We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast business meetings”

The Sussex Produce Company
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Steyning
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A cosy restaurant/cafe serving local produce on a fresh, monthly changing menu. Opening for breakfast and lunch daily, and dinner on a Friday and Saturday evening. Join us for our themed evenings including a monthly Thai weekend the first Friday and Saturday evening each month.
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have used the Sussex Produce regulary for our Renaissance Arts meetings. The food and atmosphere, like the staff, are always consistantly good. The venue is one of the few places that brings culture and a high end restaurant service into the town of Steyning. Freindly attentive staff and wonderful food created by a highly professional kitchen. Did we mention the outsanding coffee too? :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Don Loren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, General Manager at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you very much for this review. It is much appreciated and makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for The Sussex Produce Company
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having not been to The Sussex Produce for many months as we are not local, but has always been one of our favourites to visit when we come to see our friends in steyning, we were left very disappointed. Upon arrival we realised it had all changed, the friendly french manager, Jerome had left. The 'what we thought' new head waiter turned out to be the new owner of the sussex produce company, his mannerisms were very abrupt when we very nicely complained about 2 of our 4 meals, which we felt were poor value and not the usual quality we were used to. What's happened to all the beautiful produce that was always used? and is displayed so nicely in the shop. Apart from the defensive owner the remaining staff tried their best to rectify the situation. A very disappointing visit, not to be repeated in the near future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, General Manager at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The gentleman on duty would have been the Cafe Manager not the owner. We are sorry if you felt disappointed with your meals but if you would like to come in and introduce yourselves you would be very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Attended the main meal part of a safari supper on Oct 8th at the Sussex Produce restaurant for Help the Heroes. The meal was a travesty. The Thai chicken curry and rice lacked chicken, contained almost raw aubergine and mashed rice/potato.
Such a pity as it was all in a good cause.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank bripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Liked the look of the place and decided to have lunch here and buy some produce on the way out. The cafe area had plenty of empty tables but we found that each one had a "reserved" sign. We waited and waited for a waiter to assist us to no avail and then a man presumably on duty arrived but actually ignored us and brushed past to check the situation for some other prospective customers who had arrived after us. I asked him for a table for two but he ignored my request and turned his back on me. We therefore decided that our custom was not required in the cafe and therefore we decided our custom would also not be required in the shop and went to find another greengrocer to buy our weekly veg and other groceries. Shoddy customer care.

    • Service
6  Thank Pootlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, General Manager at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We sincerely apologise is you felt ignored. However this Friday we were fully booked in addition to our usual very busy lunchtime. Do come back another time because it is unusual for us to 'ignore' a customer and we are very upset this happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Shop here quite often but only eaten here twice
First time under previous owner with French manager who was great.
Had a really nice Sunday lunch
However had lunch here in September , and had the same hit and miss service so many reviewers have experienced.
The waiting staff were all pleasant enough but were completely disorganised , with requests for various items being repeated and long waits ensuing.
The crab cakes were unexciting, and the chicken and leek pie minute with very little chicken, undercooked runner beans and crushed new potatoes , all very tasteless and ordinary.
I also must remark on the aggressive and self promoting comments by the new owner to some of the reviews.
He would do well to be a bit less defensive and instead spend some time training his willing but chaotic staff before he criticises his clientele.
I am afraid the customer is always right in catering!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank byetheway25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexProduceCafe, General Manager at The Sussex Produce Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. All our customers are important to us and we apologise for your disappointment the occasions you have been in. The menu is always changing so please come back in and try something different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sussex Produce Company also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
Steyning, West Sussex
 
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sussex Produce Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing