We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant and terrasse”
Review of Hirschen am See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hirschen am See
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Obermeilen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I discovered this nice restaurant by chance for a Monday lunch and it turned out just perfect. They have a very nice terrasse out on the lake, very calm and relaxing. Apparently they have given their whole restaurant's interior and outdoor design a brush-up and it looks amazing.

The food is good and considering prices that are usually seen around Zurich, I must say that they remain very reasonable. Staff was very nice and helpful, too.

They also have a hotel that I did not see, so I cannot say anything about that.

In my opinion, a highly recommend place to go... I'll return there in a probably very near future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaquimSpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Hirschen am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

There are rooms to the lake (even room numbers) and rooms to the road (uneven room numbers). I strongly would advise not to take rooms at road-side as in the morning there is always heavy traffic.
WLAN in the rooms is included. Breakfast is ok but not more. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers are at the lake side - take those.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

+ top location
+ good price
+ excellent food ( this time I only had b'fast, but i wish we had our business dinner in either one of their restaurants)
+ awesome staff
+ free parking

only the weather was bad, but well this can happen everywhere! ;-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco041983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very nice building and nicely decorated. The rooms on the street are noise, but the bigger problem was the fact that the rooms didn't have air-conditioning. It was the heat that kept us awake, not the noise of the street. The breakfast was nice. Too bad they couldn't give us fresh prepared eggs. During the breakfast there was some very loud coughing coming from the kitchen followed by some swearing. Not really charming or appetising to hear during your breakfast. Our waitress apologised for it. The day after there was still loud coughing, no swearing.The food at the bistro was okay average. The terras is really nice with an amazing view on the lake.

Room Tip: choose a room on the lake side to avoid noise but ask for airco (if they have it)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasDesmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

It's a very pretty hotel in a beautiful location. But the highlight was the staff, who went out of their way to be helpful. They corrected any problems very quickly. And there was a charming man who served us at breakfast, who spoke perfect English and was extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank KMunnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This very nice hotel located directly at Lake of Zürich is overlooking a small and quiet little harbor. The rooms are very nice and comfortable with all amenities which you need. The personal and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has two restaurants with outstanding food and a nice selection of mainly excellent local wines. The service is perfect and the view from the terrace on the lake is just great. The breakfast is nice also . We spent a fantastic weekend at this lovely hotel located at a 15 min. drive from Zürich.

Room Tip: We had a nice junior suite on the lakeside at a rather moderate rate
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Fine hotel, but I had a room on the road side and it was noisy. I could not open a window for the noise, and woke up early because of the cars driving by right under my window. Breakfast was absolutely fine, and the ferry to the other side of the lake is ver close. Next time, i will have a room at the other side!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jwaringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obermeilen
5.2 mi away
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
#1 of 1 in Kusnacht
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Boldern
Hotel Boldern
#1 of 1 in Mannedorf
40 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Meierhof
Hotel Meierhof
#1 of 3 in Horgen
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Sorell Hotel Speer
Sorell Hotel Speer
#1 of 3 in Rapperswil
168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Schwan Hotel & Taverne
4.7 mi away
Hotel Sedartis
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hirschen am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hirschen am See

Address: Seestrasse 856, Obermeilen 8706, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Obermeilen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Obermeilen
Price Range: £94 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hirschen am See 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hirschen am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Am See Obermeilen, Switzerland - Canton Of Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing