We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sussex Produce Company

The Sussex Produce Company
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Steyning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cosy restaurant/cafe serving local produce on a fresh, monthly changing menu. Opening for breakfast and lunch daily, and dinner on a Friday and Saturday evening. Join us for our themed evenings including a monthly Thai weekend the first Friday and Saturday evening each month.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Was originally great but since then it is hit and miss. Sometimes good and sometimes not so. Service has always been friendly enough but long waits on occasions and we have had good food but also pretty bad. Roasts originally were great when first opened but would not go back for one. Really want it to be good though as always want to support local places.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea7547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, Owner at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
The Sunday roasts are absolutely delicious and the staff and service are excellent. The visit was apparently in March. We took over in May and would suggest another visit. We never have longer than a 30 min wait for food and that would be if we were packed with a wait on tables. Please come back in and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    82
    35
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Oh Dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a disappointment!

We recently returned to Steyning and were lovers of this wonderful cafe that has gone from a small Green Grocers into a large local shop with an excellent cafe.
We went back there last week to find it has all changed, no longer run by the owner of the shop and leased out to somebody who clearly doesn't know what they are doing! The nice French manager has gone, the staff that were on were very good to be fair but the uniqueness (if that is a word) has gone from the place, our food wasn't particularly nice, it was edible but not great, which inst a great advert for the brilliant shop if the ingredients are still brought from the shop and used in the menu...I suspect they are not anymore

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank gateway20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, Owner at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Ingredients are bought from the shop. French Manager has moved on and we wish him the very best of luck. The atmosphere of the cafe is still great as are the staff. If the contributer wants to come into the cafe and make themselves known I would like to talk to them about 'lost uniqueness'!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really lovely local produce shop and cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently visited Steyning for a weeks holiday and visited the Sussex Produce Company regularly during our stay. The quality of food and drink was excellent. My partner tried several local beers, some of which were brewed in the village. We also tried eggs, jams, scones, cream, local chocolate, cheeses, bread, fruits and vegetables. We also tried the cafe for lunch. The food was extremely tasty and of high quality.
I noticed someone else has commented on the prices of food. Compared with the a bulk buy supermarket where produce is rarely local and had travelled far before it reaches your plate, the produce is more expensive however we did not find it any more expensive than farm shops local to us in Berkshire. We couldnt afford to do our weekly shop there every week however for a holiday or for top up treats it was excellent.
My only comment would be it would have been nice to see more fresh meat available in the shop. This wasn't a big problem as there are 2 butchers and a fishmonger in the village too. We would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not good value for money at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

After I gave up on getting any sort of desert at Restaurant 27, because of lack of staff and lack of interest there, I decided to go up the road from this restaurant to the Sussex Produce Company for desert. I didn't have a full meal but was glad I didn't. There idea of fragolata was one ball of vanilla ice cream and the tiniest bit of strong coffee poured over it, I think that was for about £5. I asked for a bar of chocolate from the shop, and this seemed to cause some sort of problem as the cash flow from the shop is kept separately from the cash flow of the restaurant. I really personally wouldn't bother with this restaurant if you want value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wonderful270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, Owner at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We were very disappointed to read this lady's reaction to our hospitality on her evening out in Steyning. We were very busy that evening and accommodated her request to buy something from the shop which was closed and gave her a seat to have a dessert (Affogato) after her disappointing evening. We pride ourselves on customer service and know that this lady was treated exceptionally well and that her disappointment with her evening was not down to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have just had a delicious meal at the sussex produce company restaurant.
The service was great...caring, attentive, friendly,and helpful. The food was well cooked and extremely tasty.
We had a lovely friday evening meal and will definately return and recommend others to go.
Don't understand these other reviews!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 932beader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sussex Produce Company also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sussex Produce Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing