We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Colerne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Neil S
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Found the house easily with Will's directions and sat nav. Plenty of parking, very clean and we found Will to be very accommodating and extremely helpful. The views from the house were beautiful and it took only 20 minutes by car to get to Bath. Thank you so much we will be back in spring.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Look and feel of the property
Liked least: Nothing all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your good review. We were very glad you enjoyed your stay & took advantage of our being so near to Bath, & yet deep in the countryside. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring/summer.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard N
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy, well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Warm welcome from owner. Cottage was perfect for a three night break over Xmas. Warm, cosy and comfortable. Beautiful tree provided and everything we needed to cook the dinner! Would definitely recommend, it's lovely!

Date of stay: December 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2015
The windiest & wettest Christmas in Wiltshire, but we managed to make it warm & festive for our guests. I am so glad it was appreciated. Do come agin in the summer time. Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solitude in the countryside”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage is decorated and built to a very high standard, every convenience has been catered for.
The location is very rural and the view to open fields from the raised decking was wonderfull.
The owners are very helpful and the whole experience was very good.

The only downside to it would be that the cottage is reached down some very narrow lanes.

Otherwise it was excellent.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your brief stay in our tranquil cottage, and hope to see you again, next time you are in the Bath area.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion T
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended cottage!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage was delightfully and tastefully furnished and decorated. It was a lovely peaceful location to return to after busy days in Bath and elsewhere.
Will is a perfect host and Peter, my husband, loved Will's marmalade!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you both for such a glowing review. We very much hope you will come again soon.
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaj0409
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A very special property”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked this cottage quite late in the day and were concerned that it may be a bit out of the way for our visit for a family "do" in Bath. We need not have worried...what little inconvenience the location has is more than offset by the experience of staying at Upper House Cottage. The upside down nature of the rooms enables the balcony leading from the well appointed upstairs lounge to offer unrivaled views across open countryside and is an ideal place to relax at all times of the day. And then there is the attention to detail so apparent throughout the house from a week stocked kitchen to individual torches on the bedside tables. Couple this with genial, welcoming and helpful hosts and you have all the ingredients for a lovely stay. Would definitely consider a return visit

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The imaginative layout of the rooms to enable best advantage of lovely views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
We always like to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at our unusual cottage deep in the Wiltshire countryside, and yet only 5 miles from Bath, and 15 minutes from Junction 17 on the M4.
Please come again soon !
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluebird2...
Bury
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a Lovely cottage laid out perfectly with the kitchen and living room upstairs so you can appreciate the lovely peaceful view, open the doors and step out onto the bacony to have a morning coffee or an evening glass of wine.
Downstairs are the bedrooms with very comfy beds and bedding perfect for a relaxing night sleep.
Wifi and secure parking also enhanced our stay.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and Will the owner was very friendly and wecoming.
All in all the nicest place we have stayed, I would recommend to others and will certainly go back.
Thank you Will, your lovely cottage made a wonderful weekend complete.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
I am pleased that your all too short stay was such a success. The peaceful setting amid Wiltshire farmland and yet only 1 mile from the village of Colerne and 5 from Bath, make this an ideal spot for touring the surrounding area.
Come again, soon !
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If your reading this and the dates are available, then book it now, go on, this review can wait.

We booked this cottage for myself, my wife and two friends to stay at for 4 nights in order to hunt Shaun the Sheep in Bristol as part of Shaun in the City in Summer 2015. Sadly our friends couldnt make it, but we went it alone.
Response to the enquiry was quick and further enquiries as to arrivals were quickly answered. The place is deffinetly out of the way next to the owners house but across a large courtyard. It didnt feel in anyway overlooked. The large rasied deck and the upside down nature provided excellent views across the field behind, full of tall grass and poppies. A suppled BBQ and charcoal really finished this off.
We were greated with a warm welcome and a tour with explanation and asked if we were ok at convient times of getting out of the car, it felt inviting but not overrulling and really added to the relaxation of the place.

The bedrooms downstairs helped with the high summer heat too!

The facilities are well thought out and obviously designed and stocked by soneone who has used rental cottages themselves. And the cooking knives were sharp, always a good sign I feel!

We really enjoyed our stay here and found it convient for meals out in Bath and day tripping to Bristol. We even managed to find all 70 Shauns in the three days we had available.

Book it now, you wont regret it!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
I'm glad the Hunt was so successful !
It was a pleasure to have such appreciative guests - please come back !
Will Darby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.