our Wiltshire walking weekend in a picturesque village, aside from some privacy. Unfortunately, we didn't realise quite how close it was to the owner's house, being situated within their garden, and that the floor to ceiling glass exterior wall meant that our lives in the lounge/kitchen/diner and twin bedroom were utterly overlooked. it seems that there is another holiday rental on this site too so we felt uncomfortable having people being able to stare in at us from a few feet away when arriving/departing the other adjacent properties. If the property had been turned 180 degrees to face instead onto its own small garden area to the rear, it would have been perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped stylish property
Liked least: exposed position in owner's garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Sorry you felt the property was too exposed. The other holiday cottage cannot be seen at all by this one. And our house location is opposite but again we cannot see in. There are sheer curtains in the open plan kitchen and sitting room area and some can be drawn but the view from this building mainly of the garden people love. The property would have looked wrong if we had built it 180 degrees to face the back! The twin bedroom also cannot be seen from our house or the other holiday cottage. Unless, of course we walked over to that corner.

When booking the property it is quite obvious that it is glass at the front and I am sorry you didn't spot that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazAndy
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the stables last year and liked it but the shippon is 100 times better. It's a beautiful building which is beautifully decorated. The garden area was brilliant for our toddler to run around. We leave in the the morning and she has asked if we can stay for ever. Fab location for Bath, Bristol and an array of gorgeous villages. We will most definitely be returning next March.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you and it was a pleasure meeting you. Looking forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday home in beautiful area.”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I booked Shippon for our first weekend away on our own since having our baby 22 months ago, and it was perfect. The cottage is set within the lovely grounds of the main house but has the privacy of being in the middle of nowhere. The property is well equipped and has a nice homely but modern feel. The little extras on arrival were really appreciated. The village itself is lovely with two good pubs and the property is based within easy reach of Bath and many other places to visit. Overall, the sun was shining and we had a lovely relaxing stay, coming and going as we pleased, in our time, a rarity with a toddler usually running around our feet! Thank you Melanie and family :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern but homely feel to the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
And thank you - it was lovely meeting you. And glad you had a good first break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davepao
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really beautifully furnished, felt like a home”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

From the booking to the farewell, Melanie took care of us so well.

The cottage itself is in the grounds of their lovely house, bang in the middle of the charming little village - this is a Good Thing, because it's a quaint quiet street and one really felt at the centre of things but blissfully peaceful with it. It was perfectly safe for our cocker to roam around, no way to sneak out.

The cottage itself is a MARVEL. The pictures do not do it justice. Inside there are loads of architectural / design features that make it feel really special, like that massive glass front, the dramatic ceiling with light flooding in all day, the woodburner which is like a slow, steady heart.

The beds are lusciously dressed, and the underfloor heating was surprisingly delightful.

There are some amazing walks, in particular the walk to Long Dean about 3 miles away.

We loved it here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you and it was delightful meeting you. Look forward to maybe seeing you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing