We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage, perfectly located in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Rosebud Cottage is at the end of a Victorian terrace. The cottage is especially light and bright.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rosebud Cottage is in a quiet side street at the end of an 1860's terrace.
Rosebud Cottage is at the end of a Victorian terrace.
The cottage is especially light and bright.
The cosy sitting room has all you need: TV, Blu Ray/ DVD / CD player, games, guide books and maps
Make the most of your visit with the local guidebooks and maps.
The well equipped separate kitchen has all mod cons
Dine at the cottage .. or treat yourselves to a meal at a local restaurant?
This is my favourite room at Rosebud Cottage with an especially calm, peaceful atmosphere...
I hope you will sleep well on the comfortable mattress...
You'll find a selection of novels to read!
The attractive spacious single bedroom ...
You'll find plenty of space to store your luggage..
The modern shower room is on the ground floor so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues
Relax outside in the pretty cottage garden - with a cup of tea or glass of wine?
Watch out for butterflies!
The picturesque High Street has wonderful independently run shops, pubs and restaurants.
Historic Church Street is within a 10 minute walk. The local museum and Norman Church are both here.
Make sure you indulge in a cream tea in the High Street!
The lovely 'Steyning Bowl' Just a short walk away!
Poppies and other wild flowers are beautiful in the summer months!
The Sussex coast is just 6 miles away. Take a dip in the sea?
Make sure you visit Brighton and its famous Pavilion (open all year!)
Brighton beach and pier ... the winter is a quiet time here!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Steyning, Horsham District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LisaFarnh...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage, perfectly located in picturesque Steyning”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well located cottage in a great location with the benefit of some lovely walks from the doorstep.
Well appointed inside with a pretty garden to the rear. Everything you need for a weekend break for a couple. Well presented and spotless.
Steyning itself is historic and has many independent shops, cafes and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
“Perfect location right on the edge of town, walking distance to great restaurants and pubs”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is the second time that we have stayed at this beautiful little cottage.
All the conveniences that one would need and absolutely spotless.
Should we come back to West Sussex this cottage will be our first choice.

John & Jacolin Casey

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
It's lovely to have such positive feedback. Many thanks. I do hope you will come back to visit West Sussex again.
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patcatwom...
Lilburn, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet cozy cottage”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Clean quaint cottage with very pretty garden. Enjoyed the village of Steyning, good assortment of shops and restaurants, very picturesque. Loved walking on the South Downs. Would recommend the cottage to anyone. Had a great relaxing visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thanks very much. So pleased to hear that you liked both the cottage and Steyning and had a great relaxing visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“A lovely cottage in a lovely little town”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Rosebud Cottage is a really great place for a holiday; beautifully equipped and beautifully situated. We were Granny, Mummy and toddler, and there was everything all of us wanted both in the cottage and in Steyning. The cottage is very light and bright, comfortable beds and sofa, wifi, freeview TV; the washing machine and tumble dryer were invaluable. The kitchen had everything I have at home, and more, including recipe books! I didn't move my car all week because we could walk everywhere from the cottage - marvellous! Steyning has all you need, with lovely cafes and shops. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Many thanks for such a lovely review..... and for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy.
I do hope you will be able to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Page873
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite place”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Another excellent stay in a beautiful cottage with everything you could wish for. Amazing updates from owner, lovely welcome cake and quality furnishings. I can't wait to visit again in August and hopefully October again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Delighted to read your positive review..... I do hope you had a truly lovely week . So pleased you will be returning next year ...
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supersue8...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal base for holiday in Sussex”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This delightful cottage was just right for me and my sister-in-law to stay in for a week so that we could explore the local area. Steyning itself proved to be a pretty and welcoming village: we couldn't get over how friendly everyone was. A good variety of shops and cafes - although beware that some are closed on Mondays.
The cottage is well-equipped, cosy and quiet, and the beds are very comfortable. It is right next door to an excellent bakery, and just across the road from a pub. Jenny the owner was very responsive to any queries we had.
I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and welcoming.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
I am so pleased to hear that you were happy with both my cottage and Steyning. It would be lovely if you were able to come back another time!
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryJ278
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Everything you need, clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A friend and I stayed at Rosebud Cottage for a week while we were walking in the South Downs. The cottage has a very well equipped kitchen, a nice bathroom, comfortable lounge with plenty of books on walks in the area. The bedrooms were also comfortable, but note the stairs are steep with a turn at the bottom. The small garden to the rear of the cottage is a pleasant area to sit in the sun, however it isn't private as other cottages have to bring their dustbins through it on collection day. The cottage is on a side street at the bottom of Steyning High Street so you are a few minutes walk from all the shops, restaurants and pubs. The property doesn't have its own parking, there are parking areas near the cottage which are shared by all the cottages on a first come basis. Having said that we managed to parking places near the cottage all week. I would definitely stay here again.
P.S. A nice touch was that there was milk in the fridge and a sponge cake on the table when we arrived.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
So pleased to hear you would definitely stay at Rosebud Cottage again. Part of the charm of these mid nineteenth century cottages is the rather quaint right of way through back gardens – fortunately the neighbours, who may use this right of way, are very discreet & considerate. Another typical feature of these early Victorian cottages is steep stairs, so as a precaution, I have put in a handrail to make them safer. Regarding parking, guests are always informed they can leave their car day & night at the local pub car park where there is always space available. This is just across the road, one minute from the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing