We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Rosebud Cottage is at the end of a Victorian terrace. The cottage is especially light and bright.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Rosebud Cottage is at the end of a Victorian terrace.
The cottage is especially light and bright.
The cosy sitting room has all you need: TV, Blu Ray/ DVD / CD player, games, guide books and maps
Make the most of your visit with the local guidebooks and maps.
The well equipped separate kitchen has all mod cons
Dine at the cottage .. or treat yourselves to a meal at a local restaurant?
This is my favourite room at Rosebud Cottage with an especially calm, peaceful atmosphere...
I hope you will sleep well on the comfortable mattress...
You'll find a selection of novels to read!
The attractive spacious single bedroom ...
You'll find plenty of space to store your luggage..
The modern shower room is on the ground floor so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues
Relax outside in the pretty cottage garden - with a cup of tea or glass of wine?
Watch out for butterflies!
The picturesque High Street has wonderful independently run shops, pubs and restaurants.
Historic Church Street is within a 10 minute walk. The local museum and Norman Church are both here.
Make sure you indulge in a cream tea in the High Street!
The lovely 'Steyning Bowl' Just a short walk away!
Poppies and other wild flowers are beautiful in the summer months!
The Sussex coast is just 6 miles away. Take a dip in the sea?
Make sure you visit Brighton and its famous Pavilion (open all year!)
Brighton beach and pier ... the winter is a quiet time here!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Steyning, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GennyAlby
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful week in the cottage. It's absolutely perfect, homely, comfortable and has everything in it that you could possibly need. The owner is absolutely lovely and has thought of everything, and is extremely kind in ensuring that you have a wonderful stay and everything you need.
I would go back... Actually I would like to live there!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments. So glad you to hear you felt I had thought of everything! Do hope you will stay again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davina195...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful welcoming cottage, ideally located , everything you could wish for.”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed for one week in February, a really beautiful cottage with a calming atmosphere. Spotlessly clean, beds made up for arrival and everything you could possibly need for your stay supplied. On arrival there was a tea/coffee tray waiting, milk in fridge and a most delicious cake, what a wonderful gesture and very much appreciated. Great communication from Jenny, the owner, very helpful and friendly. Ideally located , near to shops etc. Would highly recommend this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2015
Delighted to read your lovely comments. So glad you really liked the cottage. Many thanks for writing this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Page873
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage! Perfect cottage! Perfect cottage!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Communication before the arrival was outstanding, prompt reply to all emails and additional helpful information supplied about the area.
On arrival, lovely cake waiting for us, towels, beds made, and hand soap and all the bits like washing up liquid, as well as milk, tea and coffee for that first cuppa!
So clean and tidy with everything you would need for a week, warm, cosy with excellent wifi, DAB radio and dvd player with a good choice to keep you amused on a rainy day!

coat hangers, hair dryer, tea towels, and even washing tabs to do the odd load of washing... everything really was thought about.
Great area, with a lovely little bakery on the corner and town just a few minutes walk away, with everything you need.
Lovely area, walks, pubs, coffee shops.
Thanks Jenny, I have already booked for a week before the end of the year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage location and comfort it provided!
Liked least: Noise of the bakery vehicles at befopre 6am :(
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
So glad you thought my cottage was 'perfect, perfect, perfect'! I am delighted that you will be staying again this year.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elisabeth...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Dainty little cottage”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed in Rosebud for ten days, it was such a warm, clean and cosy place with a well equipped kitchen. The double bed was very comfortable and the nights were silent.
Steyning is a lovely place with a lot of nice little shops, even a traditional Dolls House shop, and many cafés. Jenny was very helpful with information on using public transportation in the area and interesting walks. We had a very nice time and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about both my cottage and Steyning. It was great that you managed to rely on public transport. Do hope you will stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawsonAde...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming - Ticked all the boxes!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Well what can I say - this was an experience that we'll never forget - it was our first stop from Australia. The cottage had everything we needed for our 5 night stay. Comfortable bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen. Very well located - especially Brighton and Hove.
Steyning is a lovely village - with a lot of eating places, especially one place called "Spring Wells" BB in the main street which served a wonderful breakfast for under 10 pounds for people who walked in off the street. Thank you Jenny for the yummy cake you left for us! Lovey touch. Would definitely recommend this Cottage.
Brenda and Gary :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I so pleased you really liked the cottage and Steyning.
The photos are great .... the first time a guest has posted them! And in my garden too... fantastic.
Hoping you will be able to stay again one day.
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill L
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, exceptionally well equipped home from home, highly recommended”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had an extended trip to the UK staying in various cottages around the country, and found Rosebud Cottage to be one of the best equipped and most comfortable of all. Although the cottage is compact, everything has been extremely well thought out and all the space utilized, making it a pleasure to stay in. It is spotlessly clean, everything works and is obviously well maintained with meticulous attention to detail. Both beds are wonderfully comfortable and the bedrooms quiet, ensuring a good night's sleep. The kitchen is thoughtfully equipped making it easy to whip up a meal as everything needed is right there in the cupboards. The bathroom is also well thought out, with a shower over a full size bath, both with excellent function. No dodgy plumbing here, and WiFi worked great too. On arrival at Rosebud Cottage there was a selection of teas and coffees, and a delicious cake too. As well as the usual tourist information the bookshelves were a treasure of interesting information on the local area such as the walks that could be had in Steyning and the surrounding countryside. Some of the walks started at the cottage with no need for wheels of any sort. The location is super convenient, Rosebud Cottage being a 2 minute walk from the high street with all it's attractions and a stone's throw from open fields. We felt completely at home as the cottage was wonderfully warm and comfortable, everything worked and Jenny obviously took a great deal of pride in her lovely property. Would love to stay again on future visits, in fact we decided we could happily live there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was warm, comfortable, convenient and had great WiFi
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
I am very happy to hear such positive comments - thank you. It is true that I take a pride in my cottage. I do hope you will be able to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayl29
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Location and accommodation perfect. ..”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed a week in Rosebud cottage which is in the village of Steyning locate in West Sussex. ..the cottage was fully equipped and we wanted for nothing it was beautiful. ..the village itself was at our doorstep and made eating out very easy. ..plenty to choose from plus a variety of stores providing everything you need for a gourmet meal at home if you are so inclined. ..location was brilliant close to so many places easy to drive around and also good bus trip into Brighton. ..all in all a wonderful holiday. ..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you really liked both my cottage and Steyning. I do hope you will be able to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing